We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNSPOILED PARADISE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“UNSPOILED PARADISE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We just came back from the best vacations of our lives!!! Ocean Paradise is nothing but paradise on earth! Right in front of an amazing beach with white sand and acazur blue ocean; this is the best place to relax and enjoy the breeze, the colors and the taste of a pure unspoiled tropical island. Where to start... beautiful traditional rooms, very clean and equiped with a/c which is needless though. Fantastic breakfast buffet and amazing dinner! The service is excellent, people there are always smiling and very helpfull. The pool area is also very good and the best part of it is the bar over the pool with great view to the endless ocean!!! Rich plantation, palm trees and colorful flowers make the scenery absolutely perfect! It is a 100% recommendation and we will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eleni24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    193
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
143
340
49
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stick to the fish, meat not of high quality
Drink the local Serengeti beer

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and i stayed here for 6 nights at the end of our safari honeymoon.
Check in and check out were efficient and we were immediately impressed by the huge structure which housed the reception, shop, breakfast area and one of the bars.
The staff were efficient (especially Jose the food and beverage manager) and very friendly and as honeymooners, we were treated to a complimentary candlelit lobster dinner with sparkling wine on the beach. Magical!
The food in general was brilliant and there was a lot of choice, especially for me as I'm vegetarian. The range of drinks served was impressive and the cocktails of the day were always very tasty!
The pool (and swim up bar) were ideal.
The rooms were well appointed and the bathrooms a good size, although the shower area a little dark (the walls are painted black and there is no light directly above.) Each day the room was cleaned and brightly coloured flowers sprinked all over the bed and the pillows, a lovely touch.
Overall I'd recommend this place and I'd gladly have spent another 2 weeks here!
We also did the stone town tour, which was expensive and I found a little too long but informative and eye-opening all the same. I'd advise others to get a taxi there are explore the area yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairem1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

I visited Zanzibar for the first time and was so glad to have stayed here - the hotel is just gorgeous and the staff so friendly, always smiling and so helpful. I attended a wedding here and it was so well organised and ran so smoothly! The beaches are out of this world beautiful - I Would recommend for a couple or a group of friends... everyone will have a great time!!! I can't wait to go back :)
PS: They have the best homemade fruit spicy jam at breakfast!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wattapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Back in September 2010 my (then) fiancée and I were scoping out wedding venues in Zanzibar. Ocean Paradise really stood out from the 4 or 5 resorts we had previously stayed at and this was mainly down to Lakshmi the General Manager. She immediately came and met us upon our arrival and was knowledgeable, understanding, positive and professional from the outset and we never looked back. The front of house staff (lead by Rehema) were excellent and the resort is as fabulous as it looks from the reception high above the main resort. The atmosphere is relaxed, the rooms are great, the staff are courteous and helpful and the food was a delight.

On 18th June 2011 we got married on the beach at Ocean Paradise and it was INCREDIBLE! We stayed for 9 nights, and there were 50 people in our wedding party who stayed anything from 3-9 nights in the resort with us. The food (prepared under the guidance of Head Chef Andrew) was superb throughout and for the reception we had a seafood bbq (braai) which was stunning. Jose the Food and Beverage Manager couldn’t have done any more for us - and before we left our wedding party were already planning an Ocean Paradise reunion!

It seriously was the perfect wedding. The staff, the resort, the catering, and the management were awesome and deserve full credit for pulling off such an amazing event. Perfect wedding memories!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_Jones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

On my first visit to Ocean Paradise, we were looking for a location to hold our daughters wedding, as soon as I walked into Ocean Paradise, I knew we had found it.....this was the best choice we made.....it was the best week of our lives, and the wedding was just magical, as mother of the bride I had no stress, thanks to the lovely General Manager and her staff, they were fantastic...the food was so good, lots of seafood....well done to you all, and I would go back for a lovely long weekend anytime.....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peartreesjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

Have recently stayed 9 nights at this resort - a family wedding being the highlight of our stay. The hotel catered for almost 60 guests, all arriving and departing at various times. The managerial staff were on hand to assist everyone - at all times - with the utmost professionalism, combined with genuine care.
The catering staff excelled in every way, - and the standard of cuisine was truly, truly excellent - thanks I am sure to the extremely high standards of the chef. ( even down to the making of a superb wedding cake! - to an English recipe)
The wedding details were faultless, and all at the resort worked so hard to make the wedding day something very special,- with a special commendation to the general manager, who worked tirelessly to make sure no detail was overlooked
There were many other guests present, apart from the wedding party,- and all entered into the spirit, on the big day. All due to the dedication of the staff, who proved that they were more than capable of dealing with all eventualities.
A mention should be made also, to the excellence of the staff who provided activities and thereby enjoyment to us all throughout our stay,for both young and old alike!. Although there was more than enough space for peace and quiet too!
The accommodation too was excellent, and the standard from the housekeeping very high.
All in all, I have no hesitation in recommending Ocean Paradise not only for a relaxing holiday, but also as a venue for that ultimate special occasion.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivjones1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
15.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Property: Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Address: Pwani Mchangani | Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa 0000, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing