We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Local Spot in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kamili View Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Carola and Mado's homes are great, especially if you're looking for a more authentic slice of life in Zanzibar. I stayed in Casa Habari for 6 days. Impressive, brand new home with a view of the ocean. There are a ton of expensive resorts on the island that are nice too, but they are all very secluded. I really enjoyed this place because it's more local, but still lots of great places to eat, beautiful beaches, very safe, etc. I would highly recommend it!

Keep in mind that this is the east side of the island so you get sunrises instead of sunsets, but it's awesome either way. Oh and don't order too many fresh foods through Carola's grocery delivery service because things don't keep long - everything is fresh, no preservatives!

If you're a light sleeper be prepared to hear some goats next door making noise early in the morning, and sometimes I could hear music from the clubs down at the beach until around midnight. Wasn't much of a bother.

If you have a physical problem that prevents you from walking down some rocky steps this might not be a good fit - the walkway to the beach is short but has a few steps. Bring a flashlight so you can easily walk home at night. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I only stayed in Habari not the others, but from what I could tell Habari has the best view. Looks l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Anthony!

Thanks for your support! I really like the genuine taste of your detailed review!! All what you say is totally true and will help futere guest to choose us or not in the best way.
Thanks a lot!
We hope to host you again, perhaps for a longer and not working vacation!
Karibu Tena!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 110 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent 11 wonderful days at Kamili View, at Carola & Mado. The apartment offered enough space for two people and was well equipped, furnished and decorated with taste and love. Simple but stylish and comfortable. Carola & Mado gave us a very warm welcome, they were very helpful and flexible. Since we were in the Christmas time there and also on New Year's Eve, Carola & Mado have organized nice activities, have gathered all the guests. They have made suggestions; we were invited to join them but to nothing committed. That was really very pleasant and relaxing.
We were able to enjoy this trip actually quite short, largely thanks to the responsiveness of their guests; They always informed us, advised us, were always attentive to our needs and our plans. We highly recommend this place, nice, clean, flowery, safe, two minutes walking distance to the beach we could see from our terrace….
There we have understood and lived the true meaning of Hakuna Matata!
Many, many Thanks !
Yannick&Peter

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Yannik & Peter!!!
Thanks so much for your support!! We must say that "Hakuna Matata" are just the right words for you!!! Pure relax and semplicity!! We enjoyed your company a lot!! Hope to meet you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We just returned from a week at Kamili View and it was one of the best vacations we have ever had. Carola and Mado's apartments were amazing. They did grocery shopping for us before we arrived. We ate delicious, fresh seafood for the entire week. The apartments are magical. We stayed at the larger 2 bedroom apartment Casa Mambo as well as the one bedroom on the second floor, Casa Habari. From the beautiful decorations to the gorgeous veranda and the amazing bedrooms, these were truly well done, cozy and chic apartments. The beach was a few minutes away by foot through a path. The beach is beautiful at low and high tide. We were lucky to be there during a full moon and could walk the beach at night without a flashlight. We cooked for most of our stay so we had delicious fresh seafood and vegetables. As for getting a beer or cocktail on the beach we recommend the Obama Bar. It is a nice bar to hang out at for a few hours. Carola and Mado were excellent hosts. They lent us a sim card and air time for our mobile phone and brought us more avocados when we ran out. They also booked our excursions. We highly recommend Safari Blue. The snorkeling was incredible. And we also did the Stone Town Tour and Spice Tour. We recommend you book your excursions through Carola and Mado. We can't wait to go back and will be staying at Kamili View again. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Pick the apartment on the second floor. It has a nice view of the ocean. Also order your groceries b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SellyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Selly!!
Nice to find your super positive review!! Thanks for your nice words!! We are really glad you had a good stay and we hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I just spent 10 days at Kamila View and had a very nice relaxing time. The apartment was very nice and felt like a home. Mt girlfriend is planning to copy all of the shell art work it was so well done. The location is a short walk to the beach and also a short walk to the main road where you can buy basic supplies. Upon arrival Carola gave us a briefing on all the different restaurants and shopping options. She organized a Safari blue and Stone town tour that were wonderful. She also stopped by daily just to say hi and make sure things were going well. Sometimes she even brought bread from town. We failed to order food ahead but Carola went the next day and brought us supplies from Stone Town. I recommend ordering from her shopping list before you arrive. She will have the apartment stocked with fresh food when you get there and her prices are very good.

The apartments are very nice and the smiling face of Carola and Mado set the place apart from any other guest house experience you will ever have. Also make sure you stop over at Obama's beach bar and have a drink with Barbara, it's the most relaxing spot on the beach!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thanks guys for your nice words and all your support!!! We are truly happy you had a good time with us and we hope to see you again!!
We wish you all the best for a super 2014!!
Carola & Mado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I went to Zanzibar in November 2013 and we were not expecting much from a self catering accommodation but when we got to Kiwengwa Mafarasi we were blown away: the apartment is beautiful and clean. Carola did everything for us from organising transport to getting us the delicious Mandazi for breakfast. The apartment is safe, we didn't even lock doors. I'm definitely coming back Carola.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Puseletso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear Puseletso,
the title of your review made us smile sooo much!!
Thanks a million!
We wait for you with a warm basket of fresh Mandazi!!!

Love, Carola, Mado & kids

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

What an incredible stay we had!! Carola and Mado are impeccable hosts and the apartment was spectacular. It's so clean and designed well and homey and comfortable and well-thought out...I could go on! The view and sounds of the ocean was a nice touch. It takes about 3 minutes to walk down to the beach. There are restaurants down at the beach or you can cook for yourself. We coordinated our grocery shopping with Carola and it was very convenient to have done it this way. I loved arriving and having all of our food there ready to go. Plus, we asked for fish and Carola managed to find us a fresh kingfish which we ate over the 4 days of our stay.

The bedroom itself is sooo nice we almost didn't want to leave! It's got one of those HUGE Zanzibar beds and the mosquito net is the best I've ever seen. No need to spend a bunch of time trying to tuck it in to properly close it- this net closes all by itself! It's kinda dreamy when you're laying there...and romantic! There's plenty of shelves which is helpful when there are multiple people traveling. There's also a balcony which has some comfy chairs. I told myself I would watch the sunrise but didn't get around to it.

Even though it was hot, there's a lovely breeze that comes through from the ocean and it makes for a very enjoyable temperature in the apt.

Above all this, Carola and Mado are just sweet. They really wanted us to enjoy our time and we did! Couldn't have asked for more- would DEFINITELY go back!

Room Tip: They have multiple apartments but Kamili view has a view (though a little ways away) of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi Guys!
What a surprise!!! It's quite a while since you have left and we thought that going back to everyday life and work you forgot about us!
but we were wrong! And I must say that a review received with a little delay gives a special good feeling!! We are happy to be still fresh in your memory!!
Thanks a lot to take care of us!!
Hope to see you soon!! Perhaps next time you can kidnap my sister form LA and bring her to me :-))
Warm hugs, Carola & Mado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

One of the few places I've stayed where I would give the apartment itself 5 stars, but the hosts Carola and Mado 10 stars. They absolutely make the place for you.

They are extremely friendly, generous, helpful and are just amazing people all around.

Carola helped us book everything we needed and even bargained for us. Mado would bring us fresh doughnuts from town just to say good morning. On our last day, they even took us out eating to a local outdoor restaurant and refused to let us pay. Even when you are in the small village trying to bargain, all you need to say is your staying with Carola and Mado and they give you a much better local price.

On top of this, the place itself is beautiful, spacious, spotlessly clean and by far the fastest internet I have had in Tanazania. They are a short walk to the beach, but you'd probably go beaching somewhere else either way with all the available tours and snorkelling at your disposal!

Will definitely stay with them again when I come back to Zanzibar. Incredible value.

Room Tip: Make sure you take out money at the airport or stone town as there are no ATMs in the village or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevyboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Stevyboy,
thanks a million for your super encouraging and supportive words!!!
Believe me... was all our pleasure to help, share time and go out for lunch together!!
Since we started hosting we realized the the best benefict we are getting is not actually about what we earn but how much we enjoy!!
There's no value for getting home in the evening after a nice day, putting kids to bed and just end the day telling each other good stories about our own guests and their Zanzibar day!
Then suddenly a review like your... and we go to bed with such a smile!!!
Thanks a lot! We hope to see you again soon... BUT bit longer next time,ok!?!
Carola & Mado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
4.6 mi away
Seasons Lodge Zanzibar
2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,705 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Simba Beach Zanzibar
Simba Beach Zanzibar
#5 of 11 in Kiwengwa
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments
#4 of 11 in Kiwengwa
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamili View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamili View Apartments

Address: Mafarasi Road, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $72 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR APARTMENTS:Our apartments have been designed and built with enormous amounts of care and energy just as you give to your own house... with the hope that this attention will make you feel at home.Kamili View consists of 3 apartments, some with sea view, only 200 meters away from the beach and a short distance from Kiwengwa main road, ideal to reach either by car or by foot in only few minutes.All apartments are attractively and fully furnished and besides enjoying a nice refreshing sea breeze, they offer all the comforts described below: Speed internet WiFi connectionLarge windows all with mozzy netsAttractive balconies, verandas and gardensSpacious fitted kitchen and dining areaCeiling fans in all roomsBathroom and bedroom linensHot water30.000 liters underground fresh water reservoirAmple parking area into the compound24 hrs security Kamili View is located in Kiwengwa, the largest village of Zanzibar north east coast, in an area called "Mafarasi", popular for the dozens of minimarkets and shops were you can find all what you need, from food to cleaning stuff. Mafarasi is also a good starting point for those brave that prefers local transports, "DalaDala", to comfortable taxi.The aim behind our project is living the island life without rules or timetables to follow, together with the local community or in total privacy, in the relaxing environment of our brand new apartments, built with comfort and practicality in mind as well as some Swahili style and flair. We live here and we know what is important for a great stay. Kamili View Apartments are also ideal for long term rentals.Kamili View is the fulfilment of our dream project! We built 3 houses - built them with passion and love, tracing and designing every piece, from foundation to roof, from staircases to the interior decorations...we took care of each plant, each flower...and finally watched the making of our lush garden.We will be there to welcome you and to help you settle in and then its up to you. We will always be on hand with tips and advice and recommendations as we just want to share our love of Zanzibar with you. Come and stay with us at Kamili View Apartments and experience Zanzibar not as a tourist but as a friend. KARIBUNI NYUMBANI... Welcome to our Home!! HOUSE MANUAL AND RULES: We would appreciate if you treat our place with the same care and respect you give to your own house. We kindly ask to do a conscientious use of water and electricity. At beginning of your stay we provide house cleaning stuff, basic kitchen ingredients (cooking oil, vinegar, spices, salt, sugar) and toilet paper. We don't provide body soaps and laundry soap. Bed linens and towels will be changed free of charge under request after 3rd day. Our towels can NOT be used as beach towels. House cleaning service will be provided on demand and costs $10/day. Check In time from 1pm.Check Out time by 9am. EXTRA SERVICES:Need a help with your shopping?? You can count on us!!! You can book your first shopping in advance, so that on arrival all goods will be on the shelves and in the fridge already! Request our "Shopping List" via mail...Not in the mood of cooking? Let our private chef spoil you!! Prior reservation according with chef availability.On demand we will be happy to organize your transfers from/to airport (50 minutes distance) or other destinations around the island. Our experienced tour guide will be delighted to chat with you about excursions program and help you organizing your zanzibari trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kamili View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamili View Apartments Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing