We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay near the Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamili View Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

What an incredible stay we had!! Carola and Mado are impeccable hosts and the apartment was spectacular. It's so clean and designed well and homey and comfortable and well-thought out...I could go on! The view and sounds of the ocean was a nice touch. It takes about 3 minutes to walk down to the beach. There are restaurants down at the beach or you can cook for yourself. We coordinated our grocery shopping with Carola and it was very convenient to have done it this way. I loved arriving and having all of our food there ready to go. Plus, we asked for fish and Carola managed to find us a fresh kingfish which we ate over the 4 days of our stay.

The bedroom itself is sooo nice we almost didn't want to leave! It's got one of those HUGE Zanzibar beds and the mosquito net is the best I've ever seen. No need to spend a bunch of time trying to tuck it in to properly close it- this net closes all by itself! It's kinda dreamy when you're laying there...and romantic! There's plenty of shelves which is helpful when there are multiple people traveling. There's also a balcony which has some comfy chairs. I told myself I would watch the sunrise but didn't get around to it.

Even though it was hot, there's a lovely breeze that comes through from the ocean and it makes for a very enjoyable temperature in the apt.

Above all this, Carola and Mado are just sweet. They really wanted us to enjoy our time and we did! Couldn't have asked for more- would DEFINITELY go back!

Room Tip: They have multiple apartments but Kamili view has a view (though a little ways away) of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Hi Guys!
What a surprise!!! It's quite a while since you have left and we thought that going back to everyday life and work you forgot about us!
but we were wrong! And I must say that a review received with a little delay gives a special good feeling!! We are happy to be still fresh in your memory!!
Thanks a lot to take care of us!!
Hope to see you soon!! Perhaps next time you can kidnap my sister form LA and bring her to me :-))
Warm hugs, Carola & Mado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 105 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

One of the few places I've stayed where I would give the apartment itself 5 stars, but the hosts Carola and Mado 10 stars. They absolutely make the place for you.

They are extremely friendly, generous, helpful and are just amazing people all around.

Carola helped us book everything we needed and even bargained for us. Mado would bring us fresh doughnuts from town just to say good morning. On our last day, they even took us out eating to a local outdoor restaurant and refused to let us pay. Even when you are in the small village trying to bargain, all you need to say is your staying with Carola and Mado and they give you a much better local price.

On top of this, the place itself is beautiful, spacious, spotlessly clean and by far the fastest internet I have had in Tanazania. They are a short walk to the beach, but you'd probably go beaching somewhere else either way with all the available tours and snorkelling at your disposal!

Will definitely stay with them again when I come back to Zanzibar. Incredible value.

Room Tip: Make sure you take out money at the airport or stone town as there are no ATMs in the village or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevyboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamiliViewZanzibar, Owner at Kamili View Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Stevyboy,
thanks a million for your super encouraging and supportive words!!!
Believe me... was all our pleasure to help, share time and go out for lunch together!!
Since we started hosting we realized the the best benefict we are getting is not actually about what we earn but how much we enjoy!!
There's no value for getting home in the evening after a nice day, putting kids to bed and just end the day telling each other good stories about our own guests and their Zanzibar day!
Then suddenly a review like your... and we go to bed with such a smile!!!
Thanks a lot! We hope to see you again soon... BUT bit longer next time,ok!?!
Carola & Mado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our stay at Kamili View was perfect and beyond our expectations. The apartmentments are modern and beautifully decorated in african style.
We experienced the warm welcome from Mado and Carola, who make you feel right at home and are most helpfull to make your stay as comfortable as possible with tips and advice.
Carola helped to organise the sunset beach engagement picknick which turned out to be the most special evening.
In other words, a holiday to remember!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abas_Jasmijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Everything was great...we enjoyed so much our stay in one of the Kamili View flats. Perfect, location, very nice , comfortable and useful flat but more importantly, we met some lovely people such as Carola, Mado and their kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guiguidijkhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Waouuuhhh! Our stay at Carola & Mado's was fantastic! Not only the apartment is cosy, comfortable, clean, well decorated with a fantastic view but most importantly Carola & Mado are so nice, lovely and helpful that you won't believe it! They made sure we had everything we needed, they showed us where to buy local food from, they organised the best snorkelling excursion for us & we felt like we were truly at home!! Their kids are very cute as well...I would definitely recommend anyone to stay there for at least 4-5 days or even a week as it's very peaceful and relaxing! You can also buy fish/calamari/octopus from the beach and cook it at home!! The area is very safe and we enjoyed our nights out , walking to Obama beach bar to have a couple of drinks and access wifi! Needless to say that you won't regret your holidays at Carola and Mado's!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agneslalain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in the east of Zanzibar don't look any further!
The apartment was absolutely lovely, beautidully decorated, super clean, spacious, fully equiped and we had a balcony with sea view.
Carola is just the perfect host! A really careful person, she always make sure that everything is alright, and always have the perfect answer and recommandations!
She can help you with nice services such as food shopping and laundry, and can help organizing excursions, and she even gave us tips for Stone Town and Dar es Salaam.

Kiwengwa have beautiful beaches and Kamili view is certaintly the best deal you kind find in the neighboorhood.
Carola and Mado's apartment are situated 200m from the beach, and restaurant and close to food shops .

I sincerely hope to come back there!

Asante sana Carola!

Room Tip: We had Casa Mambo apartment that has a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Carola and Mado were excelente hosts, very kind and always available for whatever needed.The house is beautiful, very well situated and equipped with all the features and comfort. If we want it´s possible to cook our own meals in the apartment because it has everything that is needed .Down a few 50 meters, there are restaurants and hotels on the beach were we can also have lunch or dinner. It is a safe and quiet place and the beach just Paradise..The welcome and friendliness of Carola exceeded the expectations. Undoubtedly place I recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 201cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiwengwa hotels
2.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zan View Hotel
Zan View Hotel
#1 of 10 in Kiwengwa
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
VOI Kiwengwa Resort
VOI Kiwengwa Resort
#5 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bahati Villa
Bahati Villa
#2 of 10 in Kiwengwa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamili View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamili View Apartments

Address: Mafarasi Road, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $78 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OUR APARTMENTS:Our apartments have been designed and built with enormous amounts of care and energy just as you give to your own house... with the hope that this attention will make you feel at home.Kamili View consists of 3 apartments, some with sea view, only 200 meters away from the beach and a short distance from Kiwengwa main road, ideal to reach either by car or by foot in only few minutes.All apartments are attractively and fully furnished and besides enjoying a nice refreshing sea breeze, they offer all the comforts described below: Speed internet WiFi connectionLarge windows all with mozzy netsAttractive balconies, verandas and gardensSpacious fitted kitchen and dining areaCeiling fans in all roomsBathroom and bedroom linensHot water30.000 liters underground fresh water reservoirAmple parking area into the compound24 hrs security Kamili View is located in Kiwengwa, the largest village of Zanzibar north east coast, in an area called "Mafarasi", popular for the dozens of minimarkets and shops were you can find all what you need, from food to cleaning stuff. Mafarasi is also a good starting point for those brave that prefers local transports, "DalaDala", to comfortable taxi.The aim behind our project is living the island life without rules or timetables to follow, together with the local community or in total privacy, in the relaxing environment of our brand new apartments, built with comfort and practicality in mind as well as some Swahili style and flair. We live here and we know what is important for a great stay. Kamili View Apartments are also ideal for long term rentals.Kamili View is the fulfilment of our dream project! We built 3 houses - built them with passion and love, tracing and designing every piece, from foundation to roof, from staircases to the interior decorations...we took care of each plant, each flower...and finally watched the making of our lush garden.We will be there to welcome you and to help you settle in and then its up to you. We will always be on hand with tips and advice and recommendations as we just want to share our love of Zanzibar with you. Come and stay with us at Kamili View Apartments and experience Zanzibar not as a tourist but as a friend. KARIBUNI NYUMBANI... Welcome to our Home!! HOUSE MANUAL AND RULES: We would appreciate if you treat our place with the same care and respect you give to your own house. We kindly ask to do a conscientious use of water and electricity. At beginning of your stay we provide house cleaning stuff, basic kitchen ingredients (cooking oil, vinegar, spices, salt, sugar) and toilet paper. We don't provide body soaps and laundry soap. Bed linens and towels will be changed free of charge under request after 3rd day. Our towels can NOT be used as beach towels. House cleaning service will be provided on demand and costs $10/day. Check In time from 1pm.Check Out time by 9am. EXTRA SERVICES:Need a help with your shopping?? You can count on us!!! You can book your first shopping in advance, so that on arrival all goods will be on the shelves and in the fridge already! Request our "Shopping List" via mail...Not in the mood of cooking? Let our private chef spoil you!! Prior reservation according with chef availability.On demand we will be happy to organize your transfers from/to airport (50 minutes distance) or other destinations around the island. Our experienced tour guide will be delighted to chat with you about excursions program and help you organizing your zanzibari trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kamili View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamili View Apartments Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing