We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Do not expect luxury but you get fantastic Zanzibar vibe !!!
I have been there one week with 3 other friends and we just fall in love with Baby Bush ;)
Rooms are basic but you get what needed. Water is a little bit salty but it is absolutely OK. Breakfest is extremely tasty with fresh fruits - yummy ;) Ali- the cooker makes great food when when you need it and any time!!! You need it!!! If you want fresh daiy catch just say so staff will make it for you!
Dennis plays great music and Lili is helpful when needed around the relaxing place.
It is just extremely easy going and staff will help you in anything you need!!!
Best place to stay in Kiwengwa for that money where you get into local atmosphere :)
Guys thank you it was great!
Magda, Kamil, Mario, Damian

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Magdalena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'm so happy I got to stay at Baby Bush Lodge in Zanzibar! I had the place almost to myself right before the holidays in December 2012. The owner and staff made me feel at home and ensured I have everything I need at any time. The lodge is located a few steps from the amazing beach in Kiwengwa. A one minute walk gets you to the white sand and crystal clear water. It felt like the perfect chill-out oasis with a cool breeze and perfect view from the decks onto the beach and beyond. If you don't feel like going to the beach, you can cool off in their small pool. The design of the lodge is really unique compared to the other hotels along the beach. The sofas and music on the decks invite you to hang out and relax. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the beds have mosquito nets and overall just perfect for what I was looking for. I loved their food and they considered special requests without a problem. My time at Baby Bush Lodge felt like hanging out at a friends house including warm hospitality and relaxing atmosphere. Thank you - I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Arrived and the staff didn't even have our booking correct, rooms were in need of a revamp and overpriced in comparison to the rest of Zanzibar. The chill out area and the pool are a genuine plus however.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babybushlodge, Owner at Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hi really sorry you felt this way. Unfortunately we have been getting difficulties from hostelworld.com as they have been making bookings and not informing us, as was the case with your reservation.

The room you were staying in was our most basic at 45$, it has no sea view. The cheapest double in kiwengwa is 370$ so i dont think our pricing is out of line. Over the last three months we have made extensive renovations to all rooms so this room is much nicer now.

Anyway sorry if you were disapointed. Should you ever come back to Zanzibar we would like you to stay in the same room again for free for a night

All the best,
Baby Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Baby Bush is the cutest, cleanest and coolest place to stay in Zanzibar. It's affordable! During my stay in August 2012, I fell in love with the lodge, the staff and the local food. The lodge is a few meters from the beach and looks postcard perfect! What I love about the lodge is its 'unique' location amongst the expensive, commercial hotels. It's located on a slight hill in the sweetest village of Kiwengwa. The owner and staff were very helpful and made me feel safe and at home. I loved the design of the place especially the decks, the lamps and the relaxation area. I heard they have a splash pool now which I find a great investment! My room was in this bungalow and was quite cool and clean. Although I didn't prefer the slightly salty showers, I noticed my skin becoming soft and even glowing! The garden created a tranquil environment and little private balconies were an extra bonus! Mornings I easily ran 45 minutes along the sandy beaches, did yoga and made my way to enjoy the delicious breakfast, which was included in the room rate! I found out that most of their fresh produce were organic, if not all of it. After a long day out, I looked forward coming back to my room and enjoying an ice cold sundowner from their bar plus chilling with my book on one of their extensive decks. I got to meet so many interesting travelers staying at the lodge. The best thing for me was that I could let go of my stress from the hectic city life. It offered that environment. Knowing I have to order my food in advance made it really easy to understand thats the way things operate here. It added to the fact that I am in Africa, and yet I lived like a princess! So do yourself a favour and head over to Baby Bush. I already booked my ticket to visit next year! :)

Room Tip: bungalow and dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onelife-livenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Baby Bush was an island of affordability and individuality in a sea of awful resorts. It was a lot more expensive than anything similar anywhere else in East Africa, but hey, this is zanzibar and you pay for it. The rooms are incredibly basic and a little scruffy, and unfortunately our family saw a rat running around their room, but the owners were concerned and acted to try and fix the problem.
The communal areas are fantastic, with incredible views and comfy lounging spots that are really lovely. The bar is nice but very expensive (remember this is zanzibar!). The beach area is more quiet in terms of hassle compared with local resorts, but not immune. It is hard to sit on the beach for more than 30 minutes without at least SOME hassle.
Now the 2 downpoints: The food was some of the worst in our many months of travelling and not cheap. When the food was very bad and we complained we didn't pay for it, so we appreciated that, but it was frustrating to be told that they know it isn't good and we should order something that they recommend instead.
Perhaps the most negative aspect was the owner's habit of talking on his mobile in communal areas and shouting loudly and swearing and giving abuse to other people on the other end of the phone! I just found it surprising he chose to conduct his business in public in front of guests as it seemed unprofessional.
In summary- you won't get anywhere else at this price in this area and the communal areas are lovely but avoid the food!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babybushlodge, Owner at Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hello, after reading your review we would like to give you some feedback. We feel some of your complaints were valid and have made some important changes and renovations since your stay in August.

1.(Rats) We did have a problem with rats occasionally getting in the bungalow you stayed in and we are sorry for this. They typically only come in when people bring food into the room. To solve this problem in November '12 we have completely renovated this room and four others. We replaced the thin handboard walls with strong gypsum board and hard wood which now completely keeps them out wheather there is food in or not.

2. (Rooms to basic) After renovating all these rooms we have added extra furniture and paintings to make them more stlish and comfortable. We have also recently doubled the size of our communnal area(deck) adding a 12 person plunge pool and extra lounges with 6 x 4 ft cushions.

3. (Horrible food) During the time of your stay our main chef was sick and we had to hire a substitute, his skills were not up to our normal standard. We normally get consistently great reviews on our food but unfortunately we had no other option for that time. Startig this dec we have hired a second chef who is now working with our regular chef to ensure quality and punctuality. We have also doubled the size of our kitchen.

4. (owner shouting on the phone) August is our busiest time of the year and things can sometimes get hectic when organizing food and supplis from stone town and people calling you non stop. This was inappropriate to discuss business in front of customers but the phone rang and the best reception is by the bar. i can assure you that there was no swearing or unusual abuse being given either. Sometimes when reception is low you must shout to be heard on the other line.

Sorry again for any inconvenience or problems you encountered at baby bush. We have only been open a year and a half and are constantly learning and trying to upgrade are facilities, this is a process that takes time to fine tune but i can assure you were on it. We thank you much for your constructive critisism and would like to offer you a free night in our honey moon suite should you ever return to Zanzibar and a bottle of bubbly from south Africa.

Best Regards,
Baby Bush Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had stayed further down the beach for the first couple nights, and then spent our last night here.
In terms of location, it is not directly on the beach, but about a 30-second walk from it. This can be good or bad - you can't just roll out your door and be on the beach, but when the tide is in at night here, being right on the beach can be really loud.

We had a second floor room with a great view over the beach, and a little loft with a third-floor balcony, which we didn't use. The value was great, as one of the cheaper places here. The bathroom could have been better, but it was clean. The breakfast was very good - simple, but fresh-cooked and tasty, with chapattis, nutella, fresh fruit, and lots of condiments. Definitely an improvement over the spread of stale pastries and fruit at our previous place.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have better rooms and probably less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoreA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My friends and I stayed during the holiday season last year, and I have just now gotten around to review this place (sorry, Pat!), mostly because I have recently been constructing vivid fantasies about packing my bag and coming back. In a word, Baby Bush was amazing! It was a newer place when we went, so some kinks were still being worked out at the time, but that didn't detract from the incredible experience that we had there. The owner, Patrick, was a wonderful host, and the holiday was honestly the best one I've ever had. The vibe is small, relaxed, intimate, and very chill, everything you could want in a tropical vacation. If you are looking for a "resort" experience, don't bother, this isn't the place for you. Baby Bush is authentic, literally yards from a pristine beach in the middle of a fishing village. For those of you who want to experience the real Zanzibar, this is the best place; private and sequestered from reality, but if you want to buy lobsters from the old grandfather on the beach or party with the locals, you can. Tons of stuff to do, just ask Pat or the manager and they'll hook you up with whatever you want. The food is PHENOMENAL, freshly prepared in Zanzi-time, and the bar is everything you could ask for. This place is perfect for backpackers, groups and couples looking for something a bit different than a stuffy resort, shady hostel, or partying hard with three hundred other strangers on the north of the island. If you want quiet, quality, and personal tropical paradise without going broke or getting bored, this is the PERFECT place. Peace Corps folks, look no further. Seriously.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are great if staying with friends, but ask for the lower level ones if possible. You fall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,710 reviews
17.8 mi away
Princess Salme Inn
Princess Salme Inn
#18 of 33 in Stone Town
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#6 of 12 in Kiwengwa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Zanbluu Beach Hotel
Zanbluu Beach Hotel
#11 of 12 in Kiwengwa
47 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mchanga Beach Resort
Mchanga Beach Resort
#110 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View

Address: Cairo Village, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $33 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many of the busy nearby resorts in the area can accommodate up to 400 people. Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar is the ideal destination for travelers looking for a laid back lodge with an emphasis on personalized world class service. The lodge is far enough up the beach from the big resorts to keep a laid back peaceful atmosphere. At Baby bush Lodge one can truly relax and at the same time enjoy all the benefits of being on one of the most famous beaches in Zanzibar. At the moment we offer 5 rooms with private balconys, and two in the main lodge, all 7 have breathtaking views. There are also 5 other rooms which have dorm beds for back packers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baby Bush Lodge Zanzibar - Kiwengwa View Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing