We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This was a near-perfect place for us; we'd go...”
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
OceanView Villa  Beachfront Villa -Veranda w/Great Ocean Views
Guestroom
Dining on the veranda
Bungalows exterior
Bungalow veranda
Bungalow veranda
Beach Scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Kiwengwa, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BrendaBo
Kalkan, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Ocean View Villa and Bungalows should be renamed "Ocean Glimpse". The property is set back behind gardens with trees and shrubs, a wall and two fences so that it is only possible to glimpse the ocean.

The amenities described suggested that self catering would be possible but all the cooking facilities are for the use of staff only. The air conditioning does not exist other than in the imagination of the owner!

We stayed for a month and a major concern for us was keeping money and valuables on the property since there is no safe and we often arrived back at the villa in the middle of the afternoon to find the front door open but nobody about. The guard dog, Rambo, was very alert at night but we rarely saw him during the heat of the day. A trip to Stone Town to use an ATM costs 50 USD so regular trips would have been a costly option. Lilia refused to accept weekly Paypal payments for food despite our explanation of the difficulties.

Turn right from the property onto the beach and you are immediately faced by a long stretch of beach used by the the villagers as a rubbish dump and toilet. Furthermore, we were advised not to walk along the beach after dark because of the danger of being robbed. This meant that if we wanted to go out at night we had to use taxis. During the day we were pestered by hordes of begging children and adults trying to sell various good and tours. They would not take no for an answer and were a real problem.

We didn't swim in the area immediately in front of the villa because of its proximity to the filth deposited by the villagers. Instead we walked for 15 minutes in either direction to Waikiki and Villa Dida where the beach was clean. At both places we could swim, eat and drink, use their sunbeds and wifi. Without these places the holiday would have been a disaster. We checked out the cost of staying at Waikiki which was far superior to Ocean View and found that it was comparable.

The saving grace of Ocean View Villa and Bungalows was the staff who are lovely people and did their best to please. Our thanks go to Futari, Sofia, Salama and Babu.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: The location and amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2013
Dear Brenda & Sarah
How shameful of you to write bad stories that do not exists. We do not advertise air conditioning system anywhere, neither in Trip Advisor or on our website. Everywhere in the “Amenities’ section we have “ceiling fans”. We are totally puzzled about your inventions. The same goes about the village beach, please address your complains to the sheha of the village. We have nothing to do with it. Our property is sparkling clean and too bad you missed to see the beauty of our tropical garden and the gorgeous beach in front of our property. How utterly ungrateful you are! Obviously, it makes you happy to ruin other people’s livelihood. One day, if you loose your job, remember what you did to us.
Lilia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TwoLittle...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid OceanView Bungalows - there are MANY better options for a Zanzibar beach vacation”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in one of the bungalow rooms on the OceanView villa property. We went to Zanzibar seeking relaxation and rest following a trek and safari in late December. We decided to stay at OceanView Villa and Bungalows primarily because of the positive reviews posted here.

My primary advice: take the other reviews with a grain of salt and spend a few more minutes searching for another resort/hotel/bungalow. There are many, many better options in this same price range. We spent most of our days using the amenities and beaches of other resorts nearby. We also ate most of our meals at other resorts.

Pros -

Clean, large rooms.

Friendly local staff

Wholesome homemade food. Futari's food is wholesome, if not especially flavorful. We only ate 2 meals at OceanView because the atmosphere was not especially inviting and there was only 1 vegetarian option for my wife.

Cons -

Amenities are blatantly misrepresented - no AirCon, soap and shampoo were not provided, no real ocean views from the bungalow.

The bungalow rooms are absolutely stifling. There is no cross-ventilation and we had only one small circulating fan to complement the weak overhead fan. While the owner, Lilia, clearly lists "Air Conditioning" on the amenities list, this is simply not true. She is misrepresenting the amenities in the bungalow.

It is not possible to swim in front of villa. The local villagers cultivate seaweed and there is a very large (200 feet) tide. You would have to wade through knee-deep seaweed for 10 minutes to walk out to the ocean during the day.

You cannot see the ocean from the bungalow. There are two large gates and many trees blocking the view of the ocean.

There are only 2 beach chairs, shared between 4-5 people staying the villa and the 3-4 people staying in the bungalow rooms. We were never able to use a beach chair during our stay.

There are many other options nearby. We spent much of our time at the Waikiki Beach resort, about a 15 minute walk from OceanView. They have good food, friendly staff and an inviting atmosphere.

It is dangerous to walk along beach at night. Children from the village blatantly tried to pick our pockets and attempted to surround us while we were walking at dusk. In addition, the beach in front of the village is COVERED with human excrement and garbage.

The friendly dog referenced in the other reviews barked loudly and for extended times 4 out of 5 nights we were there. We found it very difficult to sleep at night given the loud dog and stifling heat.

It is very expensive to take taxis from here. This is more of a fact of life in Zanzibar, but the standard price is $45-50 to go to Stonetown, which is the only place with ATMs and the only place to buy most provisions.

The owner, Lillia, lives in the US and I had to speak with her once to clear up a misunderstanding about payment. She was aggressive to the point of being rude.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly local staff
Liked least: Lack of swimming beach, no beach chairs, loud dog barking at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2013
Dear Kevin
You didn’t have to stay with us if there were “many better options in this same price range”, you only paid $55 per person for your holiday stay. You were free to walk out and stay wherever you are happy. On the opposite you cannot find as low rate as ours in the area for a bungalow on the beach. Our food prices are also competitively the lowest.
The dog is guard dog to keep our guests save and I know that he doesn’t bark for no reason or often.
We have one of the most spectacular beaches with a choice to swim at low or high tide which you have obviously failed to notice. Instead, you used all the untrue stories in your review as an excuse to sneak out on your departure day without paying gratuities to our very accommodating staff, well, to you, they are just African slaves aren’t they?!
You really tried your best to ruin our livelihood. Your mission is ruining other people’s lives?! How utterly selfish, inconsiderate and down right low life!
Lilia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granga2
Orcas Island, Wash
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This was a near-perfect place for us; we'd go back!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

This very nicely furnished home right on the beach was a wonderful interlude for us after traveling on a safari and working in an orphanage. One of us had broken her leg on the last day of the safari, and simply needed to lay around with her leg elevated; the lounge chairs on the veranda were the perfect solution to that dilemma. Futari made most of our meals, as we really couldn't go anywhere, and that was a real treat! Cooling breezes from the ocean were helpful in the hot and humid weather, something we were not used to. A small pool would be nice..... The beach, while beautiful, is not swimmable. The tide goes out about half a mile, and you can never get past your knees. Gardens were beautiful.
It should be noted that the 4th bedroom is VERY small, and is not ideal for a guest. But the large master bedroom with its ensuite bath was luxurious. A very good value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wonderfully relaxing, delicious meals
Liked least: The power goes off sometimes (all over the island) and thus the fans go off, too.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2012
Dear Sally
Thank you for the review. However, I have to disagree with you about the swimming.
My husband and I were there for our vacation and I went swimming everyday for all the 5 weeks we were there. The Indian Ocean is just like any other sea or oceans, it has low and high tides and they change twice per day. Everyday I was swimming during the high tides and also during the low tide, when the water starts to withdraw slowly, it’s like a swimming pool, I love to float so I would enjoy floating for hours. Children also love it because they can choose the level of water they want for swimming. I’m flabbergasted that you never saw the high tides?????!!!!!!
There was no reason for you to review the 4th bedroom. This bedroom we use for extra person just like in hotels they would give you an extra bed but here is a room instead. Sometimes our guests have placed a small child there or a teenager. We are very upset by your review. After our staff carried you around due to your broken leg and did everything to make your stay comfortable, you write such a bad review.
Where is the appreciation? And if you didn’t like it why would you want to go back?
Lilia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofianDXB
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house, great location but far from youth destination”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

The place is very nice, the house is very big, clean and well maintained. The welcoming is warm and we really enjoyed spending time there. However I would recommend it to family or to older couples as the attractive places for youth are Ningwi and Stonetown which are both at least USD20 away by taxi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location: literally on the beach
Liked least: The location: Far from Ningwi and Stonetown
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
Reviewed June 22, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2012
Dear Enakshi
We truly appreciate your wonderful review and we are so happy to hear that our staff treated you with lots of attention and care. Futari loved you staying there and is still missing you. You are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
spain
Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2012
Dear Licinio
We are out of words to express our gratitude to you for writing a review that is quintessential to OceanView Villa property, environment and our kindly staff; and our dog Rambo who loves a kind mzungo.
Our true appreciation and best wishes to you and your family
Lilia& Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing