We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mvuvi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mvuvi Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were a family with post-teenage "children" who wanted a relaxing vacation. We discovered the perfect place at Mvuvi!
Very friendly and helpful staff. The location on the beach was perfect with the secluded area just of the beach. The beatiful garden area behind the restaurant gave us protection on windy days. The food was excellent and it was nice to sit in the sofa before dinner enjoying a good glass of wine. We also liked the size of the resort. A special thanks to Simona and Paolo for making the stay unforgettable!
Mvuvi Resort is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rune T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
108
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Excellent 4 days after safari trip in November. Absolutely nice for family stay - swimming pool even for the very small children, large rooms, very quiet with personal attitude from everybody (Simona, you are great), romantic for the couples with unforgetable sunrises on the private beach and dinners in the moonlight. Every wish was fulfilled (excursions, massages, food for the child, even toys and pencils). Wish we stay here longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsudniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed there after a 6 day Northern Tanzania safari. Very relaxing chic resort, with extremely attentive service. Rooms are very large with comfortable beds. Food is excellent with a nice mix of Italian and African flavours. Milli, our hostess was very accommodating when we bought octopus from the fishermen and had the chef make octopus salad for all the guests as an added course for dinner one night. The beach is superb. The massages great. Wished we could have stayed for a week!

Room Tip: Stay on the second room for a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChikenQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kiwengwa beach is for sure one of the best on Zanzibar Island; the only drawback is that is is crowded with big and loud resorts (most of them italian). Mvuvi ("fisherman" in swahili) is the antidote: a small, family-owned hotel, in which you can enjoy calm, silence, relax with only the best aspect of Italy (i.e., italian-style cooking, though with local, and therefore fresh, ingredients).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July after one of us doing a safari and the other climbing Mt Kilimanjaro, for a bit of R&R. It was just perfect for this. Simona and Paolo made us feel very welcome and were great hosts. Having only 6 rooms, it is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Our room was a good size, tidy and clean. We had taken the dinner, bed, breakfast option which worked out fantastic and while we went out one night with friends from another resort, our evening meal was transferred over to a lunch time which we really appreciated. The food was lovely and we enjoyed the open air restaurant and meeting the chef who came out several times for a chat. Enjoyed the afternoon tea served daily. A great location re beach wise and we appreciated Simona organising a snorkelling trip for us. We travelled onto Stone Town for 3 days afterwards, and commented several times that we wished we had spent more time at the Mvuvi than in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parkfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many others, we stayed here to chill out after a safari in Kenya. Unfortunately, our stay was only three days. We would have stayed longer but we had already purchased plane tickets to Arusha as well as hotel accommodations. Needless to say, it was hard to leave.

From the driveway the Mvuvi looks somewhat unimpressive but once you enter the front gate you know you've made the right choice! The grounds are absolutely beautiful... artsy, supper cool, supper funky... it's paradise. Simona and Paolo are are the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. The restaurant is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. The fresh pasta dishes and bread are incredible.

We took many walks up and down the beach and the Mvuvi is best. The surrounding resorts are much bigger and don't offer the same cozy, relaxing atmosphere that you get at the Mvuvi. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Zanzibar.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all good but we preferred the rooms on the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tevadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Would give it 4.5 stars if I could. Despite wanting to stay in the very north of the island after careful research I happily settled upon Mvuvi based on the other reviews on here. It almost seemed too good to be true. I couldn't have been happier with my decision and was exactly what I wanted in a hotel for the end of my holiday. Simona and Paolo are excellent hosts and ensure guests are comfortable and happy. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and friendly and felt like they really cared for the guests. If anyone is looking to go to Zanzi this is where they need to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pongwe Beach Hotel
Pongwe Beach Hotel
#1 of 6 in Pongwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
12.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
19.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Property: Mvuvi Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mvuvi Resort is an elite boutique hotel on the east coast of Zanzibar. It is located on the white beach of Kiwengwa, overlooking the Indian Ocean; from there you can admire the crystal and clear waters of the reef. It can be defined as an intimate location, genuine and elegant at the same time, in a state of perfect harmony with the Swahili culture and traditions. A place where you can sunbathing on a peaceful private beach enjoying the real beauty of the nature or doing sports. There is something to suit all tastes, such as kite surfing, diving, and many others. It is also the ideal starting point for different kinds of excursions to Zanzibar or exciting safari in Tanzania. The building consists of six large rooms with all amenities and comfort, it is specializes in a highlevel hospitality. It represents the ideal destination for young couples (for instance, on their honeymoon), but for families with children and groups of friends also. Mvuvi Resort is not the typical mass tourist resort, it is something more: it’s a quiet and exclusive place, which has a saltwater pool and a private spa in its green garden. In the end, you can even admire and enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant with a nice terrace that overlooks the Ocean; it seems a perfect spot for romantic dinners and hearty breakfasts. A fusion cuisine, in which Mediterranean flavours are mixed with the colours and aromas of local products and goods, starting from fish to tropical fruits. An unspoiled place to spend carefree days of vacation in Zanzibar in a real African atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing