We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Place to stay for relaxing Zanzibar beach vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mvuvi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mvuvi Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place to stay for relaxing Zanzibar beach vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Would give it 4.5 stars if I could. Despite wanting to stay in the very north of the island after careful research I happily settled upon Mvuvi based on the other reviews on here. It almost seemed too good to be true. I couldn't have been happier with my decision and was exactly what I wanted in a hotel for the end of my holiday. Simona and Paolo are excellent hosts and ensure guests are comfortable and happy. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and friendly and felt like they really cared for the guests. If anyone is looking to go to Zanzi this is where they need to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    26
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
105
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went there for 8 days in August. The resort is very small, only 6 rooms, and this creates the perfect conditions for a relaxing holiday.
If you are looking for paradise you found it. Amazing food prepared by the local chef, mainly Italian with a pinch of Zanzibar cuisine. Freshly made pastas and bread and all kind of fish to please the guests. Breakfast is simple but fresh and nice as well as the afternoon tea.
Staff extremely nice, happy and helpful.
You can literally wake up and walk into the water.
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank delhiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered after a grueling 5 day Safari.

Arrived late at night due to flight issues but a hot dinner was waiting for us on arrival.
Wonderful place to relax with a warm personal service.
Thoroughly enjoyed this small resort

Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunmSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our three-day stay at Mvuvi was wonderful - from the delicious Italian-inspired meals, the chic local architecture, the warm personal service, and the beautiful lounging areas. In contrast to the much larger adjacent beachfront resorts, Mvuvi was tiny (10 rooms at most), peaceful, and quiet, but still with all the necessary amenities like a beach-side bar, massage options, and a pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with much-needed air conditioning, a comfy daybed, charming decor like driftwood furniture, and nice touches like a large umbrella (which we didn't end up needing) and fresh bougainvillea blossoms on the bed when we arrived. Simona and Paolo were always available if we needed anything, and the local staff was ceaselessly helpful, friendly, and professional. Constant sales attempts by locals made long walks on the beach a bit frustrating at times, but the resort had so many comfy areas for lounging near the beach that we were more than happy to stay close by. We also did a Spice Tour/Stone Town Tour one day, which was well-organized by Simona. We went with the half board rather than full board option, and were glad that we did - the dinners are huge (four courses), so we ended up only wanting a small a la carte lunch, and on Sundays there's a free "brunch party" pasta buffet with live music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I spent 1 week there with a friend. The location is magnificent and the service provided by the staff was outstanding. There are some limitations in the excursions you can do but are unrelated to the resort and bound to the development of Zanzibar. If you want a good, low key, great food, great beach resort, thos is the place.
Great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpancorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

It was my 3rd stay in Mvuvi after 2007 and 2010. Since then, it only improved, even though it was already very beautiful before.

There is now as well a little pool inside the resort, in case there is low tide and you are too lazy to walk and reach the seawater:-)

Food is still delicious, breakfast basic, but lunch and especially dinner just amazing!

The rooms are beautiful, furnished and decorated with local objects, and including moskito net around the bed, hair dryer, A/C, fan, safe, big bathroom.

Further, the hotel offers laundry service, massages (from locals), WLAN in the restaurant area, a small library and many nice daytrips and excursions which can be booked and paid directly at the hotel.

I have seen several hotels in Kiwengwa from out- and inside, and I dare to say that Mvuvi is the most relaxing and laid back one. The other hotels are simply too big, impersonal and hectic (animation, loud music etc). I consider as well the beach just in front of Mvuvi the as the best part around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hummelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapella
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came to Mvuvi after visiting wild preserves in tanzania. We experienced a ten days relaxing stay here, good food and all areas really clean. Every day all tables were decorated beautiful to make you feel like sitting in a garden. Helpful and very friendly staff makes a stay in mvuvi relaxing. Beaches in front of the hotel as well deepblue water are very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
2.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
12.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 171 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Property: Mvuvi Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mvuvi Resort is an elite boutique hotel on the east coast of Zanzibar. It is located on the white beach of Kiwengwa, overlooking the Indian Ocean; from there you can admire the crystal and clear waters of the reef. It can be defined as an intimate location, genuine and elegant at the same time, in a state of perfect harmony with the Swahili culture and traditions. A place where you can sunbathing on a peaceful private beach enjoying the real beauty of the nature or doing sports. There is something to suit all tastes, such as kite surfing, diving, and many others. It is also the ideal starting point for different kinds of excursions to Zanzibar or exciting safari in Tanzania. The building consists of six large rooms with all amenities and comfort, it is specializes in a highlevel hospitality. It represents the ideal destination for young couples (for instance, on their honeymoon), but for families with children and groups of friends also. Mvuvi Resort is not the typical mass tourist resort, it is something more: it’s a quiet and exclusive place, which has a saltwater pool and a private spa in its green garden. In the end, you can even admire and enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant with a nice terrace that overlooks the Ocean; it seems a perfect spot for romantic dinners and hearty breakfasts. A fusion cuisine, in which Mediterranean flavours are mixed with the colours and aromas of local products and goods, starting from fish to tropical fruits. An unspoiled place to spend carefree days of vacation in Zanzibar in a real African atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing