We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Sultan Sands is the best hotel ever. We stayed for two weeks after safari. The staff are so serviceminded and friendly- Only the best is good enough for their guests. You really feel welcome. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Every night the staff put the mosquito netting around the beds and spray the rooms with insect spray. No bugs at all- perfect.
The food is good and diversity.
The view from the hotel is remarkable. White sand and turquoise sea, fishboats and fishermen. Everything you put your eyes on is just beautiful.
The hotel is the best base for recovering after a week of safari. Really a Peaceful and quiet place on the planet, earth!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Janike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at Sultan Sands with beach view and it was the perfect place to relax after a week of safari.
Everywhere you look the view is beautiful: the beach, the pool, the buildings, the interior and the gardens. The food is really good, I had the best Indian food I have ever tasted. It is tasty, spicy and the buffet is fantastic. The buffet includes food that is cooked in front of you, so you can get it just the way you like. We even had cooking lessons, so now I know how to make it at home as well (sort of anyway, I might need some practice!). The entertainment while you are eating is live music and dancing, all of high quality.
And yet the best about the hotel is the staff. We were met with overwhelming helpfulness and friendliness. We will all remember this stay fondly, and especially my son, who was treated like royalty.
I highly recommend staying at Sultan Sands!

Room Tip: Seaview is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngeDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Sultan Sands Isalnds Resort have everything you could ask for. It´s like paradise. The staff there is very helpful and they really want you to enjoy every minute of your stay. As a vegetarian I can say that the buffé gives you a lot to chose from. I didn´t have to ask for special food but if I did I know that they would arragne it. The property is kept clean and fresh. Everybody is so friendly and relaxed, a good thing if you come from the tempo in europe or a safari and need to unwind.
I could definetly recomend this place if you want the cozy, friendly, beautiful getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Sultan Sands on Zanzibar is a beach and holiday paradise. It is a very exotic and nice hotel perfect for relaxing, swimming and sun bathing.
The bungalows are all high quality with a lot of space, nice good beds and cooling air conditioned. The staff is friendly, polite and extremely service oriented. The security was handled by charming Masai warriors.
Try the Blue Safari tours and maybe you get the chance to swim with the Dolphins. A must is also the Spice tour

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Owe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the resort. Everything was perfect (food, service, rooms). Every evening there was live music or a show. The only thing that was not perfect was the the Internet which was very unstable and not easy to upload.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holger k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I lovely hotell, with great service. The fascilities are at a very high standard, clean and properly, and the employees are very service motivated. The beach is nice, food is super great+, there is a gym there, beach volleyball and a lot more. The area is inside safe walls, so i recommend to go on some guided trips.

There are some intrusive "beach boys" on the beach who are selling stuff and trips. But if you speak with them, they are try to make a living, so please respect them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thorbjørn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were at Sultan Sands Beach Resort in july 2014. It is a super place to stay. Rooms, food, staff and location are perfect. Perfect value for the money.

Tips and tricks: When you want to go on a trip it's best to book it at the Sultan Sands than to book it with your own tour operator. The prices fot trips are better when you book them at the Sultan Sands. Service is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joriskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: Zanzibar, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $174 - $622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing