We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The resort is excellent, beach and sea are beautiful. Rooms lovely, the staff fantastic, i felt like home. The landscape is fabulous. If i come again, i'll stay in the same resort.
Habari nakuwashukuru :)

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 593 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

The resort is nicely located on the East coast, and has a beautiful view on the ocean. Quiet environment. Clean rooms. Lovely gardens. Unfortunately, it's about an hour away from Stone town, so if you want to go it's a day trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annasofia_june30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the Perfect timeout from the rest og the world and a great location if you want the best out of your stay on this island.
The rooms where nice, tidy and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpfull. The Food was just Perfect. Each night had it own theme for the Food, and you could choose from several different disches for every meal. Great Entertainment at night as well, suiteble for everyone.
If we get the chance, we'll come back to this resort, without any doubt!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kenneth_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I love Zanzibar. I have been coming to this same spot every 4 months for the past 2 years. It is pure bliss. Lovely water, warm and blue, little or no waves, tides that go out leaving miles of sand to enjoy...sheer pleasure. The staff at the resort are great. The restaurants are fine, but the Spa is the star here - wonderful. favourite of mine. Will definitely keep coming back!

Room Tip: Get one of the Ocenview Bahari Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I had the joy of visiting Sultan Sands and Blue Bay Resort with my wife and colleagues from East and Central Africa in February. The rooms were great and the staff very helpful in organizing our conference facility.

The buffet menu was only fair, but the beach side restaurant was better than most hotels I've been at in the region.

The highlight was a snorkeling trip around a nearby island. Simply the most spectacular snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Great value option for a visit to Zanzibar!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Aa_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food is really expensive for what you get (quality and quantity) with fairly poor service. We were most disappointed by this aspect of our stay. The service was also very spotty, great by some servers terrible by others. The pool area and facilities were wonderful though, and almost to the point where we could overlook the terrible food situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilptz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great place, great food, nice and clean rooms and very friendly personnel. Outside the resort there is not much to do, besides the beach. But we had a great personnal tour guide for three days. He showed us everything we wanted to see on the island and we had a lot of fun. Ask for Ali Siraji Suleiman at the tour office of the hotel. He is a great guide and It's cheaper than via the official touroperators, who normally offer group trips. We really loved the beauty of Zanzibar!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
17.7 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: Zanzibar, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $172 - $599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing