We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the Perfect timeout from the rest og the world and a great location if you want the best out of your stay on this island.
The rooms where nice, tidy and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpfull. The Food was just Perfect. Each night had it own theme for the Food, and you could choose from several different disches for every meal. Great Entertainment at night as well, suiteble for everyone.
If we get the chance, we'll come back to this resort, without any doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    155
    37
    10
    14
See reviews for
100
285
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2,445 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 916 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I love Zanzibar. I have been coming to this same spot every 4 months for the past 2 years. It is pure bliss. Lovely water, warm and blue, little or no waves, tides that go out leaving miles of sand to enjoy...sheer pleasure. The staff at the resort are great. The restaurants are fine, but the Spa is the star here - wonderful. favourite of mine. Will definitely keep coming back!

Room Tip: Get one of the Ocenview Bahari Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I had the joy of visiting Sultan Sands and Blue Bay Resort with my wife and colleagues from East and Central Africa in February. The rooms were great and the staff very helpful in organizing our conference facility.

The buffet menu was only fair, but the beach side restaurant was better than most hotels I've been at in the region.

The highlight was a snorkeling trip around a nearby island. Simply the most spectacular snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Great value option for a visit to Zanzibar!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aa_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food is really expensive for what you get (quality and quantity) with fairly poor service. We were most disappointed by this aspect of our stay. The service was also very spotty, great by some servers terrible by others. The pool area and facilities were wonderful though, and almost to the point where we could overlook the terrible food situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilptz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Great place, great food, nice and clean rooms and very friendly personnel. Outside the resort there is not much to do, besides the beach. But we had a great personnal tour guide for three days. He showed us everything we wanted to see on the island and we had a lot of fun. Ask for Ali Siraji Suleiman at the tour office of the hotel. He is a great guide and It's cheaper than via the official touroperators, who normally offer group trips. We really loved the beauty of Zanzibar!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very nice rooms/huts, great food, entertainment every night and a quiet place to stay(in march that is).
It was easy to book trips for Stone Town etc from the hotel.

Although their lunch is very expensive and without a good selection, the breakfast and dinner/supper makes up for it. Exellent food!

The only thing we chose to complain about was the staff's poor english skill and odd approach to service. Some of the staff chose to ignore if they didnt understand, and food orders etc got messed up many times. Also there was a particular one who wouldnt go away and kept bugging and interrupting us with gibberish talk in half german half english about selling us homemade whiskey. Maybe some of them dont know what is expected when it comes to service(given we paid alot to stay there).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family and I vacationed in Sultan Sand and the service was awesome.

The room service was good,they provided child minders,they provided variety of food in the buffet setup, the pool was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,274 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,256 reviews
12.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Property: Sultan Sands Island Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing