We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best snorkeling in East Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

I had the joy of visiting Sultan Sands and Blue Bay Resort with my wife and colleagues from East and Central Africa in February. The rooms were great and the staff very helpful in organizing our conference facility.

The buffet menu was only fair, but the beach side restaurant was better than most hotels I've been at in the region.

The highlight was a snorkeling trip around a nearby island. Simply the most spectacular snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Great value option for a visit to Zanzibar!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Aa_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
There are newer reviews for Sultan Sands Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 578 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food is really expensive for what you get (quality and quantity) with fairly poor service. We were most disappointed by this aspect of our stay. The service was also very spotty, great by some servers terrible by others. The pool area and facilities were wonderful though, and almost to the point where we could overlook the terrible food situation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilptz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great place, great food, nice and clean rooms and very friendly personnel. Outside the resort there is not much to do, besides the beach. But we had a great personnal tour guide for three days. He showed us everything we wanted to see on the island and we had a lot of fun. Ask for Ali Siraji Suleiman at the tour office of the hotel. He is a great guide and It's cheaper than via the official touroperators, who normally offer group trips. We really loved the beauty of Zanzibar!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very nice rooms/huts, great food, entertainment every night and a quiet place to stay(in march that is).
It was easy to book trips for Stone Town etc from the hotel.

Although their lunch is very expensive and without a good selection, the breakfast and dinner/supper makes up for it. Exellent food!

The only thing we chose to complain about was the staff's poor english skill and odd approach to service. Some of the staff chose to ignore if they didnt understand, and food orders etc got messed up many times. Also there was a particular one who wouldnt go away and kept bugging and interrupting us with gibberish talk in half german half english about selling us homemade whiskey. Maybe some of them dont know what is expected when it comes to service(given we paid alot to stay there).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My family and I vacationed in Sultan Sand and the service was awesome.

The room service was good,they provided child minders,they provided variety of food in the buffet setup, the pool was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend decided to treat me on my off days to come to Zanzibar.Right from the entrance of the hotel you can see the architectural buildings,artifacts which was just incredible.
The rooms are spacious with a lounge and balcony plus the shower is what I needed.
We had great food,entertainment,water sports and so much more.
I would like to specially thank the Operations Manager Mr. David Ambani for hosting us and making us feel at home. He is such a wonderful man with a good heart.
I would definately come back again with my friends on holiday very soon.
Thank you one again David and his team.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fwawesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Xmas Holidays 2013-2014 - we spent a wonderful week at Sultan Sands! Nice rooms, wonderful pool and gardens area and friendly staff to help us and to support us!
The rooms are nice and clean and the food is good. Every day we had a wide choice of fruits, vegetables and local and global selection of food!
If I have to underline one point - internet connection only in one area of the hotel and not so speed ... the should empower it !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martignocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,599 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
17.8 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $190 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing