We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

A very nice resort at the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beach. We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed the comfort of small appartment houses with a spacious bedroom, bathroom, balcony and not at least air conditioning (which was very necessary due to the high temparatures and air humidity). The Sultan Sands resort resides next to the Bluebay hotel, those two belong together and one can use both hotels' facilities (apart from the included meals). The dinner buffet was of real high quality with a variety of choices and high quality food. Every day of the week had a special food motto, and there were several dishes every night that were prepared or grilled just at the buffet. The staff was very nice and friendly, sometimes a bit limited when it comes to conversation in English. The hotel holds a high standard, but also a high price level. A small bottle of beer (33cl) e.g. costs 8500 TSH (appr. 5,5 USD) - and there are no free beverages during the day (not even water) or dinner (if you do not book all-inclusive).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    166
    39
    12
    16
See reviews for
104
309
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Sultan Sands/Bluebay hotel for 8 days in January 2013 after a week of safari in Tanzania. They have really deserved the "Traveller's choice award 2013". Here you will find everything you need in order to relax after a week of safari.
The rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff very friendly. The resaturant offers a variety of food and ín the evenings there is entertainment and themed buffets.
The pool and beach areas are clean and you can choose between sand, grass or pool area in order to relax during the day.
I can really recommend the entertainment during the day, which is interesting and not the kind of typical "egyptian tourist hotel entertainment" as we know it. You can for example study some Swahili, participate in the village walk or learn more about the importance of the coconut tree on the island.
The SPA area is also very neat and you can listen to the waves while getting a massage :)
The hotel is only one out of 10 hotels on the island which is opened all year long. In January it is not overcrowded, so that we had a lot of "space".
The only challenge is that the hotel is far away from the city and transportation/taxi is quite expensive. The same are the beverages. I was a bit disappointed that a hotel with that kind of standard did not even offer free water during dinner.
For excursions we can really recommend the spice tour and to go snorkelling.
Enjoy your stay there! You defintly will :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kat190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I booked this resort for a time of relaxation after a safari. There was some confusion upon our arrival but after some time and negotiation the Manager set us up in a room that was very enjoyable with two entrances - one from the beach and one from the main walkway with a waterfront patio. After a lot of contemplation and research we decided to go half-board (breakfast and dinner included). However I didn't realize that ALL beverages (including softdrinks and water) came at a cost. Lunch at the beach grill was costly. An order of fries which consisted of perhaps one medium sized potato was US$5. We decided to venture out to try to acquire some beverages from the local store (just through the entrance and up the driveway) and were successful in purchasing soda ($1.00 each) and Kilimanjaro beer ($2.50 for large bottles). As for the food I would honestly say that it was adequate but never hot or cold. With the exception of the food at the cooking stations everything was just warm and variety is very limited. On New Year's Eve they put a hugh spread of traditional as well as international foods and I am sure it was very good however my husband experienced food poisoning the night before from the Marsala chicken so we were unable to partake of the festivities. We welcomed an offer to cut our stay short by a day with an offer of exchanging privileges at the Beyt el Chai in Stonetown. In closing I want to mention a particular server, Jonathan, who went above and beyond his call of duty to ensure that we were taken care of during meals and even when we were confined to our room on New Year's Eve. So sorry we didn't get a chance to say goodbye to him. Thank you Jonathan for your excellent care.
In summary I would say that this resort is overpriced for what it offers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 444SusyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

A very nice hotel near the beach with very good buffet and food. Every day the restaurant changes theme e.g. asian, libyan, arabic food. The service is in top, the rooms are big and hold in natural wooden materials.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soerenfrimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Sultan Sands Hotel we got the holiday of a lifetime.Nice rooms,perfect service,verry friendly staff.Nice setting,right on the beach.and the resort has a lot of trees,and flowers.The food was verry good,with a wide spread to choose from.We apreciated the Seafood BBQ buffet on the beach(verry romantic,with candellights)Also the entertainement after dinner was verry good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived to check in at the hotel after a stressful few days and a flight cancellation to get to Zanzibar. The hotel staff recognized this and went out of their way to allow us to get into the room early. We had a fabulous sea view room and it was spotlessly clean, flower petals placed on the bed (a nice touch) and a nice bathroom & great powerful shower & consistent hot water which is rare for Africa !!!
We were surprised that the food was so good. There was a wide selection for breakfast & lunch and a theme menu for dinner which changed every evening.
There were frequent power cuts in the evening but the hotel generators came on with in a minute or 2 with the minimum of inconvenience.
We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
We did originally have a problem regarding our reservation but David the Operations Manager came and spoke to us & asked if we were enjoying our stay and that if we had any problems to contact him. He, on a number of occasions made sure we were enjoying our holiday and nothing was too much trouble and organized a private dinner for us on the beach without us asking for this.
I travel a great deal for work and stay in hotels all over the world. Believe me The Sultan Sands is great value for money with excellent, friendly staff, clean & very comfortable rooms and good food and would highly recommend it for your stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and four days. Quite relaxing! The rooms are neat, the staff, particularly the ones at Mwambao Restaurant are quite nice and charming, the food is delicious with a wide spread to choose from. PLEASE experience the Spa for whatever massage, you'll love it. I did foot reflexology. The swimming pool is beautiful, not to mention the weather. You can enjoy a walk on the beach. The sockets are however not friendly and no universal adapters provided in the rooms. It doesn't make sense to buy when you have beach home.

Room Tip: We were booked in the Pwani room and we found it quite nice. I personally don't like hills so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ezeoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
2.7 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Property: Sultan Sands Island Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing