We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mvuvi Resort(Kiwengwa)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zan View Hotel(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$99
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blu Marlin Village(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Zanzibar(Kiwengwa)
$693
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
361
216
55
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
216
55
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysstone townblue baysister hotelevery nightbahari roomfruit selectionbeach frontlandscaped gardensbeautiful dinnertanzanian shillingsspend moneystayed all inclusivegrilled meatevery mealfantastic holidaylovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 660 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

In Sultan Sands Hotel we got the holiday of a lifetime.Nice rooms,perfect service,verry friendly staff.Nice setting,right on the beach.and the resort has a lot of trees,and flowers.The food was verry good,with a wide spread to choose from.We apreciated the Seafood BBQ buffet on the beach(verry romantic,with candellights)Also the entertainement after dinner was verry good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived to check in at the hotel after a stressful few days and a flight cancellation to get to Zanzibar. The hotel staff recognized this and went out of their way to allow us to get into the room early. We had a fabulous sea view room and it was spotlessly clean, flower petals placed on the bed (a nice touch) and a nice bathroom & great powerful shower & consistent hot water which is rare for Africa !!!
We were surprised that the food was so good. There was a wide selection for breakfast & lunch and a theme menu for dinner which changed every evening.
There were frequent power cuts in the evening but the hotel generators came on with in a minute or 2 with the minimum of inconvenience.
We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
We did originally have a problem regarding our reservation but David the Operations Manager came and spoke to us & asked if we were enjoying our stay and that if we had any problems to contact him. He, on a number of occasions made sure we were enjoying our holiday and nothing was too much trouble and organized a private dinner for us on the beach without us asking for this.
I travel a great deal for work and stay in hotels all over the world. Believe me The Sultan Sands is great value for money with excellent, friendly staff, clean & very comfortable rooms and good food and would highly recommend it for your stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and four days. Quite relaxing! The rooms are neat, the staff, particularly the ones at Mwambao Restaurant are quite nice and charming, the food is delicious with a wide spread to choose from. PLEASE experience the Spa for whatever massage, you'll love it. I did foot reflexology. The swimming pool is beautiful, not to mention the weather. You can enjoy a walk on the beach. The sockets are however not friendly and no universal adapters provided in the rooms. It doesn't make sense to buy when you have beach home.

Room Tip: We were booked in the Pwani room and we found it quite nice. I personally don't like hills so any room (329-.....) and below is ok for people like me. The pics are taking long to upload!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ezeoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week, beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, awesome food, lovely pool and beautiful beach. We had American BBQ buffet on friday night and Seafood BBQ buffet on saturday night. Wide variety of food, and great taste. Breakfast was very good as well, they have everything from eggs , beans, beef & pork sausages, grilled tomatoes, bread, waffels, 4 types of fresh juice, variety of fruits, yoghurt & variety of pastries. While we were on half board basis, we did see alot of people wearing bands for all inclusive which is better if you want to enjoy a lot of drinks which are very expensive. The pool & hotel grounds were very clean.

We were upgraded to Bahari rooms which was great !. had also walked down to their sister hotel the Blue bay to check out the Spa which was very good. There are daily activities at either the Blue bay or Sultan sands for example on friday they had water aerobics and the next day they had stretching & volleyball i think. On both nights they had lovely band playing while guests enjoyed their dinner. Hmmm, 2 nights passed like a breeze, it wasnt enough, we wish we could stay longer. We will definately be back .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were upgraded to a beach front room which was fantastic and very romantic. The rooms are delightful little round huts with straw roofs and ours had what seemed like our own private little pool. The room was pretty and clean. We had a sewerage smell at one point which we didn't even have to report, it was fixed immediately.

The food was OK with a lot of variety, but I am not a lover of buffet food and we did get tummy upset after the seafood night! The drinks are triple the price, but as we don't drink a lot it was not worth going fully inclusive. The breakfast was huge and we were never hungry for lunch. The location is very remote so you are practically stuck in the grounds unless you take a cab to the other side of the island. The beach is almost off bounds due to the pesky boys trying to sell you stuff. These guys did all they could to ruin our stay and I wish the hotel would do something about them!

We were very disappointed with almost being conned into an excursion by their own staff. The manager, Julian, however, dealt with our complaint very well and explained about the corruption in Africa and how we have to be very careful. We knew this, but were not expecting in from his own staff. The excursions to Stonetown, Prison Island and Safari Blue are worth going but a bit pricy!

I chose Sultan Sands due to it's sister hotel Blue Bay being right next door and having a spa. There is clear evidence that Blue Bay is where they spend most of their money as more attention is paid to the games area and beach area, with many activities. The spa is great, however, be warned, we both had a back, shoulder and neck massage which was far too deep and rough and we suffered for two days after. I have had many massages and this was by far the most painful, yet the staff did not relent and kept going! I was my partners first and last experience on the massage table! Oh well!

The grounds are absolutely beautifully and a perfect place to just chill out after a tiring safari. The staff could have been a bit more attentive, like offer you drinks, but it didn't bother me and probably saved me some money! I would recommend this place if you want to relax in what seemed like paradise.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaniC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews