We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived to check in at the hotel after a stressful few days and a flight cancellation to get to Zanzibar. The hotel staff recognized this and went out of their way to allow us to get into the room early. We had a fabulous sea view room and it was spotlessly clean, flower petals placed on the bed (a nice touch) and a nice bathroom & great powerful shower & consistent hot water which is rare for Africa !!!
We were surprised that the food was so good. There was a wide selection for breakfast & lunch and a theme menu for dinner which changed every evening.
There were frequent power cuts in the evening but the hotel generators came on with in a minute or 2 with the minimum of inconvenience.
We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful.
We did originally have a problem regarding our reservation but David the Operations Manager came and spoke to us & asked if we were enjoying our stay and that if we had any problems to contact him. He, on a number of occasions made sure we were enjoying our holiday and nothing was too much trouble and organized a private dinner for us on the beach without us asking for this.
I travel a great deal for work and stay in hotels all over the world. Believe me The Sultan Sands is great value for money with excellent, friendly staff, clean & very comfortable rooms and good food and would highly recommend it for your stay in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    148
    36
    8
    14
See reviews for
95
274
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel with my daughter for 3 nights and four days. Quite relaxing! The rooms are neat, the staff, particularly the ones at Mwambao Restaurant are quite nice and charming, the food is delicious with a wide spread to choose from. PLEASE experience the Spa for whatever massage, you'll love it. I did foot reflexology. The swimming pool is beautiful, not to mention the weather. You can enjoy a walk on the beach. The sockets are however not friendly and no universal adapters provided in the rooms. It doesn't make sense to buy when you have beach home.

Room Tip: We were booked in the Pwani room and we found it quite nice. I personally don't like hills so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ezeoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights last week, beautiful grounds, very friendly staff, awesome food, lovely pool and beautiful beach. We had American BBQ buffet on friday night and Seafood BBQ buffet on saturday night. Wide variety of food, and great taste. Breakfast was very good as well, they have everything from eggs , beans, beef & pork sausages, grilled tomatoes, bread, waffels, 4 types of fresh juice, variety of fruits, yoghurt & variety of pastries. While we were on half board basis, we did see alot of people wearing bands for all inclusive which is better if you want to enjoy a lot of drinks which are very expensive. The pool & hotel grounds were very clean.

We were upgraded to Bahari rooms which was great !. had also walked down to their sister hotel the Blue bay to check out the Spa which was very good. There are daily activities at either the Blue bay or Sultan sands for example on friday they had water aerobics and the next day they had stretching & volleyball i think. On both nights they had lovely band playing while guests enjoyed their dinner. Hmmm, 2 nights passed like a breeze, it wasnt enough, we wish we could stay longer. We will definately be back .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GABTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were upgraded to a beach front room which was fantastic and very romantic. The rooms are delightful little round huts with straw roofs and ours had what seemed like our own private little pool. The room was pretty and clean. We had a sewerage smell at one point which we didn't even have to report, it was fixed immediately.

The food was OK with a lot of variety, but I am not a lover of buffet food and we did get tummy upset after the seafood night! The drinks are triple the price, but as we don't drink a lot it was not worth going fully inclusive. The breakfast was huge and we were never hungry for lunch. The location is very remote so you are practically stuck in the grounds unless you take a cab to the other side of the island. The beach is almost off bounds due to the pesky boys trying to sell you stuff. These guys did all they could to ruin our stay and I wish the hotel would do something about them!

We were very disappointed with almost being conned into an excursion by their own staff. The manager, Julian, however, dealt with our complaint very well and explained about the corruption in Africa and how we have to be very careful. We knew this, but were not expecting in from his own staff. The excursions to Stonetown, Prison Island and Safari Blue are worth going but a bit pricy!

I chose Sultan Sands due to it's sister hotel Blue Bay being right next door and having a spa. There is clear evidence that Blue Bay is where they spend most of their money as more attention is paid to the games area and beach area, with many activities. The spa is great, however, be warned, we both had a back, shoulder and neck massage which was far too deep and rough and we suffered for two days after. I have had many massages and this was by far the most painful, yet the staff did not relent and kept going! I was my partners first and last experience on the massage table! Oh well!

The grounds are absolutely beautifully and a perfect place to just chill out after a tiring safari. The staff could have been a bit more attentive, like offer you drinks, but it didn't bother me and probably saved me some money! I would recommend this place if you want to relax in what seemed like paradise.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights after our honeymoon safari. Well the honeymoon decoration, fruit platter and champagne was of course very welcomming but the staff was overal not really interested in there guests. We arrived on a cocktail party evening they organize every week for new guests, it was a fun beginning. The grounds, swimmingpool and buildings are well kept but we did not like the cleaning of the rooms, the floor remained sticky during our stay and it just smelled damp. The food is oké and they have a theme every night, we did not like the India night though.. The all inclusive is allright and so are the including drinks but the wait for a drink is pretty long. The hotel is located on the beach which is public, the beachboys are so annoying! They stand spread out over the beach waiting for guests to enter the beach, sometimes they try to get your attention by calling while you sit on your lounger. Just be firm with them if you do not wish there service or they will keep following you. When your rid of them the beach is nice to take a walk. But the location is not as pretty as i thought it would be. Overal could be better, I would recomend to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passionfruit86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Good looking place, nice beach, very friendly staff.
Very good food, dinner arrangements are special. They pay a lot of attention about how they arrange it, table's on the beach, next to the swimming pool!! All dinners are buffet.
Drinks are too expensive!! You also have to pay $10 per day for internet. In this time it should be for free!! Change rates are unfavourable.

Room Tip: We had a front house (Bahari) so we also had a 'private" little pool. You have to pay some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneBlantyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Sultan Sands has many positive attributes; we enjoyed the creative dinner arrangements and entertainments, we felt safe with the many Masai guards around, great location on a good beach and generally good food. An OK fitness center.

We stayed at the hotel for six nights and spent most of our time there in a relaxing holiday.

Things are in good order at Sultan Sands but there were quite a few quality breaches to watch out for; the most serious being that we got food poisoned on their lunch restaurant on the beach, destroying a couple of days of the holiday. There was only cold water for showers in the afternoon, and even though we told about it several times it was not fixed. There was a worm on one of the pillows when we arrived. The bathroom water had a smell of sewage.

Service was great all places but at the reception.

It´s an enjoyable place. We will probably not go back there, but could recommend others to assess Sultan Sands against price of stay and price of expensive drinks if you like alcoholic drinks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 190479Okr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
12.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Property: Sultan Sands Island Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing