We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Zan View Hotel(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$93
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Kiwengwa Apartments(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$102
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bahati Villa(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$91
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$640
$191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$190
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blu Marlin Village(Kiwengwa)(Great Value!)
$115
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveler rating
361
216
55
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
216
55
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysstone townblue baysister hotelevery nightbahari roomfruit selectionbeach frontbeautiful dinnerlandscaped gardenstanzanian shillingsspend moneystayed all inclusivegrilled meatevery mealfantastic holidaylovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 660 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Big ups to the Sultan Sands team! They are passionate about customer centricity, and everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. They offer a variety of activities to cater for all guests, there is never a dull moment. The overall experience from the rooms, facilities, food, service and of course the sea is mind blowing!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's closer to the reception area,you have easy access to your room instead of having to negotaite the steep incline, whicg can be challenging especially during the day when it's hot.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nobs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

In our life we have traveled all over the places. In July we spent 5 days at Sultan Sands and we can state that really very rarely we have found an excellent service as the one found here.
Any small detail it looked like to be tailored for each single client, in other words it was not at all a "copy and paste" service.
About FOOD....EXCELLENT both quality and quantity!!!! ....nothing more to add...
About CLEANING .... I'm traveling in Africa since 12 years and I never ever seen a cleaner place ....bar, communal toilets, swimming pool, restaurants, beach, without mentioning the bungalow that was spotlessly cleaned every day !!!! The landscaped gardens were amazing and the walkways always clean from falling leaves.
About SECURITY.... I have never seen in my life an in-room spacious safe as in Sultan Sands...you can store even a laptop inside !!!
About ANIMATION....it was very nice and at the same time very discrete....you could get involved only if you wanted to, besides it was very nice to change dinner location every night.
For the football European cup final between Spain and Italy, it was really superb to prepare both Italian and Spanish typical food and all the waiters were dressing Italian and Spanish national football teams T-shirts.
You can barely find a better place !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 41Mario41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Everything is clean , the people are great just as the location , the food and the rooms !

I want to go Back !!!

Big thanks to beachboys Samuel ( small one with rasta's ) and Dennis , we had great trips with them !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValeryVergnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Agree with the signature gourmandesse. This is the place to stay when in Kiwengwa. Staff are extremly nice and serviceminded. They make a real good team together and they create a nice and homey atmosphere. Every meal was lovely. Lot´s of fantastic fruits. Would love to go back.
We had a holiday we´ll never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neon191car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A beautiful beach resort. The pool and sea being only a few yards apart. All of the staff very attentive and helpful. A fantastic place to relax.
The rooms were comfortable, spacious and kept clean. The "beach boys" were kept at bay by the Masai security guards otherwise they could have been a problem.
I've been to Africa before and I would say this resort was better than I'd experienced before. I would have liked to have been given the choice of an indoor restaurant but I should have researched the resort a little more in depth. I expect to be confronted by flies but find it hard to ignore them as others seem to be able to do. It did seem strange though that sealed pats of butter were in covered containers but "open" food left uncovered. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were not disappointed with the food/drinks on offer. I was however surprised that the soft drinks in the room mini bar were chargeable but not at the bars. We could have done with tea making facilities in the room as well.
Overall though, we had a great time and would recommend the Sultan Sands to anyone.
We are looking at a safari next year in Tanzania and will not hesitate in booking this hotel for a few days after.

Room Tip: All good but try for a room near to the pool and beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews