We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Sands Island Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Emsburen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent one week at Sultan Sands and it was well worth it! I don't think I've ever eaten so well in any holiday before!! Great friendly staff, not too busy and therefore very relaxing!
I can only confirm: we'd also love to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kawoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    178
    43
    13
    14
See reviews for
111
324
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Big ups to the Sultan Sands team! They are passionate about customer centricity, and everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. They offer a variety of activities to cater for all guests, there is never a dull moment. The overall experience from the rooms, facilities, food, service and of course the sea is mind blowing!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's closer to the reception area,you have easy access to your room instead of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nobs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

In our life we have traveled all over the places. In July we spent 5 days at Sultan Sands and we can state that really very rarely we have found an excellent service as the one found here.
Any small detail it looked like to be tailored for each single client, in other words it was not at all a "copy and paste" service.
About FOOD....EXCELLENT both quality and quantity!!!! ....nothing more to add...
About CLEANING .... I'm traveling in Africa since 12 years and I never ever seen a cleaner place ....bar, communal toilets, swimming pool, restaurants, beach, without mentioning the bungalow that was spotlessly cleaned every day !!!! The landscaped gardens were amazing and the walkways always clean from falling leaves.
About SECURITY.... I have never seen in my life an in-room spacious safe as in Sultan Sands...you can store even a laptop inside !!!
About ANIMATION....it was very nice and at the same time very discrete....you could get involved only if you wanted to, besides it was very nice to change dinner location every night.
For the football European cup final between Spain and Italy, it was really superb to prepare both Italian and Spanish typical food and all the waiters were dressing Italian and Spanish national football teams T-shirts.
You can barely find a better place !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 41Mario41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Everything is clean , the people are great just as the location , the food and the rooms !

I want to go Back !!!

Big thanks to beachboys Samuel ( small one with rasta's ) and Dennis , we had great trips with them !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValeryVergnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Agree with the signature gourmandesse. This is the place to stay when in Kiwengwa. Staff are extremly nice and serviceminded. They make a real good team together and they create a nice and homey atmosphere. Every meal was lovely. Lot´s of fantastic fruits. Would love to go back.
We had a holiday we´ll never forget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neon191car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A beautiful beach resort. The pool and sea being only a few yards apart. All of the staff very attentive and helpful. A fantastic place to relax.
The rooms were comfortable, spacious and kept clean. The "beach boys" were kept at bay by the Masai security guards otherwise they could have been a problem.
I've been to Africa before and I would say this resort was better than I'd experienced before. I would have liked to have been given the choice of an indoor restaurant but I should have researched the resort a little more in depth. I expect to be confronted by flies but find it hard to ignore them as others seem to be able to do. It did seem strange though that sealed pats of butter were in covered containers but "open" food left uncovered. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were not disappointed with the food/drinks on offer. I was however surprised that the soft drinks in the room mini bar were chargeable but not at the bars. We could have done with tea making facilities in the room as well.
Overall though, we had a great time and would recommend the Sultan Sands to anyone.
We are looking at a safari next year in Tanzania and will not hesitate in booking this hotel for a few days after.

Room Tip: All good but try for a room near to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed for a week there. The price and quality matched very well. Restaurants were good and staff vere friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3.0 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Royal Zanzibar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Property: Sultan Sands Island Resort
Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing