We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blu Marlin Village
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Located within one of the little villages on Zanzibar this was a lovely find. Blu Marlin offers all of the comforts of a big resort such as a nice pool, private beach, and lounging beds, at a very reasonable price. The rooms are clean and comfy and all have excellent air conditioning (a real must!) Breakfast and dinner which are included in the boarding price are wonderful. It is difficult not to gain weight with such yummy food and multiple courses. I will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank IndianaSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

The positive:
Clean, charming hotel in great location. The beach is nice and quiet, with only a few local kids running around and a kite surfing place next door. Looks like an ideal place to learn how to kite surf, with calm, shallow water and few people or boats. The swimming pool is also quite nice. We booked a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Island through the hotel for a half day, which was a good value.

The negative:
For us, the food was a bit expensive and the beer was too warm (I think the fridge was broken). Also, the A/C stopped working both nights we stayed there, but the ocean breeze helped. We had a very early checkout, trying to catch the 7 am ferry, and breakfast was promised to us but never delivered, so we left hungry.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bunk beds, which are nice for kids, but maybe not as nice for adults, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is a small place in a quiet place of Kiwenga. Good rooms with sea view (though quite small) and very clean.Small private balcony to feel the wind and browse internet freely.
No sellers will bother you on the beach since the owner does not want his customers to be disturbed.
There is a swimming pool.
Just in front of the hotel women grow seaweeds during low tide.
There is a small and comfortable hut on the beach where a professional masseuse can heal your muscles.
The restaurant unfortunately keeps on serving mostly italian food (pasta and things like that ...), but you can ask for something different and more appropriate for the climate and the place.
You can even have prawns and Lobster paying a little fee.
Excursions are managed by Eddy, a nice zanzibarian whose sole defect is that he tends to surcharge a little for his services.
I would suggest to the owners to put shampoo in the rooms and revise the menu of the restaurant in order to include more fish and vegetables instead of pasta. The breakfast too needs a consistent upgrade.

That said, though not being a luxury resort, the price is low, people are nice and the place has everything needed for a vacation by the sea.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

A lovely hotel on a beautiful beach. Great area, very quiet and peaceful!! The management were great- a really friendly Italian family. The staff were great too- really helpful- although sometimes there was a bit too much 'African time'! The hotel was very clean. The food was amazing- a starter, pasta dish, main (either fish or meat) and then desert for both lunch and dinner! Really good value. The breakfast was very good too. Asante Sana for a fantastic weekend!!!! We'll definitely be back, and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

.... loved it ... loved it ... loved it. The perfect hideaway, a dream beach away form the hustle and bustle of the major resorts, lovely little hotel with a family like atmosphere, spotless rooms, well maintained facilities.The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We chose the half board option and the dinners were great with a choice of fish, veggie or meat every day. Breakfast is simple and continental, but staff is happy to serve you an omlette if that is your choice. Thanks to the team for a week in paradise!!! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra_Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are a couple tried a relaxing, quiet and beautiful resort to spend two days of our holiday.
Fortunately we chose the Blue Marlin Village in Kiwengwa.
The staff is always available, welcoming and preparated.
Very good value for money for both the bar and the restaurant,excellent cuisine and varied.
Very cheap and delicious lobster dinner on the beach.
We will definitely return soon.

Mark and Rose

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Topa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had an amazing stay there.

Highlights: very very clean
Lovely bar area
Local boys working there are so lovely and helpful
Its around a 30second walk to the most beautiful peaceful beach i have ever seen.

Downside: do not pay 40euro to be dropped off to the port. Complete rip off sorry but that made me so angry. Get a taxi instead

Bring your own alcohal i nearly fainted when i saw the price of a drink

Would recommend this to everyone you will love it just barter well with a taxi, i paid around 18euros to taxi driver

Management need to be nicer to GUESTS

Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
3.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
26.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
26.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
464 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Marlin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Marlin Village

Address: Kumba Urembo | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#8 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $65 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blu Marlin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BluMarlin Village is in the most peaceful area of the splendid beach of Kiwengwa Zanzibar with its coconut palms and tropical plants not far away is the villafe of Kumba Orembo all around is a scenario of transparent crystalline water and a white beach where one can encounter children who live in the beach huts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Blu Marlin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Marlin Village Hotel
Blu Marlin Village Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing