We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hideaway”
Review of Blu Marlin Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blu Marlin Village
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

.... loved it ... loved it ... loved it. The perfect hideaway, a dream beach away form the hustle and bustle of the major resorts, lovely little hotel with a family like atmosphere, spotless rooms, well maintained facilities.The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We chose the half board option and the dinners were great with a choice of fish, veggie or meat every day. Breakfast is simple and continental, but staff is happy to serve you an omlette if that is your choice. Thanks to the team for a week in paradise!!! :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petra_Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are a couple tried a relaxing, quiet and beautiful resort to spend two days of our holiday.
Fortunately we chose the Blue Marlin Village in Kiwengwa.
The staff is always available, welcoming and preparated.
Very good value for money for both the bar and the restaurant,excellent cuisine and varied.
Very cheap and delicious lobster dinner on the beach.
We will definitely return soon.

Mark and Rose

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Topa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had an amazing stay there.

Highlights: very very clean
Lovely bar area
Local boys working there are so lovely and helpful
Its around a 30second walk to the most beautiful peaceful beach i have ever seen.

Downside: do not pay 40euro to be dropped off to the port. Complete rip off sorry but that made me so angry. Get a taxi instead

Bring your own alcohal i nearly fainted when i saw the price of a drink

Would recommend this to everyone you will love it just barter well with a taxi, i paid around 18euros to taxi driver

Management need to be nicer to GUESTS

Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon based on the price and the reviews on here but they are very misleading. At every stage we were required to pay more money. The lunch meals were extremely overpriced and we were ripped off on the pick up and drop off at the airport. The drinks are more expensive than we'd paid in london!

The room was fairly clean but there was limited water and the bedding was not completely clean. However the worst part was the food. The breakfast was toast and juice, nothing else really. For the evening we had to give our order in after breakfast but there was no menu and all we were offered was meat and chips every day. Even though we'd already paid for this we ended up eating in a different complex, which gave a three course meal for the same price as the meat and chips we had to have each day for lunch.

None of the staff spoke English, just Italian and they made us feel really unwelcome. We had chosen Zanzibar because we are keen scuba divers but the hotel didnt make any accomodations for us to have breakfast before we left (only 15 mins before breakfast officially opened at 8am) and becasue we were not there during the day they wouldnt make us dinner. The diving was amazing and if we had been able to save any more money we would have definately swapped hotels. Whatever you do DONT STAY HERE!!

Room Tip: just dont stay here you wont be made welcome. We were kicked out at 12 and driven to the airport 7 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Teoxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
3.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,678 reviews
26.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
26.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Coral Reef Beach Resort
Coral Reef Beach Resort
#5 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
464 reviews
6.8 mi away
Palumboreef Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Marlin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Marlin Village

Address: Kumba Urembo | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#8 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range: $65 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blu Marlin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BluMarlin Village is in the most peaceful area of the splendid beach of Kiwengwa Zanzibar with its coconut palms and tropical plants not far away is the villafe of Kumba Orembo all around is a scenario of transparent crystalline water and a white beach where one can encounter children who live in the beach huts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Blu Marlin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Marlin Village Hotel
Blu Marlin Village Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing