We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
94
17
9
2
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
94
17
9
2
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool a nice romantic dinner total peace and quiet charming hotel stayed days first row masai men comfortable rooms explore the island low tide ocean view our honeymoon relaxing holiday enjoyed our stay delicious food special thanks indian ocean
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 136 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2018

I’ve been with my wife on December. Everything was terrible, from the room, to the food, management and staff.

Room:

The decoration of the room is nice, but the bathroom is full of mold on the wall, and particularly the little pool in our bungalow didn’t work, the water was always dirty. The drainage was stocked. Impossible to take a bath in there.

Management:

The staff members were kind and smiling all the time, but they were a bit intrusive. Asking you 20 times a day if was everything ok on our stay. When we arrived, nobody helped us bringing our luggage down the stairs, and once we got almost at the middle, one guy came to help us. The managers looked a bit lost, they don’t have the perfect control of the Hotel and of the people. We saw few times workers discuss with them in the middle of the Hotel. The swimming pool is very big and looks directly to the sea, but there were points where the pool floor was breaking. The transport as well didn’t work properly. We had to wait few times half an hour for our taxi. Asking to the Manager why the driver was taking too long, his answer was always “is coming is coming”.

Restaurant:

Very slow to serve the food, from the breakfast, to the dinner. I also don’t understand why they made us order during the day what we wanted to eat for dinner. And even like this, we were waiting around one hour and one hour and half our food. The food was ok, but nothing exceptional, specially thinking on the time that we had to wait for it. The restaurant is on a cliff, but they didn’t have any protection at all for the wind. These days were very windy, and eat there was so annoying.

Very disappointing stay, this Hotel doesn’t have nothing of a 4 **** Hotel, which we paid for!!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamesul81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanbluu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zanbluu Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear customer.
Thank you for your assessment. We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations.
Indeed the private pool in your room did not work properly, sorry for the inconvenience.
Cleanliness is very important to us and the toilets and showers are always clean, if you had any doubts, you should have talked to the manager immediately to solve it.
Our staff tries to take care of the client with kindness and discretion, I regret that you perceive this as intrusive, we will talk to the staff.
Our food is highly praised by most of our customers, we work with high quality fresh produce. It is true that sometimes the waiting time is long because we offer very elaborate dishes, but we must tell you that this has been solved.
We regret that your taxi took too long, but taxis are not hotel property, we only arrange to order a taxi if the client requests it.

As for the wind, we are happy to inform you that we have already installed windbreakers for windy or rainy days.

Thank you for your comments that help us to improve.

Warm greetings from Zanbluu Beach Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for five days. What a roller coaster when expecting to check into a five star hotel ! We (4 pax .. the two of us plus our two sons age 21 and 19) booked the only villa in the resort. On the day of arrival we had 10 people running around after checking in. The private pool was to be painted (and filled the day after)...why did not this happen before our arrival ? Had two bathrooms in the one and only villa. Upon checking in one bathroom had no water supply and the other had a water leakage! Despite things being fixed we never reach the point where you could take a shower where you were able to
wash your hair from the top shower... no pressure ... Overall the villa was at a point which I will call it more than used and not up to date and absolutely not well kept! Mould on the walls and on the floors...We booked all inclusive. One thing to mention about this is that wine and drinks in all inclusive is bottom of the bottom... Why? We pay quite a lot for this ! Christmas peak season ! Main menu for breakfast did always include
any kind of eggs... out of stock as well as chicken, bacon, butter ...(minus chicken minus Cesar salad for lunch)... Staff NEEDS Education ! We had to learn them how to open a bottle of wine! Have to say that Susan in the bar does her outmost to overcome what ever, but that is not possible as long as management does not take responsibility! Your manager Maria showed up during the evenings. It’s just not good enough despite her being very kind. Somebody has to be around to teach the employees EVERY day during the day! Finally don’t expect to be able to use the beach for sunbathing and swimming. It’s rocky and because of low/high tide it’s not possible !!! Everything said The View from this place is and always will be amazing.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank christinepA356BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanbluu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zanbluu Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear Christine.
Thank you for your detailed comment.
We will comment on your stay:
First of all, Zanbluuu is a 4-star, not a 5-star.

The first day, when you arrived, the water in the private pool was being renewed, that's all.

You broke the doorknob and we fixed it immediately.

When you arrived, the Viila was just finished and it is new, it is impossible to find mold and I think you should not say that the Villa is old or lack of maintenance because you know it is not true, precisely this Villa was inaugurated in December, it was new and impeccable when you arrived.

You say that our staff needs education but we must also tell you that you even apologized to the manager for being rude to her.

Our Manager, who has been keeping an eye on you throughout your stay, has spoken to you countless times. He even went to show you how the shower faucet worked. We don't understand your comments. Logically, the staff also rests.

It is true that on the last day of your stay there was a problem with the food provider and some things were missing, but we kindly offered to prepare everything you wanted, you declined this offer.

The problem of water pressure was solved quickly.

We also remind you that in return we gave you a free excursion for your whole family, and you intentionally left without paying some drinks, the Late Check Out, or the tourist tax.

We understand and appreciate the constructive criticism, but not the criticism with the simple aim of doing harm without valuing the attention we paid to you and the work well done. It is also not necessary that for a single stay, you and your husband work so hard to write to put 2 bad comments in a row, we know that the comment before yours is also yours. The right thing to do would have been to also say all the details we had with you and that you left without paying for some services. You don't mention this.

Thanks again for helping us get better.

Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

Zanbluee is located in a beautiful area of Zanzibar and the resort has all the surroundings of being a place you do not want to leave.......but, it is so purely managed that it deserves no stars and no positive recommendations.

We arrived during the Christmas Holidays and was full of expectations with this new resort which had only been open for 6 month.

When we arrived, we had to wait for 3 hours to get our room, since it was not ready as plumbers, painters and cleaning staff was still working at the Villa to make it livable.

When we finally got our Villa, the water was not working in the bath room, and when they finally got the water running, the pressure coming out of the tap was so weak that no one could shower.

During our 5 days stay we experienced several times, that the kitchen were out of the most basic food products such as chicken, eggs, bacon, butter and other dishes which they had on the menu, despite the resort were full due to the holiday season, and it could not come as a surprise to whoever was handling the food purchase.

The staff were very friendly, despite their lack of experience and it was obvious that most of the restaurant staff had never done work in a restaurent before.

The bottom line is, that this Zanbluee is hopelessly bad managed and the price for staying there is light years from the quality they pride them self of having.

I am not going back.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank Charles M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanbluu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zanbluu Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear Charles
Thank you for your comments which I am sure will help us to improve.
We are glad that you liked our hotel and thank you for your comments about our beautiful facilities.
We did indeed have some problems with a food supplier, which caused us some inconvenience. This is already solved. Our foods are not frozen or pre-cooked, they are fresh products brought daily by our suppliers. We regret that this caused some problems in a few days of your stay.
We attach great importance to the opinions of our customers and improvements have been made in bugs so that they do not happen again.
We're sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Management works very hard every day to give the best service to our customers.
Thank you and a cordial greeting!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

If you stay for 3/4 days here, purely to relax and unwind, you'll love it. The staff are very friendly, the pool is big, the views are great and the rooms clean and tidy. But no matter how much management disagree, this a 3 star hotel pretending to be 4 star accommodation. The issues aren't huge, and are easily ignored for a few days, but we stayed 10 days and the amount we were paying to stay there, compared to the service provided, simply didn't match up.
4 Star hotels, for example, don't run out of pool towels 'because customers have taken their back to their rooms'. Having to take our room towels to the pool became pretty boring pretty quickly. Buy more towels.
Four star hotels don't run out of food every day: In 10 days a full breakfast menu was never available - they ran out of sausage (actually they ran out of meat, full stop), tomato, eggs and even butter. Again, over 2/3 days, not a problem, but after 10 days, a bit boring and certainly not a 4 star service.
There are other small things - the beach is only accessible at low tide and you have to wade through seaweed to get to it. Our room pool (which we payed a premium for) was pretty much unusable. The water was stagnant and didn't filter - although they did try and fix it on the day we left. The kitchen shuts after breakfast and doesn't open again until lunch etc etc.
But without doubt, the most frustrating issue is the attitude from management. There seems to be a trend on replies here to infer the customer is at fault, or mistaken.I don't need to look at the prices of other hotels to know you are charging too much for your service.
As I say, stay here for a few days as it's a great short stop location, but too many niggles to recommend this for any longer.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bulldozer96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanbluu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zanbluu Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear Customer.
Thank you for your comments which I am sure will help us to improve.
We are glad that you liked our hotel and thank you for your comments about our beautiful swimming pool and rooms.
We did indeed have some problems with a food supplier, which caused us some inconvenience. This is already solved. Our foods are not frozen or pre-cooked, they are fresh products brought daily by our suppliers. We regret that this caused some problems in a few days of your stay.
Management always responds to feedback and we always try to use it to improve possible bugs. We attach great importance to the opinions of our customers.
We're sorry we didn't live up to your expectations. Our hotel offers a service that many clients are very satisfied with, as you can see in other comments.

Thank you and a cordial greeting!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018

The setting is beautiful, the lobby, bar and restaurant sit on a high cliff, from where you can see the pool and the ocean. The bungalows are new (the hotel has only been open for 6 months) but surprisingly run down, which is mainly because they have not been well designed. There was mold already in our shower area (the floor was always wet as the drainige was not working), the toilet door did not close, there was mold in our bathroom sink, the mosquito nets are a joke with wholes that a rabbit could fit in etc. The individaul terraces are nice, but the furniture is only a hard wooden bench. We had our own hammock with us and we requested for some pillows for the bench so that it was possible to compfortable sit on it. The so called outdoor shower or bathtub is not usabe, as the walls around it are too short and give no privacy. There is no turn down service, which you would expect in a four star resort/ hotel.
The food in the restaurant was good and all staff were very friendly. In many occasions the service in the restaurant was fairly slow, once it took us 2,5 hours to eat lunch, of which 2 hours we mainly waited and 0,5 hours we ate.
I have found it usefull when a hotel like this provides a booklet in the room explaining and indicating key information. There was no such book and it was a bit cumbersome to get information on pretty much everything. I think it would increase their sales for execursions a lot if basic information (content, cost, and duration) on what execursions & diving possibilities they have on offer would be easily available for clients to read in their room and then ask for more information on bookings from the reception. Also basic information like laundry, lunch and dinner times etc could be in the book.
We were on all inclusive bases, and for the first two days it was a hassel trying to get information on what is included in the package and what not as the reception was telling one thing and the bar / restaurant another.
As said the staff was always nice and smiling, but they would benefit from a bit more experienced overside / management to get their work a bit better organised. During lunch and dinner the staff was running around, doing one thing, starting an other mid way through and forgetting the first thing which caused the delayes in the restaurant.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SusaMasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanbluu, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zanbluu Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Dear SusaMasa.
Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to write an opinion.
We're sorry we didn't meet your expectations and hope that if you visit us again, you'll see the improvements.
We have to tell you that all your comments are very useful to make improvements.
There are books with all the information in the rooms, perhaps by mistake, there were not in yours, but we are always at the disposal of our customers to help them in any doubt.
Also tell you that staff changes have been made and waiting time at the restaurant service is normal.
Thank you for your comments about our environment and staff.

Kind regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews