We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My husband and i stayed here Jan 2011 after Safari with Asilia properties through Tanzania (Sayari camp Olakira camp etc all fantastic with different things to offer) and although my review is late i would like to contribute because Matemwe is a beautiful peaceful place that truely deserves good reviews, the poverty and lack of education around this area is very sad so for the resort to be run so successfully without being too OTT is a testament that they are trying to respect the immediate surroundings, but cater to us who are lucky enough to go on expensive holidays. Yes there are the occasional power outings etc but if you come to Africa expecting first world luxuries every moment of the day then you shouldnt be here and you will miss what is truely special about this place. The beach is a public area but we loved that because you felt more immersed in the community as you would watch the fishermen head out every morning at dawn from your room on the cliffs, very special, and yes one reviewer put that there were fecies on the beach but that may have even been the local cows that wander around on the beachfront occasionally! It is Africa! The rooms are very down to earth, very clean but still have a very special vibe and at night the breeze flows through the rooms on the cliff top and its sooo peaceful. I would highly recommend this experience as it is in my heart always, we laid by the pool each day, ate great fresh food each day and just enjoyed the view. Matemwe contributes to the local community through differnt programmes to better the health and education of the people in the nearest villages and a portion of your stay does go to that charity, so even though some people think its expensive at the same time Asilia (who own Matemwe) is a company who gives back and tries to be as eco friendly as possible. There are no tv's, wifi is by the pool at the bar if you need but its truely an escape and makes you realise how lucky we all are. The staff are kind and accommodating they make the best Mojito's and you just may walk away from there a new and better person. :)

Room Tip: Do bring the bug repellent and stingo's there are creepy crawlys and bee's sometimes around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LELEVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    49
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
215
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Matemwe (some agents call it Matemwe Bungalows... this was confusing when searching on TA) for 4 nights- the first stop of our honeymoon.
Food - we are food geeks. All in all I was quite impressed relative to expectations. There was an abundance of produce and variety at each meal. At times the proteins were overcooked, and some items were bland but there were some real highlights...octopus stew, savory cheesecake and some dinners that were downright lovely. The view from the dining room is incomparable. The "Retreats" are also part of this resort... more expensive but removed from the ocean if you are worried about the wave noise.

Accommodations - as one other reviewer noted, the waves can be noisy and the bungalow always felt the impact of being in the midst of the salty ocean air... this is not the Maui Ritz with fancy sheets and air conditioning, BUT it was rustically charming. The view is amazing, watching sunsets from your private hammock, but bring ear plugs to dampen the sound of the crashing waves.

Activities- this is great for place to have a lazy/relaxing time. If you want to be more active, you are at the mercy of the tides. Check in early with the staff and find out the best time if you have your heart set on using the kayaks or reef walking or swimming. We did the "sand bar" excursion and it was one of the TOP highlights of our trip.

Staff- I found the staff to be quite attentive. The bartenders are slow everywhere in africa but you're on holiday... there is no rush. We ended up staying at 3 Asilia properties and would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank machupicchubound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Direct Marketing Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Matemwe Bungalows actually used to be our former name, but has changed to Matemwe Main Lodge not too long ago. This might have caused the confusion for you to find us. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward welcoming you again another time!

Kind regards,
Marleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

What a lovely place, no noise, no cars, no touts.
The beach is extraordinary with it's old fashion sailings boats and totally safe for the kids.
A very nice stay for discernings visitors.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Kind-Landlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We were booked by a travel agent here for our honeymoon. The biggest problem is that, even though they market themselves as a beach resort, you can't go to the beach. The water is choppy, it's incredibly windy, and you have to swim around fishing boats. And you can't leave your stuff unattended on the beach and there's human feces on the beach so the water's not clean. Another big problem is that the waves crashed into the cliff adjacent to the bungalow at night so loudly we couldn't sleep. Another problem: the staff, with the exception of a couple people, was unattentive. We told them it was our honeymoon and they literally did nothing. Every other hotel we stayed in in Tanzania was amazing in that regard. We got special treatment from them in honor of our honeymoon. Not Matemwe. The pool is small and cold and it's so windy it's no fun to sit by it. And the food's mediocre. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lzskillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Marketing Manager at Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always striving to improve our levels of service & offerings, so we appreciate any review, whether positive or negative as it helps us grow.

Just on three points:

• The beach is public, like all beaches in Zanzibar. But for comfort and convenience, we sweep a portion of the beach daily (closest to the hotel) to reduce chances such as that you encountered. What you encountered was unfortunate, but it is the exception and not the rule. Our staff are have been made aware of this aspect and will be more vigilant to try and avoid this happening again.
• Thank you for the feedback on our staff attitude and food. We have been receiving positive feedback on this of late (see other reviews on Tripadvisor), but appreciate your perspective. We have taken your comments to heart and will endeavour to improve on it.
• Due to you checking out early with little warning we were unable to provide something special that we had planned for you.

A last point for potential guests who may be looking to visit us and are reading this review and response, is that sometimes a hotel and a particular guest just are not suited for whatever reason. Please feel free to direct questions or queries regarding this review, or any other, we will gladly answer it. We wish the guest who wrote this review well with their future travels and we hope to see new readers soon.

Best Regards,

Gordie Owles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Just back from a fantastic week in Matemwe after safari for our honeymoon. Truly excellent experience with a back to nature/ eco friendly feel. Resort features an exclusive feel (most days we only saw a couple of other guests) and beautiful gardens, pool area's and lagoon. Food and wine (mostly from S.Africa) were an unexpected highlight of the holiday and we looked forward to every meal which would not be out of place in a top city restaurant. Service and Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was the wind (we believe this is only relevant at this time of year) which was relatively strong when the tide was coming in, unfortunately due to the nature of the rooms you couldn't escape this even with shutters down - but please don't be put off by this, the positives out way this minor negative!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiirstii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

stayed here for a few nights recently and had a great time in the matemwe bungalows. the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. the bungalow we stayed in was gorgeous and was cleaned thoroughly every night. there were lots of activities planned during the day, some free some you had to pay for. i really enjoyed the food, the changing menu and fantastic choice meant we looked forward to eating there every day!! the only thing negative we found about the stay was at night there wasn't much to do. we stayed in another lodge like this in fiji and there were different things to do most nights and it just meant that you didn't have only the bar as the only option at night. but other than that we really enjoyed it and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bungaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Spent 5 nights after doing a weeks safari on the mainland. Really great location for R&R & also for diving at the nearby Mnemba atoll. The rooms are very nice & comfy & the staff are all very friendly & helpful. Good food & lovely grounds & amenities. Recommend doing a tour of Stone Town & also one of the spice farms. Good ending to a fantastic holiday in Tanzania. Take your mosquito repellent though! The mozzies here are fierce & hungry! Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
7.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
9.4 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
17.5 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#3 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa

Property: Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa
Address: | Matemwe Beach, Matemwe 10000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant yet relaxed Matemwe, one of the first lodges in Zanzibar, has perfected the tropical island experience. Perched on an outcrop overlooking a shallow coral fringed lagoon on the quieter northeast coast of Zanzibar, Matemwe’s peaceful location and famed relaxed atmosphere, makes it the ideal place to unwind. Guests quickly ease into the laid-back rhythm of island life, planning their day around the tides and their mood. The relaxed daily routines of Matemwe’s guests include enjoying fresh seafood, poolside cocktails, massages or simply hanging out in a hammock. The lodge has plenty on offer for the more active with superb diving and snorkeling off the renowned Mnembe Atoll; a highlight for many. Built from local materials and surrounded by beautiful lush gardens, each of the 12 spacious suites has a private veranda with a hammock and sofa and expansive views of the Indian Ocean with its constantly changing hues of blue. Here you can watch the fishermen head out every morning at dawn or listen to the songs of the village women as they harvest seaweed. The large bathrooms have both a deep bathtub and walk-in shower and all beds are enclosed by mosquito nets. The open-air restaurant sits just above the sea and has a tranquil lounge area with beautiful views of the palm fringed beach and gently rocking dhows. Seafood is the specialty of the house, with all produce bought daily from the local markets. Lunch is a buffet offering a delicious mix of African and European flavours. Dinner offers a choice of main courses with fish, meat and vegetarian options. Matemwe has a multi-level swimming pool surrounded with lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Freshly mixed cocktails are served at the poolside bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matemwe Main Lodge, Asilia Africa Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Bungalows
Matemwe Lodge, Asilia Africa Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing