We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great relaxation for end of safari, or anytime!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Marine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great relaxation for end of safari, or anytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are a family of 5 who stayed for 3 nights over the Christmas to New Year bridge following a week of safari. We visited Stonetown on arrival by plane in Zanzibar for a couple hours, which was adequate and then arrived at the resort after dark. The morning surprised us with the amazing view of the clear ocean from our balcony, a pleasant walk along the beach to the beautiful white sand beach, and a short boat ride out for nice snorkeling on the reef. Having the dive center on site is a plus, especially if you want to learn to scuba dive. Though the resort was at full capacity, the only time we felt it was a bit crowded was the wait for our meal. The service staff was excellent and the food was quite nice. I would definitely recommend this location for anyone who does not need active night life and just the beauty of the ocean side.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank K5travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    32
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
84
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were 3 nights in the Sunshine Marine Lodge and enjoyed it in all parts. Friendly staff; nice, clean rooms; great pool, excellent food. Its a nice place to calm down and to get rid off the busy life. The beach during low tide invites for long walks and during flood to snorkel. A snorkeling trip to Mnemba was perfectly organized with the divine point team and they reacted professional when I was biten by a jellyfish/fire coral. They were suddenly prepared with vinegar and antihistaminic creme to treat my pain. Thanks a lot for this!
The Sunshine Marine Lodge is definitely a great place to stay on Zanzibar!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinchen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a fantastic end to a Safari. The place is a small little paradise at the end of a dirt road. The food was perfect and the rooms are very nice. I was a bit unsure since there was no AC, but I can attest that there is no need for it. The room was comfortable for our entire stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Panorama Suite. It was very nice and very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here last week and it is such a beautiful location and the attention to detail of the owner and staff really sets it apart in my opinion, from a lot of the other hotels on the island. I have been coming back and forth to Zanzibar for some time now and many places begin to feel the same, but this one is really special. The views, the lovely food, the attentive and helpful staff, the diving... It was all pretty much perfect. Please note that this hotel is a long way from anywhere, so you have to accept that you're pretty much staying here for the duration. It's absolutely worth it though and there's virtually untouched by tourist beach just a five minute drive away where you seem to be sharing with the fisherman and no one else...

Room Tip: I would ideally like the beach front lodges if I had the choice, but it looked like they all had wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyHapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This new lodge is located on a magnificent part of the island with a breathtaking view. The staff are friendly and the rooms are lovely. However, it is an hour and a half rocky taxi ride from pretty much anything. I recommend it if you really want to escape from everyone because the only other people you will see are the few other guests. Also the restaurant prices are in dollars and not very good value for money but having said that the food isn't bad. I would recommend a day or two here if you are keen to see more of the island, eat local food and go on day trips.There are no other restaurants or lodges closeby and we even found day trips for less than the hotel offered elsewhere so just keep that in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived in Zanzibar after 3 weeks on the road and ready to relax. We couldn't have picked a better spot!! Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful - the food was delicious and the service fantastic. Our room was gorgeous with an incredible view of the Indian Ocean and a private island. I felt as if I had stepped onto a tropical island movie set when we arrived. The facilities were spotless, the architecture and gardens stunning and no one else around! The dive shop was great and very accomodating - we had a great morning snorkeling. can't say enough about this beautiful spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bc_sandy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

It is my privilege and pleasure to write the review for this magnificent place. Or rather, I should say: magical place.
For the first time in many years, I felt completely relaxed and "out of reality", a kind of time-travel back to the time when the clock was nice toy and nothing more (I hope You know what I mean...)

Let me explain: the hotel is located "in a middle of nowhere" with no buildings in neighborhood at all, so there is nothing like noise, rush etc. Just a seaside (and btw, good snorkeling and diving place!) which is matched by hotel. They complement each other, small bungalows give space and chance of being close to the nature.
The hotel itself is well-matched by the crew, very helpful and always smiling - they are there to help You.
The next element, restaurant is au pair with the hotel and crew, the dishes are very good at their minimum, and if You hit catch of the day, Your feeling and eval most probably will move to EXCELLENT as in our case ;)

Last but not least, Dive Point Zanzibar which is available onsite deserves a separate review but to make the full hotel review, it is also great place with great staff supporting Your watersport activities.

All in all, we were really unhappy leaving the place and most probably we'll be back, hopefully soon!

ps. we were lucky enough to stay there when the hotel was almost empty, but this is not a place for "all-inclusive-disco-techno-noiZe-afficionados" and I hope it will stay like it is now, a UNIQUE SILENT HARBOUR that lets You totally relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
9.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
8.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
4.0 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
3.6 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Marine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Marine Lodge

Property: Sunshine Marine Lodge
Address: Muyuni - Matemwe, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Marine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated 20min. far away from Matemwe, just in front of the beautiful Mnemba Atoll and near the unspoiled Muyuni Beach. Surrounded by a wild bush (local flora), Sunshine Marine Lodge is the ideal location to relax, enjoy the pure nature and the Dive Point diving center's activities (diving, snorkeling, dive courses), far away from the mass tourism and huge properties "all inclusive". The Lodge disposes of 3 outdoor pools overlooking the Ocean and Mnemba Atoll as well the Restaurant and Bar. Guests can choose from "a' la carte menu" tasty dishes from local and international cuisine, different all the days and cooked only with fresh ingredients and lovely care. Half or Full board are provided on request. As located on a rocky cliff, the wooden jetty gives the chance to reach the sea and swim or, on the low tide, do a nice promenade in the sea bottom and discover creeks, wild fauna or reach Muyuni Beach (700mt on foot or 15 minutes by bike). Our diving center provide for special reef shoes and mountain bikes are available at the reception, for free. All the bungalows are within a lush and colored garden. Bedrooms have an African modern design, with sea view, from the private garden with veranda or the terrace, all equipped with outdoor furniture to chilling out in privacy. King size bed with mosquito net, desk, stone bench, bathroom with shower, safe, 3 fans (no a/c and TV), are the main features in all the categories. Family, friends or little groups are welcome thanks to the huge Panorama Suites, suitable up to 4 people or extra/twin beds available in most of the other rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Marine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Marine Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing