We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piece of paradise!”
Review of Zanzibar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zanzibar House
Ranked #1 of 9 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Piece of paradise!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This place was so excellent I don't even know where to start. My husband and I were looking for somewhere quiet to relax after climbing Kilimanjaro and oh man this place was perfect! Its right on the beach and has a little private section for hotel guests only for extra seclusion. The rooms are super cute most with beach views. It was advertised as a "half board" on expedia which seems crazy because it included breakfast (with homemade passion fruit jam - so tasty), fruit at 11am, coffee/tea/biscuits at 4pm, appies at 7pm and then a 4 course supper at 8 - the most delicious Italian food I've had including homemade gelato. There's even an onsite masseuse on the beach - so perfect!

The owners are what really make this place special. They told us when we arrived to treat it like our house and they really meant it. I said to my husband one day over dinner that Maxine felt like the Italian grandpa I never had who spoiled us rotten everyday with cookies, ice cream, mystery chocolate things. He took care of everything we needed including arranging snorkelling excursions, mailing postcards, airport transfers. All so easy.

Its a little pricy for Africa but I think its totally worth it given the amazing service and experience. If I'm ever back on Zanzibar, I'll definitely be returning to Zanzibar house! I t was small and quiet and personal and perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mblsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    25
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
81
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Holy Smokes... did we have a great time at the Zanzibar House. My wife and I and our 2 sons (ages 12 and 10) stayed there June 17-22, 2013 and had a great time!! The owners are the greatest couple and bent over backward to make us feel comfortable and welcomed. We were cooked a 4 course meal EVERY evening, which was 5-star restuarant quality and breakfast every morning was GREAT. The view of the ocean was perfect - postcards could not even compare. if you dont want ocean there is a great pool instead. All means are served with a GREAT ocean view. The food, the view, the accomodation were all better than we could of imagined was possible on a family budget!! BUT THE BEST OF ALL was the owner, him and his wife were just plain awesome. When our tour guide for a Stone Town tour fell through, he volunteered to do it for us himself, he arranged all our excursions and even packed sac lunches for our boys (on the house) in case they didnt like any of the "african food." It was truly, truly a great place - my highest recommendation is not enough! We loved it, our boys loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was there in June with my son. A small, organized belief. A fantastic location, on a very large and white beach. The rooms are spacious and equipped with every comfort, the food is excellent, with a hint of Zanzibar and an Italian touch. Maxi and Georgia welcome us with great care and were always ready to meet our needs. It 's really a paradise that is worth checking out!
We'll come back there soon :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixy396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I just came back from Zanzibar where we had a lovelly expereance at Zanzibar House.
The staff was helpfull and friendly.
The room was spacious withe an amazing terrace above the sea.
The food simple and in the same time a true experience about local cocine.
Thank all employed who provided us this amazing time.

Many regards
Rubens and Cusc

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Zanzibar Hotel in March 2013. This is a new hotel which is beautiful and has a lot of really nice extras. Beautiful Seaview rooms with a swinging canopy, slippers and robes, pool, ac, breakfast and dinner included. Georgia (the owners daughter) is so accommodating and nice. The food was very good. The dinner is a 4 course meal which is delicious but a lot of food. If you aren't a big eater you may want to let Georgia know and she can bring you 2 courses instead of 4, whichever you like. She is very easy going. While you are there I would recommend going to Mnemba Island for snorkeling or diving, it's gorgeous and a quick 20 minute drive from the hotel. Ask Georgia and she can arrange it for you. Also get a massage there, it's on the beach and the Pili does a great job and its a good price. ( she is very strong if you want a deep tissue massage) We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Get the Seaview room, they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdiotsAbroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to tale a chance on this new place even though there weren't many reviews when we booked. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Georgia, the Italian owners daughter, was a wonderful hostess and was so helpful. First, we had arranged a reasonably priced transfer from Stone Town using her driver and she allowed us to pay some extra and he took us to the Jozani forest on the way, saving us time and money from doing it as a separate excursion. Then when we arrived at lunch time she prepared us a free pasta lunch. We had booked a triple room as we were traveling with our adult son, but the hotel was quite empty, so she let our son use a beautiful sea view room at no extra charge. She arranged a wonderful snorkel trip for us around Mnemba Island. We were on half board, which was plenty as in addition to breakfast, there was fruit in the late morning, tea at 5, appetizers at 7 and a 4 course meal at 8. And the food was delicious-- count on Italians to have some great eating. Still thinking about the crab pasta and homemade gnocchi. The decor of this boutique hotel is really nice, and I enjoyed the swinging bed on our spacious balcony. The only thing not so perfect was all the seaweed on this stretch of beach, but they can't do anything about that. We enjoyed the swimming pool and relaxing on the lounge beds under cabanas near the beach. This is a quiet place. We took some nice walks and enjoyed watching the nearby village life, but mostly just relaxed and enjoyed this peaceful place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Zanzibar House by a great stroke of luck before it had officially opened. We were offered a warm welcome and a beautiful room with a view. The food was excellent, the service friendly and the mood just completely relaxed. Maxi and Miriam have a great philosophy about the place, keeping it informal, casual and unscheduled.

The outdoor spa was a particular highlight and worth a daily visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
1.7 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
434 reviews
13.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
12.6 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,517 reviews
12.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
603 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar House

Property: Zanzibar House
Address: Matemwe, Matemwe PO BOX 3085, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar House is a 7 room privately owned and ran boutique hotel situated in the beautiful location of Matemwe on the North East coast of the island, about 40km from Stone Town.The hotel opened its doors in December 2012. The materials used in the construction are found in Zanzibar, with a traditional Makuti roof, decorated with Maritaki patterns, in harmony with the nature and not to disrupt the beautiful landscape. Zanzibar House offers its guests 7 rooms. 5 Rooms with sea view and 2 have views over the rich vegetation that surrounds the area. Four posters Queen size beds in every room. Extra beds and baby cots are available upon request. Satellite TV, complimentary WIFI, minibar, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities are few of the amenities found in the rooms. Each and every room has a large terrace from where to enjoy the breathtaking views.The restaurant offers delicacies of international and local cuisine with extra care put into the selection of the produce, respecting the seasons and what is available in the market. The full licensed bar offers a selection of local beers, world reknown spirits brands, cocktails and much more all to be enjoyed in the porch overlooking the Indian Ocean. During the day guests are pampered by the carefully picked staff and presented with nibbles to accompany the passing hours; seasonal fruit skewers, spiced tea or coffee in the afternoon, home made savory or sweet treats according to the inspiration of the chef. Special efforts were made in choosing and making of the decorative details found across the house. All the doors were made with coconut wood, found in plentiful supply on the island; the wood was carved by a skilled carpenter in Stone Town with traditional Zanzibar motives, the floors are made of Galana, a local stone, the material used for the walls and structure is called Choka, the island's version of cement. A full menu of massages and treatments available all day along and tailor made solutions, such as custom made excursions, insiders tips to fully and responsably experience the magic of the island make of Zanzibar House an oasis of peace and tranquility, the perfect destination where to get rid of the stress of everyday's life and regenerate the senses with attentive to detail service never losing the essence and the warmth of African hospitality to make you feel truly welcomed at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Zanzibar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar House Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing