We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar House...the PARADISE on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zanzibar House
Ranked #1 of 11 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Zanzibar House...the PARADISE on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was there in June with my son. A small, organized belief. A fantastic location, on a very large and white beach. The rooms are spacious and equipped with every comfort, the food is excellent, with a hint of Zanzibar and an Italian touch. Maxi and Georgia welcome us with great care and were always ready to meet our needs. It 's really a paradise that is worth checking out!
We'll come back there soon :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixy396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    21
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
71
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

My fiance and I just came back from Zanzibar where we had a lovelly expereance at Zanzibar House.
The staff was helpfull and friendly.
The room was spacious withe an amazing terrace above the sea.
The food simple and in the same time a true experience about local cocine.
Thank all employed who provided us this amazing time.

Many regards
Rubens and Cusc

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Zanzibar Hotel in March 2013. This is a new hotel which is beautiful and has a lot of really nice extras. Beautiful Seaview rooms with a swinging canopy, slippers and robes, pool, ac, breakfast and dinner included. Georgia (the owners daughter) is so accommodating and nice. The food was very good. The dinner is a 4 course meal which is delicious but a lot of food. If you aren't a big eater you may want to let Georgia know and she can bring you 2 courses instead of 4, whichever you like. She is very easy going. While you are there I would recommend going to Mnemba Island for snorkeling or diving, it's gorgeous and a quick 20 minute drive from the hotel. Ask Georgia and she can arrange it for you. Also get a massage there, it's on the beach and the Pili does a great job and its a good price. ( she is very strong if you want a deep tissue massage) We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Get the Seaview room, they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdiotsAbroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We decided to tale a chance on this new place even though there weren't many reviews when we booked. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. Georgia, the Italian owners daughter, was a wonderful hostess and was so helpful. First, we had arranged a reasonably priced transfer from Stone Town using her driver and she allowed us to pay some extra and he took us to the Jozani forest on the way, saving us time and money from doing it as a separate excursion. Then when we arrived at lunch time she prepared us a free pasta lunch. We had booked a triple room as we were traveling with our adult son, but the hotel was quite empty, so she let our son use a beautiful sea view room at no extra charge. She arranged a wonderful snorkel trip for us around Mnemba Island. We were on half board, which was plenty as in addition to breakfast, there was fruit in the late morning, tea at 5, appetizers at 7 and a 4 course meal at 8. And the food was delicious-- count on Italians to have some great eating. Still thinking about the crab pasta and homemade gnocchi. The decor of this boutique hotel is really nice, and I enjoyed the swinging bed on our spacious balcony. The only thing not so perfect was all the seaweed on this stretch of beach, but they can't do anything about that. We enjoyed the swimming pool and relaxing on the lounge beds under cabanas near the beach. This is a quiet place. We took some nice walks and enjoyed watching the nearby village life, but mostly just relaxed and enjoyed this peaceful place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in Zanzibar House by a great stroke of luck before it had officially opened. We were offered a warm welcome and a beautiful room with a view. The food was excellent, the service friendly and the mood just completely relaxed. Maxi and Miriam have a great philosophy about the place, keeping it informal, casual and unscheduled.

The outdoor spa was a particular highlight and worth a daily visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was there the second week of January, the place is new and the staff is great and very welcoming. Everything was clean and the room was large with a big terrace with amazing view. The Hotel organize different excursions but I prefer to relax and enjoying the place. Definitely a very nice hotel, the location is just perfect and the restaurant is very good. I will come back very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are all nice and large. The view is amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed 2 weeks this January. The place just opened and it's great, the staff is really nice and welcoming. The room had a huge terrace facing the ocean and a swinging chair where I spent several hours reading and sleeping.
We went to Stone Town a couple of times and we did a few excursions organized by them but for the rest we stayed at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
3.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
13.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
2.1 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar House

Property: Zanzibar House
Address: Matemwe | Matemwe Kilimajuu, Matemwe PO BOX 3085, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar House is a 7 room privately owned and ran boutique hotel situated in the beautiful location of Matemwe on the North East coast of the island, about 40km from Stone Town.The hotel opened its doors in December 2012. The materials used in the construction are found in Zanzibar, with a traditional Makuti roof, decorated with Maritaki patterns, in harmony with the nature and not to disrupt the beautiful landscape. Zanzibar House offers its guests 7 rooms. 5 Rooms with sea view and 2 have views over the rich vegetation that surrounds the area. Four posters Queen size beds in every room. Extra beds and baby cots are available upon request. Satellite TV, complimentary WIFI, minibar, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities are few of the amenities found in the rooms. Each and every room has a large terrace from where to enjoy the breathtaking views.The restaurant offers delicacies of international and local cuisine with extra care put into the selection of the produce, respecting the seasons and what is available in the market. The full licensed bar offers a selection of local beers, world reknown spirits brands, cocktails and much more all to be enjoyed in the porch overlooking the Indian Ocean. During the day guests are pampered by the carefully picked staff and presented with nibbles to accompany the passing hours; seasonal fruit skewers, spiced tea or coffee in the afternoon, home made savory or sweet treats according to the inspiration of the chef. Special efforts were made in choosing and making of the decorative details found across the house. All the doors were made with coconut wood, found in plentiful supply on the island; the wood was carved by a skilled carpenter in Stone Town with traditional Zanzibar motives, the floors are made of Galana, a local stone, the material used for the walls and structure is called Choka, the island's version of cement. A full menu of massages and treatments available all day along and tailor made solutions, such as custom made excursions, insiders tips to fully and responsably experience the magic of the island make of Zanzibar House an oasis of peace and tranquility, the perfect destination where to get rid of the stress of everyday's life and regenerate the senses with attentive to detail service never losing the essence and the warmth of African hospitality to make you feel truly welcomed at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Zanzibar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar House Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing