We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matemwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing place to stay”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Matemwe Bandas is such a lovely place. I've just come back to the UK and I'm sorely missing sitting in the shady bar eating delicious food and looking out onto paradise...

A few things stood out for me - you expect a beautiful, white sand beach, palm trees, azure sea etc - and you certainly get that in spades in Zanzibar. The things that set the Bandas aside are the friendly service, the amazing food and the stylish decor.

The staff are so friendly, and no effort is too much to ensure you are happy: breakfast on the beach, cocktails on the raised terrace, dinner on your balcony - done. We had several trips all conveniently arranged for us: trip to Stone Town, Snorkelling, Jungle visit to see the monkeys.

I have to make a special mention of the food - we travelled with two young boys and they catered for us and them amazingly. I was concerned, based on my experiences of a hotel in Kenya, that the food would be uninspiring. But here everything on the menu is amazing. The pasta dishes were al dente, the local curries amazingly delicious, and the hand made chips could win awards. Not just acceptable - amazing. Several times we had dishes not on the menu - grilled fish straight from the beach, chicken milanese (the chef has a classical italian training).

The place is stunning visually - complete eco-chic with local materials combined with high quality furnishings and accessories.

This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We really appreciate your taking the time to post your detailed impressions of your family's stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. We are very pleased that you had such a good time and we hope to see you all again in the near future.

All the very best,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
46
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Matemwe Banda was absolutely fabulous; best part were the owners Tom and Chichi. A bit expensive but worth the value. Make sure to enjoy your breakfast on your porch overlooking the beach. Rooms are absolutely breathtaking- rustic, elegant, and simply beautiful.
Note, this hotel is an hr away from stone town and getting to and fro can be a bit expensive; but apart from that, its absolutely to die for. You will love it.

Room Tip: Any room on the beach is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic impressions of your time with us at Matemwe Bandas. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future.

All the very best,
Tom & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Matemwe bandas and I wish it had been a week. Beautifully simple rooms, private verandas onto the beach, unobtrusive yet efficient and friendly staff, a small but well stocked bar... very hard to find fault, but am prepared to go back and give it a go. Tom is a perfect host - he makes the place seem like a family home, but only seems to appear, as if by magic, when you need him. Go with a book and maybe a friend - nothing else needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sputnik67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very positive feedback about your stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. We really appreciate it.

All the very best,

Tom & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I did our delayed honeymoon in August that started with a safari in Tanzania, went to Stone Town for a couple days, then we had 5 days to find a nice remote beach. The reviews on here for Matemwe Bandas were glowing and the surrounding story sounded unique and special and everything...to the point where it all sounded TOO good.

We put our skepticism aside and gave it a shot, and while for the sake of the Bandas I'd like to give them a 3 or 4 star review so they aren't absolutely perfect on here (sometimes too good can be a deterrent in itself) - I can't in good faith do that. I've given 5 stars for much less and they deserve to be at the top of any scale.

The layout and the aesthetics of the property are truly outstanding. It feels incredibly comfortable from the beginning and Tom is a superb host. It's like staying at a friend of a friend's guest cottage who welcomes you as family. Always popping by to say hi or help but never interfering with our time, the staff is everything you'd hope for.

We didn't find the food to be particularly good on our safari or in Stone Town, so the quality at the Bandas was a welcome surprise. The beach is not as swimmable as you'd hope but we felt we'd gladly take the remoteness and rough beauty over the touristy beaches you can find around the rest of the island. As long as you know what you're in for you'll be happy.

We took a chance and were rewarded with an unbelievably memorable stay for our honeymoon. We only get one of those so we're glad we didn't mess it up.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the beach facing bandas and wouldn't have traded it for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much Tom for taking the time to post your much appreciated impressions of Matemwe Bandas. We were delighted you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon and really hope to see you both again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I recently returned from a three day trip to zanzibar and we stayed in matemwe bandas, the experience was simply amazing and in many ways humbling infact,starting with the kindness of the owner(Tom) and his lovely georgous wife, the efficiency and availabity of staff,the beauty and comfort of the rooms with a fusion of both tradition and mordern blend, the location of the rooms right at the front of the sea with a crazy breath taking morning view and sea breeze to wake up to for a life time, the internet super fast actually better than my friends back home, it worked for me just perfect and my relationship with my phone was much catered for.
I honestly couldn't find anything to complain about, definitely five stars all way and it was the best Zanzibar experience ever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Irene541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much Irene for your glowing impressions of your stay at Matemwe Bandas. We are delighted that you chose us and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

All the very best,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have travelled all around Zanzibar and had a lovely warm welcome from Tom and his staff - all really friendly.

The first morning we were woken very earlier with village men shouting and could not get back to sleep, we mentioned this to Tom and it was swiftly addressed - rest of the stay was peaceful.

Beautiful beach and swimming pool with more than enough beds to laze about. Plenty of bars along the stretch of the beach. Our friend visited us from another hotel and loved all the natural touches around the room.

Would recommend this hotel for peaceful relaxing time. Thank you

Room Tip: All three rooms on the beach are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeSpyaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is very kind of you to take the time to write up your positive feedback about your stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. Thank you so much. As regular visitors to Zanzibar, we very much hope to see you both again soon!

With warm regards,

Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a last minute trip .. (from London) .. to a most idyllic spot on the north east coast of Zanzibar. The hotel was the perfect distillation of understated luxury .. completely in synch with its natural surroundings but with all the creature comforts one could ask for.

The bandas are directly on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach that I have visited .. and the service was attentive but discrete at the same time.

I loved the fact that the environment was intimate and cosy but with enough space to enjoy the freedom to do as one pleased. Where other hotels might have tried to squeeze as many rooms as possible into the space, Matemwe Bandas really placed the guest experience first.

It was well worth the trip. I couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deok R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your very encouraging impressions of your time with us at Matemwe Bandas. We are delighted that you had such a good stay and we really hope to see you again soon when you are next in Zanzibar.

All the very best,

Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
449 reviews
5.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
59 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar

Property: Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar
Address: Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu | Closed until further notice, Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL IS CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE Matemwe Bandas is as faithful to its natural surroundings and to the highest levels of luxury as we are to millennia old traditions of local master craftsmanship. We are also a fair trade business that is substantially locally owned, while every member of our team (including our four young apprentices) hails from the village of Matemwe around our property.With private direct access from your verandah, Matemwe’s breathtaking beach is only a step away. You can walk along its majestic palmed-lined breadth on dazzlingly white, super fine sand basking in the brilliant tropical sunshine for miles in both directions, only occasionally coming across other people. Nestling on the beach's edge in rustic exclusivity, our luxury coco wood and palm thatch bungalows share an elegant 11m x 5m swimming fresh water pool and sandy, decked and canopy-covered communal areas. We offer butler service and a la carte local & international fusion cuisine. We also provide high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, laundry service and mineral water in the bandas for free to all residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing