We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matemwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar
2 reviews
“Superb!!!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Amazing at all levels. Matemwe Bandas is just amazing. We spent an amazing stay and the best are the family who takes care of the place. Chici, Amore just no words to express how grateful we are because you made our stay one of the most special ever. The attention to detail in a natural and warm environment is just a dream! The rooms (flowers), the delicious food, wifi, all great and the atmosphere incredibly friendly and professional!! Thumbs UPP
madhú & Stitch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Matemwe Bandas. We were delighted to learn that you had such a good time staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future !

Warm regards,
Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Get yourself a treat, go to Matemwe Bandas.
A tiny place right on the beach with so much taste and sense of the environment.
3rooms only for now, all in coconut wood and natural local material.
King size beds with a direct gorgeous view on the beach and sea.
A emerald swimming pool and a cozy clubhouse.
A friendly and professionafl staff.
An excellent creative and healthy cuisine.
And on the top of all this, the charming welcome of Tom, a Franco-English gentleman qnd his gracious Japanese wife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwasaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Matemwe Bandas from 07 to 13 January 2013. We arrived in a splendid location, a true boutique hotel allying innovation and local knowledge, which reflects the partnership of the super nice hotel owners. Rooms are comfortable bungalows; decoration of the room and the hotel is great. We especially appreciated the service, which was incredible and above expectations. The food was the best part. The chef offered to do dishes that were not in the menu as he understood that we loved the local cuisine. The chef could prepare all kind of dishes, local or not that were all excellent. We also appreciated the activities proposed and facilitated by the hotel, although the place is so beautiful that one can easily spend days between the beach and the swimming pool without getting bored.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Jessica for your very favourable impressions of Matemwe Bandas, which we really appreciate. Our chefs were particularly pleased to learn that you enjoyed their cuisine so much!

All the very best & hope to see you again,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Matemwe Bandas from December 19- 22, 2012. As already mentioned in some of the other reviews, this is absolutely one of the most amazing places you can find in Zanzibar, and probably anywhere if you are up for a relaxing experience. With only 3 ' bandas' , with all amenities in places and a postcard view on a white bounty beach, you feel like you have the entire place for yourself. The staff is outstanding and food superb. Price included a free snorkel trip to the nearby island and a introduction or advanced kite surf lesson.

One thing we particularly liked about this place is that it is in fact a joint-venture with the local community, thereby setting itself apart from all the 'white-elephant' hotels and resorts elsewhere at Zanzibar which are owned by foreigners and staffed by mostly kenians. At Matemwa, the place will be 50% owned by the community, which ensures that the place creates jobs and income for the local community.

Tom, Amour and Chi Chi as well as the rest of the staff do absolutely anything to give you a fantastic experience, yet still give you the feeling you are away from everything.

Highly, highly recommended

Slightly off topic, but remember to get some cash in Stonetown as this is very difficult at most of the rest of the island

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WouterdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your very kind words about your stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. We were delighted to learn that you thought our food superb, our team outstanding and that you enjoyed our local partnership philosophy.

We very much hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had the pleasure and privilege of staying with Tom and ChiChi at Matemwe Bandas. It's really not really a hotel as much as a private bungalow. And with only three of them on the property, the entire place basically feels like it's all yours.

The staff was incredible and they made the best food we had during our stay on the beach. The private pool area is incredible, with comfy chairs and hammocks to lounge in. The front of the bungalows open up directly onto a beautiful stretch of white sand beach where you can walk for a mile before seeing another tourist. The bungalows themselves couldn't be more perfect. They were designed to facilitate natural flow of outside air, while still being netted off from any bugs. The shower in our room was built around a living tree. The bed was as comfortable as it gets, with nice linens and soft pillows.

In our short time here, I quickly realized that Matemwe Bandas is the nicest beach accommodation I've ever stayed in. For the remainder of our 7 month trip around the world, it will continue to set the standard for luxury beach accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you again Brendan for your high praise of Matemwe Bandas. We were delighted to have you and Brittni with us. We hope that you have both had a wonderful world tour and hope to see you again in the future.

Very best,
Tom & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Matemwe Bandas for three nights in September. The 'hotel' itself consists of three beach bungalows situated a few paces away from the beach itself. The bungalows are beautifully decorated inside with a large double bed with a mosquito net, his and hers sinks (with 'The White Company' toiletries), a beautiful shower area where the shower head is afixed to the trunk of a palm tree which grows through the bungalow itself and a toilet.

The hotel also offers a private swimming pool with two large hammocks capable of fitting two people in at once. The pool area is peaceful and relaxing. There is a bar area and a few tables which serve as a retsaurant. The food served here is the best we had in Matemwe. We had lunch here each day (the chicken and avocado sandwiches are delicious) and for dinner we had the burger and the arrabiata pasta which were both superb. The wine on offer is well priced and prety good.

The hotel itself is co-owned by Chichi, a native of Tanzania who also acts as hotel manager and an English gentleman who we didn't meet. Chichi is an excellent host who looks after his guests in any way he can. He organised a snorkelling trip to Mnemba Island and a taxi to Nungwi for us - both at very reasonable rates.

Overall, our stay at Matemwe Beach Bandas was excellent. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace outside our bungalow, relaxing in the hammocks and eating some excellent food. It was a very relaxing stay and a perfect place to unwind. Thank you to Chichi, Amour and all the staff at Matemwe Beach Bandas for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom H, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We really appreciate your taking the time Adam to note your very positive thoughts about your stay at Matemwe Bandas. We were particularly pleased to learn that you enjoyed our food so much and that you found the perfect place to unwind and relax.

All the very best and hope to see you again in the future,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent two nights at Bandas Boutique hotel and that turned out to be our favorite place in Zanzibar. The Bungalows are perfect, made of coconut wood and with a stunning view on the beach. Chichi gave us Kite surf lessons and I could enjoy a wonderful massage by the pool. Definitively a very good address in Matemwe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zablion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
0.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#2 of 10 in Matemwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar

Property: Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar
Address: Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu | Closed until further notice, Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL IS CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE Matemwe Bandas is as faithful to its natural surroundings and to the highest levels of luxury as we are to millennia old traditions of local master craftsmanship. We are also a fair trade business that is substantially locally owned, while every member of our team (including our four young apprentices) hails from the village of Matemwe around our property.With private direct access from your verandah, Matemwe’s breathtaking beach is only a step away. You can walk along its majestic palmed-lined breadth on dazzlingly white, super fine sand basking in the brilliant tropical sunshine for miles in both directions, only occasionally coming across other people. Nestling on the beach's edge in rustic exclusivity, our luxury coco wood and palm thatch bungalows share an elegant 11m x 5m swimming fresh water pool and sandy, decked and canopy-covered communal areas. We offer butler service and a la carte local & international fusion cuisine. We also provide high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, laundry service and mineral water in the bandas for free to all residents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing