We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was scrolling down the reviews and I can't believe what I've read below (referring to some of the bad reviews).

I could be very short about my Green and Blue experience: ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. But I won't, as I feel the need to rectify some of the reviews below.

When it comes to the bungalows, these are of an absolute beauty. Semi open so you can fully enjoy the atmosphere, yet have your necessary privacy at the same time. The windows were covered by mosquito nets, and even when sitting at night on the outside terrace, we weren't bothered by these pesky buggers. Rooms were beautifully decorated, which made my girlfriend and me immediately feel very welcome. Karibu Zanzibar!

The garden is very well maintained and also of magnificent beauty. It truly is a pleasure to walk around there, if one of their gardeners ever needs a new job, I'd hire them in a second.

The restaurant area gives you an amazing view of the blue and green ocean, and the nearby Nemba Island. There is a daily menu for lunch and diner with enough choices, and each dish was prepared to perfection. Congrats to the chef and to the staff, who were all really friendly and contrary to what you could read below, almost all fluent in English.

The pool area, the spa, the infinity pool (3 POOLS IN TOTAL!!) were all perfectly placed, well maintained, towels are foreseen on the pool side beds, ...

There are various activities that the hotel can organise for you. We choose to go snorkeling (I was swimming in between dolphins!!!), but there are more 'active' things you can undertake, such as jetski, parasailing, ...)

Last but not least, a very big thank you to both Alois and Silvio, both managers, who are one of the friendliest and most relaxed people I have met. They tend to your every need, and immediately make you feel at home.

I live in the hectic city of Dar, stayed there two nights, and came back fully relaxed.

If you are looking for a quick getaway or a longer vacation, this is the place to be.

Thanks again to all for making this an unforgettable experience, and please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dietah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 166 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in Green and Blue resort only for 3 nights but I would definitely like to visit this paradise one more time. Its a great place if you have a wish to have a peaceful holidays without crowdy and loud beaches its a place for you! We loved the food , we couldnt complain about the service as well, they were very friendly and helpfull!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We choose to stay 7 nights in August, 2013 in this small resort after doing hours and hours of research on the web and it was a great choose!

Some of our highlights:
> the bungalow: great big bungalows with plunge pool, nice terrace in front, a hammock for two, huge beds and 2 showers (in- & outdoor). The bungalow is cleaned everyday and they spray anti-mosquito spray while you're having dinner, so you can have a good rest at the end of a lovely day doing just nothing at all!
> the service: the European staff is doing everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible, they are always available (I needed a doctor in the middle of the night and they were awake in no time, with a smile) and they do have a sufficient level of English (unlike some other reviews are mentioning)
> the premises: they only have 14 bungalows so rest and tranquillity is guaranteed - taking into account that there are 3 nice pools available (but I must admit, only the ones around the restaurant are used - the 3rd one is in the spa area) - the garden is well maintained, the restaurant has a great view and cosy interior and the beach might be maybe a little bit less attractive to sunbath but compare to a lot of other hotels/resorts we have seen from the sea, it's a real white sand beach and the part without seaweed if pretty huge. Going to Zanzibar, you should know it's quite impossible to swim in the sea though, as it is filled with sea urchins at the bottom and it's not deep enough at low tide but that's pretty much the same case for the whole of Zanzibar.
> excursions: we are avid snorkellinglovers (we went already to the Seychelles, Maldives, Caraibes, Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Perhentian islands in Malaysia etc) and I must say, the reef around the island is one is one of the better ones (the diversity is great). We once went snorkelling with the speedboat of the diving school (3 hours, two 'dives') but we also rented a private boat (only 70$ for 7 hours, booked in the hotel) and this was great: we could stay as long as we wanted in the reef, no hassle, no stress and afterwards they took us to a gorgeous sandbank - absolutely stunning!!
> food: the breakfast and fresh juices are just magnificent! + because it was our honeymoon, they arranged us a super romantic dinner on the beach with millions of candles

Some little remarks you should take into account:
> The African staff is really really friendly, doing everything to help you but sometimes it's hard to communicate with them (some of them don't speak sufficient English) but hey, this still is Africa and these people come from villages around the resort, which provides them work & a better future (the area around the resort is really poor)
> Plenty of choice if you want a massage, but they are a little hard (either you like or not)
> Lunch/dinner: quality of the food is perfect but the choice is limited (one menu per day where you can choose between fish or meat) - it was perfect for us, but I can imagine that some prefer to have a small a la carte menu + the wine-list is quite limited
> There is no area - except for your private terrace or the restaurant - to have drinks before/after dinner

But overall, we had a wonderful stay in this resort + special thanks to Philip for everything he did (and the entertainment;-)) !!

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JelDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Green and Blue for 4 nights. Despite the fact that the bungalows are nicely made, everything else is below average. First of all when we arrived at 10.30pm there was noone at reception and a security guy was sleeping on a chair at reception. That's not really a warm welcome. But our biggest surprise was when we woke up the next morning with view on a beach invaded by seaweeds. There are seaweeds at low and high tide and as it has been said in other reviews it is impossible to swim in the sea. Whatever the manager can say, after going around the island we saw many beautifully maintained beaches, with no seaweeds or where seaweeds where collected. So it is really not the right place if you want to enjoy the sea and the beach. The waitors are nice and they try their best but they seriously lack training in the most basic tasks. The level of English of the European staff and local staff is very limited so communication is not easy. Plus for some obscure reason (or maybe just because they are not professional!) the manager kept on talking to us in Italian, lovely language, but language we don't speak .....
For the first breakfast we found ants in the fruits that were served.
To summarised this place is clearly overprices and there are beautiful places in Zanzibar where one can stay..... never again in Green and Blue!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed at Green and Blue for 12 nights which made us almost residents there, but we are fully reloaded.

After a 5 day safari with our 2 young daughters (4 and 2 years old) we went for total relaxation in a form we like to call fun-sun-beach!

The cottages are all eaqually nice, some are more expensive because they are closer to pool or beach, but we settled with a gardenview bungalow. There are only 14 bungalows and there are 3 pools, so even the gardenview bungalows are never far from water! Another plus about this pool-bungalow ratio is that you usually have the pool almost to yourself. The garden is magnificent : high growing coconut palms, papaya trees, aloe vera plants, tropical shrubs and colourful flowers are mixed in superbly. All the pools ad to the 'awesomeness' and especially the infinity pool, that looks out over the beach and ocean, ranks in my top 3!

The beach is made of the softest white sand and although the ocean isn't really perfect to swim in, you could if you wanted to (at high tide). The white sand is sometimes hard to spot under some washed up sea-weeds from the nearby plantations, but the hotel manages to keep a footballfield-sized area in front of
the peremises clear of all weeds.

The village itself is not really the best place for tourists. You can safely walk around, but better bring pencils and candy for the vast amounts of children that will follow you around. (I mean a LOT of children).

The hotel restaurant is good! The staff does an extra effort once a week to move all tables to the poolside for a weekly BBQ and buffet. The second one we had was even better than the first... Rock lobsters till you dropped! The regular menu is nice, although I personally would have liked more local dishes (instead of pasta / pork-chop / ...) but thats
personal. The spice-island has so much to offer that I didn't feel like western food at all. But as I said before, they more than made up for this at the weekly BBQ. Oh... And breakfast is waauw!

The special menu for the children, made our daughters over-joyed. As parents we would have maybe like a bit more variety in this, but the girls were not complaining.

We went to a few different places in the area for lunch (other hotels), but in the end Green and Blue is definitely better and about the same in price.

We went to Stonetown twice (45 min by car) and did the spice-tour on one occasion. That last one was definitely worthed! The guide in Stonetown was also very good. Everything was arranged through the hotel. I'm sure you could do this cheaper when you book everything yourself, but it was well organised and convenient.

In the end, the bungalow was perfect to sleep the 4 of us, the food was generally very good, the staff (both the local staff as the european management) was very friendly and everybody did their best to make us feel at home. They even went the extra mile! For example : the housekeeping staff made and extra 'palm leaf - barrier' at the upstairs balcony to protect our young ones from tumbeling down (we didn't ask for this, they did it by themselves which makes it even a bigger plus), the cook brought us some pampers for the little one while we stayed at the poolside, the restaurant staff made our children feel like superstars (that makes every parent happy), ...

They might still have just a bit of room to dot the i's here and there, but we were very happy to be here and would certainly recommend
Green and Blue.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VandenBoschFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hi
I read an earlier review which expressed much the same view as ours. This is a five star resort, priced as such which is the basis for my review.
First, the bungalows and the whole hotel area are truly lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed lying by the well designed pool area. The management staff is friendly and except for the waiters, who's skills and training do not match the hotel price tag, generally helpful.
However, the location is poorly chosen with a beach that is covered in sea weed and debris from the sea and surrounded by shabby areas which renders a walk along the beach into a generally depressing experience. Each visit to the beach also attracts the usual crowd of local salesmen causing us to avoid it entirely after a few attempts
More damningly however is the atrocious quality of the cooking. We have never been served such weird taste combinations (tempura fried slab of raw broccoli with super sweet fruit salad) and so poorly executed (meat fried beyond recognition) food. Irrespective of if the chef attempted to make local dishes, German style pork and potatoes or sushi(!) he/she failed miserably. This is simply unacceptable for a hotel with these pretensions
In all, we very much enjoyed our stay but in its current shape the hotel is horrendously overpriced

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank AndreasM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First impressions were good: a seashore lodge, witth manucurFirst impressions were good: a seashore lodge, witth manucured gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean. We stayed at the lodge for two nights in what initially seemed comfortable bungalows, each at a reasonable distance from one another.

However, our first impressions turned out wrong. The bungalows were infested with uncountable mosquitoes. They were so badly designed by someone who obvisously didn’t know the hotel industry that windows weren’t fitted with mosquito screens, which absence allowed mosquitoes to invade the interior of the bungalows. Furthermore, windows on the porch were not fitted with opaque blinds, which made it possible for anyone coming close to have a deep look inside the bungalows. Very unpleasant, all the more we experienced a member of staff coming to bring welcome drinks while we were changing to go on the beach, and could peep inside the bungalows through ackwardly located windows. A paradise for exhibitionists and peeping toms –not exactly what we were looking for.

Then we went to the beach. The Indian Ocean location seemed ideal. However, the beach was invaded by seaweed with made it impossible to bathe in the ocean. Nothing that the lodge could do anything about –the location was just wrongly chosen.

Then came dinner. In a five star property with five star prices, one could have expected a high-end food experience. Unfortunately, it was far from being the case. Set menus were wrongly chosen, with pretientious wongly-executed dishes which were not in adequation with the location: on the first evening, we were served an overcooked lobster even more spoilt by an atrocious soja sauce which killed our tastebuds. Then a basic pudding totally ruined the experience. On the second evening, a canned bean salad with feta was served as a starter, followed by a choice between Hawaian pizza or tuna fish with a red wine and onion sauce on a bed of polenta, which could have been a bitter fit for an Austrian winter than for a tropical venue. The wine we ordered was missing, and desert was a stuffy chocolate cake. Here again, they got it all wrong, all the more the local fish market offered an amazing choice of local fish, which obviously didn’t catch the attention of the wrongly selected chef.

Despite the efforts of the manager to be kind and of the waiters to be attentive to our desires, this place is vastly overpriced for the quality provided. Sleeping on concrete beds behind rather effective mosquito nets (decorated with dead bugs) was not enough to compensate for the overall bad impression and the awful food experience we had at this place.

‘Never again’ was our conclusion. A pity and a big waste, but when you charge five star prices, clients expect five star quality. Instead, we received shameful and pretentiously served cantine-like meals and were overall very disappointed –and strongly bitten by mosquitoes. Fortunately, we only stayed two nights and were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alois I, General Manager at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Hallo FrenchTraveller001,

thank you for your Feedback which will always be valued, even if it´s not like you descripted.

First we may say sorry for the african nature that´s not like in Europe. You should know that mosquitos are existing in africa and that also seaweed is natural to be in a clean and healthy sea.

The tastefulness of architecture of the Bungalows is different, so we´re sorry that our´s was not in your taste. All our Bungalows are designed by an international architect who built more than 30 Hotels in africa and all over the world in his life.

Because of the Welcome Cocktail we´re sorry that you were disturbed by a waiter who brings you the Welcome drink about 5 minutes after Arrival, but you ordered this drink to your Bungalow 10 minutes before, so what did he do wrong?

In case that every Bungalow is surrounded with beautyful flowers and plants, you could also lie on your terrace and nobody will see you, so we can´t imagine how you could see anybody naked in his room.

If our kitchen didn`t find your taste, we´re very sorry for this. As i talked to the Chef he promised me not to use soja Sauce on a lobster even we don´t have this Kind of Sauce in our stock.
To correct you, we never serve Pizza in the evening, just in the afternoon as a Snack. As you should remember we served you a fresh local fruit platter with Passion, melon, mango and bananas as Dessert instead of a local chocolate cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
7.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
96 reviews
17.3 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
474 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,781 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green and Blue Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range: $246 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing