We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

During a Safari and Business trip to Kenya and Tanzania, we decided to go to Zanzibar for some time of relaxing and without the hassles of big african cities. So we could not have get a better place to stay that this small village in the north-east of Zanzibar, right in front of the Mnemba Atoll. We had a great time, swimming, snorkeling and having great dinners overlooking the indic ocean. The Mnemba Atoll is a highlight on its own for whole Tanzania. The hotel has a cooperation with the diving station Scubafish, which are just incredibly nice and professional.

Our bungalow was spacious, quiet (as tropical islands goes) and clean. Twice a day, the room was made and beautifully decorated.

We wish we were there now!

Room Tip: Just to words: Beach Front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djhernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Green and Blue in October 2012. The Bungalows are of a good standard and the hotel well landscaped and planted, but what let it down for us was the management of the hotel. On our first night, the bar bill was completely wrong. To be fair that could happen to anyone, but what was disappointing was the time it took to sort it out and the fact that the hotel management were so begrudging about it. On the second day, the sink in our bungalow was blocked. We were asked to move to a bungalow next to reception, which we declined for lack of privacy and to avoid repacking all our possessions. We were reassured that a workman would fix it the next morning. A maintenance man arrived for several hours without solving the problem. Our booking was based on bed and breakfast but our itinery included a "honeymoon beach dinner." When we were billed for the dinner we pointed out that it was part of our preapaid booking, but were told that what was included in our itinery was the cost of moving a table from the bar to a raised decked area above the beach (about 15 feet) which would otherwise have been chargeable and that the dinner itself remained to be paid. On the third day of our stay our host declared she thought we were leavingthat day (although we booked for 4 nights). We explained the error first thing in the morning. Our host declared we could stay an "extra" night, but at the end of the day our room had not been cleaned, leaving us to go to reception to sort it out. The afternoon before our departure, we asked for our transfer taxi to be booked for 9.45 the following morning. It was not until 9.30 the following morning that our host ventured to tell us she had not been able to contact our taxi operator, and that she needed alternative contact numbers. We waited another hour and a half. Poor management let down what could be a super hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel B, General Manager at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello Sam!

Thank you for your feedback which will always be valued!
We loved being your host. We are happy to learn that you liked our property and also saddend by the fact that you thought some of our services were not up to standard like sorting out the bill.

We have a team who endevour to be the best at what they do. Of course we noticed your distress and on several occasions different staff members hoped to find the reason or offered help only to be told “All is well”

We are grateful for any kind of feedback which will push us to improve.
I understand that at one or the other situation – more time should have been invested in the explanation. Obviously, our well-intended solutions were not accepted .

We sad to hear our efforts did not reach their goal & has left you and your wife with an imperfect experience. After being spoiled with good reviews – especially from honeymooners – your criticism hurts us deeply.

Let me assure you that we have taken your words very seriously and will improve our performance for those who follow …

Nicole Kanz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We just returned from the highlight of our honeymoon. After ten days of travel and Safari in Kenya we decided to spent some days relaxing at a luxurious beach resort. The Green And Blue was the perfect choice: located beautifully on the coast of northeastern Zanzibar it features not only a paradise-like beach and reef ambience, but also a spotless and perfectly run village of cozy and well designed vacation bungalows. From the first moment after arriving in the resort you are positively surprised by the quality of the place and flawless service, which is the signature of the european management team. Also the restaurant deserves special mention. Everything was fresh, delicious and the cooking easily en par with the creations that you get in upscale European restaurants. This was the only time during our long trip that we didn't need to worry about the quality of the food or the cleanliness of the bathroom.
We truly hope we'll be able to visit this wonderful place again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We just spent the last 3 days of our honeymoon with my wife and it was really fantastic. We had the Villa on the beach, very simply decorated but really nice. Lighting and furniture are matching with the overall experience of the island, authentic. The staff has been extremely helpful and nice to us. The food was one of the best we had in Tanzania, even though sometimes a little slow to be served. The 2 pools of the hotel are really well located, one with a great view on the beach and the other one big enough to swim. The gardens are very well taken care of and give to the the hotel a natural feel. Massage in the Spa was nice, the hotel is located next to a good diving center with great spots close by. Overall, we loved it.

Room Tip: Bungalows on the beach are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarjerBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me and and my girlfriend stayed there for 5 nights. It started out with the hotel manager Nicole welcoming us to the hotel and showing us the facilities, and she even upgraded our room to an ocean front room for free purely because it was available at the time. The service was frankly extraordinary.
The restaurant at the resort has a new menu each day, and the meals were lovely. And the staff at the restaurant were really polite and serviceminded, something that we heard before the trip is not always the case in many hotels in Zanzibar. Our last night the arranged a special private dinner for us by the pool, that was icing on the cake.
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge also arranges a lot of activities like fishing, snorkling/diving, spice tours etc. I highly recommend the diving!
To sum it all up, as I mentioned in the title, it was the best hotel/resort experience I've had and I would like to thank Nicole and the rest of the staff at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Zagr0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have been staying here now for a long time. I love this place, the staff are kind and very helpful, thoughtful and pays attention to details.
Great place for relaxing and enjoy the beauty of Zanzibar. Each room, has its own mini swimming pool. FUN. Food is delicious. Something everyone should try out are the Chocolate croissant. Manger is super friendly which makes the place feel special. Looking forward to go again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maskat9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We enjoyed a high quality and stylish stay.
Everything was perfect: room, beach, cuisine, staff;
Very efficient management also.
To be recommended.

Room Tip: room facing the ocean is a must for sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Kind-Landlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
7.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
Zanzibar Queen Hotel
#2 of 6 in Matemwe
88 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
521 reviews
38.7 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
2.1 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green and Blue Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range: $225 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing