We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$151
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$165
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzibar Bahari Villas(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$718
$690
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Hotel(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
71
28
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
28
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelshigh tidebig gardenpure naturewhite sandindian oceansound of the wavesbeautiful resortoctopusrelaxing staysun loungersthe east coastsea urchinsstayed here for nightsrebeccaverandatanzania
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 116 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Panga Chumvi is a very good place for a family. The family room is just near the beach (30 meters from room to the sea) and you can see your kids play in the lagoon from your veranda of bedroom.
White sand, coconut, beautiful house, charm family room wait you.
Restaurant is good and the Staff is helpful.
The staff know very well everybody at Matemwe and they are able to solve a probleme with the authorities of Matemwe. Thank you again for that.

Room Tip: Family room in the big house (Floor level) in front of the sea
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINKO D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Panga Chumvi is a small hotel in Matemwe nestled a few miles south of the bigger resorts...but it has the same stunning Zanzibari view. For those looking for a hotel with a pool and all of the usual western amenities, look elsewhere. For those looking for a small, quaint, very very quiet hotel (that is more of an Inn), Panga Chumvi could be your spot. The staff stays out of your way, which I suppose could be misinterpreted as being non-attentive, but I think they are just trying to let you enjoy your stay at whatever pace you want. The food is good, I'd recommend the calamari with curry sauce. They have wifi but the connection wasn't that fast. The rooms are average but definitely clean and well-maintained. As long as you understand that Panga Chumvi is an Inn and not a western-style resort, you will be happy.
There is a great walk down the beach to the village of matemwe where the locals are.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We spend two nights at Pango Chumvi and really enjoyed the relaxed and quiet atmosphere. We would have stayed much longer if I had more time. It is a simple place, very quiet, right on the beach (very low tide at some point of the day,but this is common to Zanzibar) but at high tide it was great to swim!

We had a room with a beach view. It was very simple but nice and really clean.
Food is very good but somehow the choice is restricted to two choices, most likely because it was low season and there were few guests. But the staff is very friendly and tries to accommodate guests' needs.

Panga Chumvi is located near Matemwe village, about 1 hour ride from Stonetown and the road is in very good condition. It costs 40 USD each way.

A deposit of 50% is requested for booking and can be paid through paypal. I struggled a bit to register on the site, but the staff I was in contact with was very nice and patient.
The only downside is that the entire food menu is in USD and the bill is later converted if you want to pay in TZ Shillings.

I strongly recommend this place for people looking for a quiet and relaxed holiday far from big beach resorts.

Room Tip: The two storey building you see on the website picture was not used for guest at the time of my visit but you can still get a room with see view. Just ask when booking!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afritraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Ideal location for people that want to completely relax. If you are looking for nightlife, then you should look somewhere else.
Matemwe beach is still unspoilt, and you can see the local people going about their
business: fishing and seaweed farming. You are not hassled by anyone (that sort of thing only comes about when there are larger hotels).
The bungalows are basic, but fairly new and everything is functional: electricity and hot water. Food is fresh from the sea, but relatively expensive for Tanzania (around 12$ for a main dish). As for restaurants you are limited to Panga Chumvi itself, and the few other hotels in Matemwe (around the same price class). The are two dive shops in Matemwe (Scuba Libre and One Ocean). We didn't try those as we were only there for two days relaxing after a safari. It should be an excellent location for diving and snorkelling Mnemba Island, which you can see from the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fluffypinkfish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is real – Panga Chumvi is a true tropical paradise. We (My husband & I) stayed for a week in January and loved the tranquillity and beauty and the warm welcome by all the staff. The resort is fairly new but it looks like it has always been there because of the traditional building style. The scenery is spectacular. The restaurant is literally on top of the beach. The food is fantastic! One night we had a buffet of Zanzibar specialties. We knew that the grated coconut was fresh because we saw the gardener hoist himself up the tree and pick them! Bacari, the resort manager also runs a taxi business so you can get to wherever with little hassle. (He also picked us up from the airport.) We were lucky that Othman, one of the owners, was there and he was very helpful in helping us to arrange things including an introduction to the headmaster of the local school in Matemwe where we discussed setting up links with our local school in the UK. He also got us bikes for the day and we explored the miles of silver-sanded beach and the village. Amazingly there is no hassle from traders trying to flog you things, just a few people there to offer tourists boats for snorkelling the coral reef. This was also the best value resort we stayed in during our three week stay in Tanzania. My suggestion is to go sooner rather than later before the big boys discover this hidden spot ofZanzibar and buy up this beautiful small family run resort. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarjorieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews