We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunshine Hotel(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$149
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$840
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
71
28
12
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
28
12
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelshigh tidebig gardenpure naturewhite sandindian oceansound of the wavesbeautiful resortoctopusrelaxing staysun loungersthe east coastsea urchinsstayed here for nightsrebeccaverandatanzania
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 116 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The place is on a white sand beach, very quiet and well decorated ! The manager is very nice, friendly, and the price of the room is cheap compared to the beauty of the rooms. Nyota hotel next door is less charming and the same price. Food is delicious too but you have no lunch. others hotels are close, you can eat anywhere else, no problem, you just need to walk 10-15 minutes.
Panga will extend soon with more rooms and a bigger restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is the best Place and Hotel @ Zanzibar Matemwe!
Why? Personal (Wendy), Beach, Pure Nature, Breakfast, Room, Not touristic etc!
Ejoy your stay. Greatings Rob Huijbers from the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Ask Wendy?
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobHuijbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The location is great, it is very quiet and directly on a white sandy beach. The bathrooms smell of humidity and electricity and water are not always warranted, indeed, in order to save money, it is often avoided to switch on the generator or fix the water pump. Food is ok, but sunshine and seles offer a wider choice and better quality. The manager, Wendy, is very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangaChumvi, Owner at Panga Chumvi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

New pump fixed and new regime for keeping generator in good shape has been agreed. We love our Panga Chumvi, and are always looking at how to keep our guests comfortable and happy - new lunch menu introduced!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Hi I stayed @ Panga Chumvi with a friend of mine for practically one week. I personally find it an amazing location, the atmosphere was magic, but sincerely speaking, for the money we spent, I would expect something more (problem with water supply+electricity). I would be back if I go to Zanzibar, the only thing to be aware of is that you have to expect some inconveniences!

And staying at Panga Chumvi I met great people and a lovely little boy "Justine".
I miss him so much, and it is the 1st day I am away from there!

Wendy, the manager, is great... you don't have problem with her, she finds solutions for you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My family stayed at Panga Chumvi for 2 weeks, we had a great time the hotel is very friendly we loved the fact that they use local workers where it is possible. The food was delicious with a good variety that kept us all happy. The hotel helped organise snotaling trips which were very memorable. The whole set up was very professionally run, thank you Panga Chumvi we will definitley be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandgeorge187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews