We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Untouched Beauty all around”
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
VILLA FROM BEACH LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
VILLA FROM BEACH
LOUNGE
POOL TABLE AND BAR
ZI VILLA TRAFFIC
BEACH FROM BAR
ZI VILLA FROM BEACH
ENTRANCE HALL TO LOUNGE
VIEW FROM SULTAN SUITE UPSTAIRS
BEACH AND POOL DECK
HALF THE LOUNGE
OTHER HALF OF LOUNGE
KING SUITE
SULTAN SUITE UPSTAIRS
QUEEN SUITE
QUEEN SUITE
VIEW OF VILLA AND SUROUNDING AREA
SULTAN SUITE
LOUNGE
PASSAGE WITH ZANZIBAR ANTIQUES
AERIAL SHOT OF  ZI VILLA ON THE BEACH
ZI VILLA AT NIGHT
SUNRISE FROM POOL DECK
VIEW FROM OUTSIDE BAR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lauren D
1 review
“Untouched Beauty all around”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Words cannot begin to express the splendor, exquisite untouched beauty and hospitality of this little piece of paradise. We stayed in the Cottage, with its own pool and private beach. The cottage offered 2 large and very comfortable bedrooms with king sized beds, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen, lounge and large patio. The 3 meals per day were delicious and the portions significantly generous. The beach is literally on your doorstep and the views are the best I have come across, across the globe. But what sets Zi villa apart from any other establishment on the island, is the warm, personalized and superb staff and service, coupled with peace and seclusion ( you will not see another foreigner in site... only the blissfully locals who live off the see). I celebrated by 40 birthday at Zi Villa cottage and was given a surprise dinner, completed with fully decorated dining no table, with palm fronds and fresh flowers, a seafood platter second to none, and a personalized birthday cake!!

Staff personally took us scuba diving, swimming with turtles and dolphins and touring on the island. We honestly have made friends for life and my streaming tears onleaving was proof of this.

We cannot wait to return to Zanzibar and there will only be 1 place on the island we will stay.....,
Zi Villa all the way!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2017
Hi Lauren,
it is always very gratifying to get feedback from guests and thrilled to say your experience is not unique.
i am due to travel there with my family next week and will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff who pride themselves on going the extra mile. I am also sure we will enjoy a similar experience especially with Christmas around the corner . It is truly an enchanted place and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby P
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming rustic beachside villa”
Reviewed November 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a spacious and interestingly decorated villa, clad in the local coral under a palm leaf roof, typical of eastern Africa coastal properties. The garden was immaculately kept and the pool area was delightful with most welcome shaded areas. The beach was just a steep flight of steps away.
The villa staff were kind and helpful, with George being a thoughtful and resourceful host. The chefs worked hard, making almost everything from scratch, but we were surprised at how hard we had to work to coax some seafood out of the kitchen, despite watching bucket loads of freshly caught fish being unloaded daily on the beach. The South African wines and local beer were great accompaniments to the meals.
We enjoyed snorkelling and a beach BBQ lunch on a stunning nearby beach and a second trip on a sailing boat was a particular highlight.
However, we were alarmed at the frequency of unannounced and rather intimidating visits from the local government officials (10 in one visit) which felt like an invasion of privacy. No doubt these visits are made to all villas but they will have the effect of deterring tourist from Zanzibar if they are not careful. Perhaps they could apply their resources to improving the appalling road which serves the beachside properties.
The wiring in the villa was infuriating with most sockets being of the extra large 3 pin circular variety which were incompatible with all travel chargers so we were obliged to raid the living areas for the limited supply of useable adapters.
There were one or two other niggles which make this a 4 rather than 5 star review but overall we all enjoyed ourselves in this beautifully located villa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We agree the visits from the Hotel inspectors are too frequent and annoying and will put this to the minister .The plugs are South African Plugs but will get more adaptors made up so there are some in each room.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFoodie...
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa with friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in this wonderful villa for 4 nights after a safari holiday, perfect place to relax. We were a group of 2 families with 4 children between 10 - 14yrs, pool area is lovely, beach great, though do need to be careful of sea urchins. Kids loved playing in the waves on the beach when tide was in. All the staff were really lovely and looked after us very well without us feeling they were around all the time. Food excellent, had a great snorkelling trip with delicious seafood bbq. Made good use of the excellent pool room and bar!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2017
So good to read that Zi Villa lived up to expectations,
Pleased to confirm that permission was recieved from the authorities to remove the Urchins in front of the house so one can now walk and swim without wories of getting spiked.We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind REGARDS
aLLAN.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siva P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Visited Zanzibar for the first time in a 2 family group - loved the island, history and people and the house is truly rustic and out of the way. This was a large part of the charm for us, but may feel a little isolated for others.
The people at the house (George, Sam et al) were wonderful and made the holiday truly special.
Views from the Master Bedroom terrace over Mnemba island were spectacular, so it was strange not to have seating up there from which to admire this, but that is a minor quibble ...
One major tip: don't exchange USD at the airport as the exchange rate is a rip off and almost everyone takes USD freely.
Do visit Mnemba Island, Prison Island, Jozani forest and a spice farm - most of these also help local communities.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Hi Siva,
thanks for the positive feedback and for the suggestion to add more seating to the upstairs balcony which i will ensure happens during my visit next week.
Totally agree that the island has a lot to offer other than just the beach if one has time but must admit that many of our guests are happy to relax and just enjoy the sea, the pool and the views in the time they have available.
We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangovend...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely stay and good food!”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Do yourself a favour and go visit this piece of heaven on earth! Staff is friendly, food delicious, relaxing stay with a beautiful view!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Awesome to hear that that your holiday lived up to your expectations.
i am heading up there on Saturday and am sure your kind words will motivate the staff to continue there efforts with vigour .
look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Alan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thom C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Family Holiday”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Zi Villa for a holiday bringing the extended family together (10 adults and 4 kids) and it was the perfect choice.

The villa itself is superb - really spacious and nicely furnished (quite south African in style). The place was spotlessly clean throughout, and after a brief family argument over who got the incredible sultan room (what a room!) we settled straight in.

The villa is quite off the beaten track - which adds to the charm. The beach is really good, the pool is lovely and quite large considering it is just for the villa. The food is really good too - just make sure you ask for what you want and the cooks will happily oblige. We were a slightly tricky group with several kids, a couple of vegetarians, and a couple of non seafood eaters, but the cooks catered to all of this well.

A special mention must go to George and Samuel who are the most brilliant hosts and helpers. Nothing was too much trouble - George's catchphrase being "Everything is possible"! Between the two of them they ensured that any trips we wanted were booked, various pick-ups and drop-offs were sorted, and additional supplies were brought from town when needed.

Zi Villa is the ideal choice for anyone who wants all the convenience of a hotel, bit with all the flexibility of a villa. Perfect for families or groups of friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2017
It is always so gratifying to receive feedback on our guests experience at Zi Villa and i am pleased to advise that it never disappoints .I will definitely pass on your kind words to the staff so they can remain motivated that their efforts are really appreciated. . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards
Allan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martie R
Tanzania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Amazing stay, close to perfection! We were very skeptical when we read the most recent review before our stay, which stated: Avoid at all cost"! Well, we didn't find any of his complaints present with our stay! The rooms are so huge and are all en-suite! All air conditioned with huge beds! The staff were so friendly and helpful, from serving us to arranging trips. It's like having your own exclusive hotel! Menu's was suggested by the chef, but we could change it to out taste and to spoil our 2 littlies! Overall the food was good to very good! Fishermen are using the beach in front of the villa, but the house is higher than the beach, so they are not in your face! After all the beach is a public place! We had an incident where money was stolen, BUT on our side we forgot the back pack outside on the verandah with the money in it! My suggestion is to keep valuables in the safe provided in the rooms! If i have to complain, I'll suggest more prompt email communication while we were booking and requested info regarding Zi Villa. I would also suggest that Zi Villa owners answers guests on tripadvisor, for future guests and to state their side of reviews! Overall a marvelous stay and place, will recommend it any day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2017
Hi Martie,
Thanks for your positive feedback and for the good advice . We will certainly be more proactive on Trip Advisor and in response to questions asked.
Surprised by the theft you experienced as we have had incidents of guests belongings left on the beach (including valuable like a watch , camera) being returned by the locals wrapped up in the guests towels .We will look into this with Seif .
We Looking forward to having you back .
kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing