We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just stunning”
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
VILLA FROM BEACH LOUNGE
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
ZI VILLA AERIAL PIC
VILLA FROM BEACH
LOUNGE
POOL TABLE AND BAR
ZI VILLA TRAFFIC
BEACH FROM BAR
ZI VILLA FROM BEACH
ENTRANCE HALL TO LOUNGE
VIEW FROM SULTAN SUITE UPSTAIRS
BEACH AND POOL DECK
HALF THE LOUNGE
OTHER HALF OF LOUNGE
KING SUITE
SULTAN SUITE UPSTAIRS
QUEEN SUITE
QUEEN SUITE
VIEW OF VILLA AND SUROUNDING AREA
SULTAN SUITE
LOUNGE
PASSAGE WITH ZANZIBAR ANTIQUES
AERIAL SHOT OF  ZI VILLA ON THE BEACH
ZI VILLA AT NIGHT
SUNRISE FROM POOL DECK
VIEW FROM OUTSIDE BAR
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gurzu
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just stunning”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Out of all words.
It's a mix of everything positive.
You can get there full relax and fill yourself with high emotions. It is the place which never slips out your memories.

Phantasy

I think everyone who are going to visit Zanzibar for vacation must stay there some days. You must present yourself this.

Villa - excellent
Stuff - very helpful
Location - great

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devil1
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A piece of a paradise - assisted by attentive and friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Zi Villa for 7 nights in October - my wife and I plus 3 children (16, 13 and 11). I'd stayed there before in 2005 (for a friend's 40th) and had been bowled over by the place - hence my return this year. I must admit to a element of nervousness before we got there - how would the children handle it? Zanzibar (and Zi Villa) was, I recalled, very different to the typical tropical island hotel experience (where daily experiences are pretty much controlled and sanitised by the hotel staff). By contrast, at Zi Villa, we tended to be the masters of our own experiences, always on the lookout for new things to do (and always willingly assisted by the locals who were/are quick to provide transport (read: dhow) to take you fishing, snorkeling, diving, up the coast to a restaurant.) Anyway, the whole experience worked out very well - the kids had an amazing and never-to-be-forgotten time. Believe me, they saw both sides of the island (eye popping "poverty" as well as unbelievable natural beauty) - but that just added to the overall experience.
Staff were extremely attentive and willing to assist - nothing was a problem (hakuna matata) and we barely lifted a finger around the well appointed and comfortable house. Did PADI Open Water 1 as well (with my 16 year old) - so came away with something in addtion to lasting memories. Lastly, if you do spend some time at Zi Villa, pop over at 6pm to the sand bar at Matemwe Bungalows (about 500m down the beach) for dhowas and caipirinhas. A perfect end to day in Zanzibar and Zi Villa....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie C
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning villa with the most amazing sea views”
Reviewed February 11, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

There were 10 of us who stayed at Zi Villa for 3 nights and it didn't disappoint us. My partner and I were lucky to score the 'sultan' suite upstairs with the most amazing size room, ensuite, gigantic bed and a gorgeous balcony with views across the ocean. The pool surpassed my expectations being amazingly deep and large. It was also salt chlorinated which was a bonus. Steps close by took you right down onto the beach in seconds.
The villa had a lovely homely feel about it but it had generous sized rooms and lovely decor depicting the surrounding area. The staff were lovely and discreet but there if we needed them. Our meals were very tasty with fresh fish caught daily and served lovely and hot.
For snorkelling and diving you could take off right from the beach in front of the Villa and I would highly recommend the snorkelling just off the reef.
I have stayed in many resorts around the world but this was truly one of the most beautiful and relaxing places I have ever stayed at.
The only slight negative if I had to say would be that the showers were always cold and slow, but when you consider where you are and how warm it is, it is not really an issue.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, superior quality.
Liked least: Showers
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEJULIE2
East London - SA
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No better place to chill with friends”
Reviewed February 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2010

Wonderful holiday experience!! Going back for our 3rd time!! A fantastic destination for a group of friends to relax around the huge private pool looking over the clear Zanzi sea. Snorkeling was the best ever with very helpful local boat owner. Everything was more than we expected. I would definetly recommend this Villa over a Hotel stay - its like your own boutique hotel. THe manager of the Villa will go out of his way to make arrangements for trips to town/snorkelling or whatever you wish to do. Take your own snorkeling equipment - do not want to miss out on that experience.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: spacious rooms/pool/staff......
Liked least: local people using the beach as a loo(although this does not happen on the beach below the house)
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marie136
Marseille, France
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
thank you - i will advise Seif of your kind words
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing