We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunshine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and the perfect place to relax and forget about all the stresses of every day life at home! The food is quite overpriced in my opinion for what it is, but the staff was fantastic and overall this is a great place to relax. The beach was pretty (although the Kendwa Rocks beach is more stunning and picturesque) and the atmosphere was very mellow here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    72
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
174
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really loved the peace and quiet of the Sunshine Hotel, along with the beautiful setting. We found the management to be very attentive and engaged in running the hotel, and yet at the same time personable and friendly with the guests. The staff as a whole were very good - well run place. I saw one of the reviews that indicated they were not happy the managers walked their dogs on the beach, but we found them to be friendly, very well behaved pets that did not get in the way of guests at all, and quite frankly thought it actually added to the family style atmosphere.

The pool was kept clean, as were the lawn and beach chairs. The food was particularly good - we had some of our nicer meals here, and it was great to just hang out at the restaurant bar and have a few cocktails looking out over the beach.

As to the rooms, we had #1 and #2 on the second floor in the cabin near reception. Our biggest concern when we booked was "no air conditioning", but we were assured there would be a nice ocean breeze and it would be ok, and it was. They have 3 fans in each room, but it was a bit warm - not unbearable, but a bit warm. This is the only reason I hit 4 star instead of 5 star in my rating. Outside of that, the rooms were big enough, with nice balconies to sit out on and take in the view, the sunset, etc.

Regarding the snorkling, we went with one of the guys on the beach who offered us a trip at a lower cost than the more expensive organized outings, and it was perfectly fine. We checked in with management first to be sure it was safe, and they vouched for them so we did it and saved ourselves some money. We went out to Mnemba atoll and the snorkling was great - really nice spot.

If I ever go back to Zanzibar, I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach so that you get the most breeze possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan4Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Sunshine Hotel is located right on Matemwe beach which is a beautiful long beach where you can make beautiful walk. We chose the Seabreeze suite and even if it is a little bit more expensive it really worth it.
We had had our private jacuzzi on the the terrace and our private access to the beach.
The food was ok! I loved the pancakes! I would not suggest the full or half board plan.
Everything in the hotel was perfect; we could rent bicycle and snorkeling equipment.
We were just a little bit disaapointed with the sea temperature that was incredibly warm and not so pleasant to bath in.
And we expected matemwe a little bit more crowded with bars and restaurant, but in the evening the beach was quite desert

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here after leaving a more budget hotel in Stonetown and even though the setting and hotel was beautiful we found that it lacked a bit of character compared to the cheaper, smaller hotel we had come from. The other guests staying here were probably mostly honeymooners so the vibe was a bit quiet and subdued. The food was expensive but the smoothies and cocktails were delicious and sipping them on the white beach was dreamlike. The room was gorgeous and the pool was stunning. The beach was fantastic as was the bright blue sea and scenery. Overall, a beautiful hotel, friendly, helpful staff but quite expensive and you'd really just want to be going for a very quiet, sun worshiping stay cause that's all you'll find here.

Room Tip: I had a downstairs room, near the back of the ground and while it was beautiful, an upstairs room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephieCads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I enjoyed every minute of my stay here. The facilities are excellent and my room was clean and comfortable. The beach at Matemwe is long, white and beautiful and, with only a few tourists, is a delight to walk along. Doris, Rudi and Katja all helped to make my stay a positive experience. They checked regularly that everything was in order and that I was happy - which I was throughout. The food in the restaurant was also great quality - the fish was fresh every day and delicious. The staff in the restaurant were very polite and efficient and called me "The Captain" (Nahoza in Swahili) because of my white beard. They helped me to learn many words in the language. I wish everyone at the Sunshine hotel happiness and success for the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Sunhine 2010, so it's been a while when writing this report. However, we do not have anything but good to say about this place: good food, nice 'bungalows', good service, nice staff, clean, everything worked, and one of the best in this area for thoise that are looking something smaller and authentic than big 'all inclusive' resorts. Just perfect to chill out, read a book and relax. Blue Breeze Suite is excellent choice to have direct view over the Indian Ocean. Getting here the organized transportation is highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had what had to be the best room of this resort, The Blue Breeze Suite. It was an upstairs suite with a balcony with direct views of the sunrises over the ocean, and cooling sea breezes as well. Our room was colorful and comfortable, and the resort itself had two pools, cabanas on the white-sand beach, delicious food (including lots of flavorful tropical fruit each breakfast), and a wonderful, attentive local staff. Our only complaint was with the management. It was managed by a foreign couple who seemed to think this was their own vacation home, rather than a place of employment where it was their job to attend to the customers. The most offensive thing the woman did was take her multiple dogs for walks on the beach in front of the resort and when they "did their duty", she, rather than scooping up the waste and bagging it, just kicked a hole in the sand to slightly cover it and walked on. This was the beach both the paying residents and locals would lie down and walk on during the day! If it hadn't been for the management, this would have been the perfect place to relax on the beach.

Room Tip: The Blue Breeze Suite has the most direct ocean views and sea breezes of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sndpail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
10.1 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
0.4 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel

Property: Sunshine Hotel
Address: Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine Hotel is a 15 rooms beach hotel, located in Matemwe on the north-east coast of Zanzibar. Eco friendly, stylish and cozy, carefully designed by professional designers, creates a unique chill-out ambiance to make you feel happy and relaxed. Set right on the unspoiled white sandy beach, lined with palm trees and washed by warm, turquoise waters of Indian Ocean, it's a perfect gateway from everyday life. All the rooms feature with king size bed with mosquito net, desk, safe box, bathroom with shower and closed toilet, stone bench, 3 fans, private outdoor space to relax. All rooms have garden view, some of them partial sea view. 2 rooms in a private bungalow are located directly on the beach, perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners or just a romantic surprise. The 2 pools are suitable for everybody, also kids that can swim in the shallow water area. The own Diving Centre Dive Point Zanzibar, organizes daily trips for divers and snorkelers to Mnemba. The Restaurant and Bar are available from 7,30am to 9,30pm to everybody (outsiders are welcome too) for the main meals on a' la carte basis. Half Board and Full Board are also offered. The Reception is at guest disposal 12h each day to assist them also for excursions around the island. USD is the main hotel currency, credit/debit cards are welcome (+5% bank fee on each transaction) as well as Euro/Tshilling (hotel exchange rate only). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunshine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing