We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb and welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Beach And Lagoon In Front Of The Villa
Relaxing Area On Private Beach & View On The Lagoon
Terrace
Bedroom
Games Room
Sweet Dreams!
Bathroom
Living Room
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Matemwe, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kathy N
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb and welcoming”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I absolutely loved my holiday in this villa, situated on Matemwe beach. The villa is spacious and well laid out, with plenty of decks and patios to find shade or suntanning options. The pool is a very welcome sight on a hot day, and the well-tended gardens are a balm to the eyes after the powder-white beach sand.

But the star of this attraction is the staff. They form the most amazing team, with Lucky and Angel managing the housework and the food serving, with Hamisi and Sele in the kitchen. An awesome and friendly group of people, who provided fantastic food and service and were so willing to go out of their way to help with anything. The garden and security staff did their best to keep invisible but you could see the results of their efforts, and they were also very friendly when we met them.

Assante sana, we loved every minute of this holiday!

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly, helpful, competent staff - every single one of them
Liked least: A few times we had mosquito issues in spite of the efforts to keep them out.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulrika183
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house is situated on Matemwe beach which is one of the best beaches in Zanzibar. It is located very nicely on the beach with its own private beach in front of the house. The staff members are very helpful and nothing is a problem for Lucky, Angel, Hamiz the cook and Sele Ali. We used the motor boat and the oppies daily and thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach and service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is as close to Paradise as it gets”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thanks for a fantastic time at Villa Turquoise. After an exhausting week on safari in the Serengeti (which was fantastic) it was so nice to chill out in Zanzibar. The Villa is magnificent and the staff are all wonderful. Lucky is so efficient and completely calm all the time. “no worries” she would say whenever there was something we wanted. Khamis is a gem. He doesn’t realise how talented he is. He produced some fabulous food for those who wanted it alongside pasta or something simple for those who didn’t. Thank you, Donna, for all you did for us. My wife was so grateful that you managed all the catering requirements so that she didn’t need to lift a finger !

Bart, you chose a beautiful location and have built a beautiful house. I love it. It is perfect and fits the environment perfectly. I love the high makuti roof and the wide veranda upstairs. The bedrooms are so comfortable, each with its own facilities. My wife and I had one in the front and woke each morning as the sun rose over the sea. It was idyllic. The beach, stretching for miles in each direction is so unspoilt; no high rise hotels (yet) and few guys hassling you to buy things you don’t want. I speak swahili which makes a difference so we had a laugh and a joke with everyone – including Solomon Dishwasher, just along the way !

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & tranquility in a beautiful location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pathfinde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best New Year vacation ever!”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved everything, the very large villa is directly on the beach with a vwry big private pool, the staff is very friendly with an excellent chef. I simply loved everything. Its a perfect place for big families who wants big space and privacy .

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anouk S
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Holiday in heaven!”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Lucky, Hamis and the others: we miss your smiles, lovely food and hospitality! We had the best holiday ever. Everything was perfect: the villa, the setting, the weather. We stayed 2 weeks: the first week we where 10 people: 6 kids, parents and grandparents. Second week a smaller group of 6. The villa is so spacious and still cosy. In real it is even better than the pictures and the descriptions!

The beach and sea: white and turquoise and clean. We also loved the tides: diving in the waves during high tides and crossing the lagoon during low is very exiting.We found so many shells on the beach! We went snorkling, scuba diving, played golf (first greenfee-ers ever, Seacliff just opened :) had excursions and massages: everything was perfectly arranged by the staff.

Donna and Bart, thank you for your excellent communication and for finding such an superbe staff to look after us (and the villa :)

We'll definitely come back, hakuna matata!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Reviewed January 27, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much to like...but I'd like to special mention Lucky, the staff coordinator & the chef...
Liked least: Wifi was patchy at best.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing