We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hang out!”
Review of Sele's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sele's Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best hang out!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

great value for money.
rooms are simple and well equipped.
food is great, cocktails also ...
one of the rare places on this side of the island to go and hang out.
guest include staff from other hotels so the bar is always buzzling.
scoccer nights are alwaya busy :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
58
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zanzibar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Thank you for 2 wonderful nights of well needed rest, excellent food and great company! Rooms have everything we needed, and service, as usual was very good.
The best coconut prawn curry, and cocktails!
Asanta Sana

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatacelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Noire, Kouilou, Republic of the Congo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights there before New Year Eve.
Place is really nice. As the team.
Food is really good
Our stay there was quite good but I guess Tripadvisor is also a good way to suggest few improvments:
For the upstairs room, it would be great to put a bigger fan or to find a way to put the fan inside the mosquito net - not much air under the mosquito net
Be careful about early breakfast - It's rellay important to get a breakfast before scuba diving...

And for future customers : nice ppol at Matemwe village you can use if you are One Ocean Customer
Free Wifi and cheap Pizza at Villa Kiva
Add some matress on the chilling chairs on the beach

Gaetan & Vanessa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaetan-bibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in Seles in December 2012 and we enyoyed immensely. Seles and his staff are extremely nice and helpful, food is fantastic, the best juice I have had in ages for breakfast. The beach in Kendwa, where we also stayed is much better, but our best memories in this trip are from Seles thanks to how well this place is managed. Staff also seem to be very happy and care genuinly about customers, which we didnt see in other places in Zanzibar.

The rooms are a bit basic, perfect for us, but if you cant enjoy a place without a TV in the room and fully stocked mini bar, look for another place.

Our thanks to them for making this holiday so special. Stay here and enjoy the atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Sele's for four nights in July... the rooms are clean and what you would expect for the price, but what realy sets them apart is their wonderful, relaxed bar/restaurant. Every time we tried to eat someplace else we were disappointed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank ShepherdMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

food is good yes, small bar is nice but bungalow to small, dirty sheets mine had some blood spots...so value to expensive for the quality and no coffee before 8h00...didn t like too narrow spot, i much prefer jambiani beach!!!!!!

Room Tip: jambiani beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zanzistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at Sele's for 4 nights at the beginning of October 2012. It was the most wonderful relaxing vasation spot! The food is some of the best we've had in the continent (don't miss the jumbo prawns with coconut sauce), and the rooms are really good value for money. We also stayed in a few other places in Nungui (Northern part of the island), and while there were more attractions in general, we had a much better time relaxing in Matemwe. The only downside of the area is that there's seaweed on the beach, and it gets in the way of your initial perception of a paradise beach, but you forget about it soon enough. Also, anyone looking for an upbeat area with lots of other tourists - go elswhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
17.8 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
21.9 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
22.2 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#3 of 6 in Matemwe
174 reviews
18.2 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
17.9 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#2 of 10 in Matemwe
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sele's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sele's Bungalows

Property: Sele's Bungalows
Address: Matemwe Beach | P.O. Box 3215 Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sele's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sele's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sele`s Bungalows Hotel Matemwe
Sele's Bungalows Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing