We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful Villa in great location! The setting was picturesque and the private splash pool at each villa was a real treat.
The villas are really spacious and the decor and design is beautifully traditional.
The food offerings at the pool bar was fantastic (extra cost) and the main restaurant offered a great selection of good food.
This hotel is very exclusive and private and I was impressed overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EurekaZandberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    39
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
155
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a perfect honeymoon spot. Spent 5 days of pure relaxation at this hotel and for Zanzibar the quality of amenities and location were excellent (in particular for snorkelling). It's far from Stone town and in a remote part of the Island so you will be doing all your meals at the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality. What stood out other than the idyllic location was the service from the couple who run the place. They really stood out for the personal attention they showed us and this ran through to the friendly and efficient service provided by all of the staff. Really a cut above in terms of quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DThunder2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Part of our Tanzanian honeymoon trip was a 4 day sojourn in Zanzibar and this was the perfect spot. Totally secluded and lush beach resort that is fully self contained and offers extreme exclusivity and serenity. The villas are beautiful and designed in a way that offers wonderful luxury. The staff was very attentive, food is good and as we were on our honeymoon they made an extra effort to ensure we got special care. Really beautiful location, albeit the beach is not as white and sandy, but nonetheless crystal clear waters, amazing sunrises, starry starry nights and a wonderful overall experience. the hotel was great at arranging city, snorkelling trips and vey helpful for all matters.

All in love, this beautiful secluded paradise spot was an ideal way for us to round off our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Alll the rooms are lovely with wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kashaboutiquehotel, General Manager at Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
For several s reasons this comment is a full surprise for me, first of all because our hotel is used to have customers which would like to stay longer but unfortunately the airplane is waiting for them and all of this just because they find everything perfect and wonderful. This is the first time somebody wanted to leave before than expected but then again customers are always right and I respect everybody choice and opinion even when I don’t subscribe them.
Then again is admirable the way the tour operator, on a last minute decision, due to PERSONAL reasons of the customers, did manage to find a room and move them, in high season when everything is fully booked, to another hotel for sure more adapt to their need, crowd, festivity and beach party, due to this all it was everybody’s surprise to read that she was not escorted the proper way, the PR Manager together with the rest of the staff, under the General Manager directions, did take full care of them all the way to the taxi which did take them away.
So far everybody did fall in love with our room from the first step in, the usual comment is “WOW” we did see the pictures but this is the first time the reality is better than what is shown on the website, but then again people have different taste……The 2 family we have here just love it and when one of them was told at Zanzibar Airport that, because of the fire at Kenya airport, their plane was cancelled, called us back to see it was possible to return to Kasha and have few more wonderful moments here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Kasha. We were staying at the sister property in Stone town, and just popped away for the weekend. We were a family and one of the few that were not honeymoon couples but we still felt at home. I was floored by the size of the villas and the beautiful design, and attention to detail. The meals were varied and had really interesting choices. When my daughter got sick, the manager helped us get a Belgian doctor in... Impressive given the size of Matemwe. Also had an amazing experience swimming with the dolphins just in front of the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As part of our honeymoon, we had booked 6 nights at Kasha Boutique Hotel. We had a really great stay. On the plus side, this is a small hotel with private villas and clients are mostly couples on honeymoon or just travelling so this is very quiet even around the common swimming pool. The restaurant was very good and especially the bread which was changing every day and is home made. And everything was made so that we could enjoy the time and relax. Our villa was really spacious, more like a suite with a bath and a shower and we were pleasantly surprised to see it nicely decorated with fresh flowers and with a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival. We had a villa with sea view and it is definitely worthwhile as the villas behind face other villas.We could enjoy the mini private pool we had while admiring the view. The spa also is facing the sea and treatments are not that expensive so definitely a must-do. On the minus side, it depends what you are looking for but if you want to party all night that is definitely not the place to be (not enough clients to have a DJ).this was a perfect second half to our honeymoon (first part being 8 days of safari in the Serengeti/Ngorongoro so we would definitely recommend for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haymye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You want to know how heaven feels? I spent my best holidays in this classy boutique hotel. Excellent location, amazing final touches at the villas, private splash pools for romantic hours, the very professional trained and friendly staff contributed to the excellent holidays with their friendliness and professionalism.

Room Tip: there are only about 11 villas at the place.. so most you get are 22 people .. its NOT crowed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AstridEvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked our holiday through Zanzibar Travel in the Uk. Michael Sweeny was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble! This holiday was a surprise for my partner who had been working exceptionally hard and I wanted him to have a totally chilled week away to re-charge his batteries!! It was also his birthday that week.That we did!! The last 20 minute drive to the hotel was basically off road - but was so worth it. We were met by Emily the resort manager! She was a star! All the staff were so friendly and everyone made us feel so relaxed! We stayed in Villa 7 - overlooking the Indian Ocean!! The villas were lush and well kept and clean and the plunge pools divine - never sat by the pool once as everything we needed was at the Villa. The only negative I would have to say about he accommodation was that the air-conditioning was not adequate enough for the rooms size and we did struggle some nights!

For my partners birthday I had arranged for us to have a private dinner on our terrace - this was just fabulous - the hotel had arranged a birthday cake for him and also a bottle of Champagne - I had nothing to do with this, so was a lovely surprise for us both.

Food was really good and again the service was excellent -again nothing was too much trouble!

When I booked this holiday there was a special offer on massages - my partner hated the thought of it but after one session he could feel the advantage of the stress in his body disappearing and then I couldn't keep him away!!!

This is the perfect resort for couples who want to unwind and relax with each other - children of a certain age would struggle for entertainment.

We hired a car for the day which was great fun and we explored the north and north-west of the island, going off the beaten track at times.

On our last day we transferred to Stone Town as we had an early flight the next day - we stayed at Kisiwa Hotel - in total contrast to teh people we meet the staff here were unfriendly and not very accommodating. We had dinner at Serena Hotel on the rooftop terrace - this was amazing, setting, food and service were both excellent!!

We would both highly recommend this holiday without hesitation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashanti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
8.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
18.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
8.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Property: Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Address: Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique Boutique Hotel in Zanzibar An island that holds a legendary status among travelers as an exotic island paradise blessed with palm fringed shores, timeless fishing villages and lush plantations. Kasha is a boutique hotel situated on the northeast coast of the island surrounded by clear aqua water, access to excursions, and beaches, yet it is very private. It is an intimate hotel for friends, couples and honeymooners that guarantees a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing