We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place away from the crowd in Matemwe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice place away from the crowd in Matemwe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Kasha. The hotel is situated in Matemwe. Actually it is the last place you can reach by car, on a (very) bumpy road.

Be prepared to discover a quiet, little place, nicely decorated that will take you away from the noise. You can have your own bungalow with a small pool. The rooms are very big and the bathrooms are very well equipped. The whole place reflects well the Zanzibar style. Enjoy a massage …

Food at lunch is nice, but we would have preferred to have the same choice for dinner and not a set menu.

This hotel is recommended for couples who want to enjoy some time alone away from the crowd.
We honestly think that the way this hotel is described on its website doesn’t serve it. It is better to say that this place doesn’t have high pretentions and it is way better like this, because this is how you will feel it once there… Service is correct. The hotel might seem overpriced for what it offers for some people who can expect more after reading the website description.

On reality, this place is simple, and this is what makes it nice…

The big Matemwe beach is reachable from the hotel if you would like to walk (15 minutes walk). You can go there to see the fishermen and enjoy the walk at sunset.

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our trip to Zanzibar and it was a good way to end a great trip.

We would like to thanks Emilie, the Kasha Boutique manager who was really helpful during our stay. Emilie knows the island and can give you good advices. She made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All bungalows are the same, just the view is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    39
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
23
156
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you want a quiet, peaceful, luxurious, high quality hotel to stay in Zanzibar, then this is it. My husband and I stayed here for 9 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. It is (as another review commented on) at the end of a long dirt track, but is well worth it! The staff were so friendly and the service provided was outstanding! I don't agree with the other review- the quality of food was some of the best we had tasted. They certainly have thought out the menu perfectly! The villa was exceptionally large, very well decorated and had its own plunge pool with sun lounges- very private! We visited another of the northern beaches near the end of our stay. A beautiful stretch of beach but very busy with hotel, after hotel. This is what made Kasha so unique. It was so quiet with no screaming children and masses of people. Consequently it made our honeymoon so personal- just what we wanted. I would strongly recommend this hotel and would hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and i just returned from Kasha this week and had a good stay. The last 4 kms of rd are awful but this is Africa and it just adds to the experience. The room was lovely, large and clean with a safe and mozzie spray. One night i forgot to spray my feet and got eaten during dinner(over 30 bites on 1 foot!) The plunge pool was great to just relax in! We did 2 days of diving with One Ocean Azani at mnemba atoll is its just lovely! They pick you up from the hotel and go to the dive center and then drop you back at the jetty after the dives. The wifi in the recpetion area is good and Emilie the manager was always present and very helpful and kind! They have a nice lil souvenior shop for those who dont get to go into stonetown. The food (based on Africa standards) was good and nicely presented. The staff really do a good job and are not lazy like other places we have stayed in ZNZ. They had nice wines and recommend the red KWV private label.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBNCLTDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The moment you arrive you get the feeling you are somewhere luxurious. The hotel is at the end of a very dusty, bumpy track but the journey is forgotten about quickly enough as you enter the grand reception area. The hotel is decorated so tastefully and has a wonderful African theme in keeping with the surroundings. We were greeted by Emily the manager who was friendly and welcoming. Are room wasn't ready as we were early arriving but the reception area was the perfect place to wait. It is full of oversized furnishing and plush pillows. On arrival at our villa we were taken back by the sheer size of the room and the whole atmosphere of the place.  The room has a large king size bed and many seating areas.  The bathroom is very grand and it has both a shower and a large opulent bath. The main feature for us was the outside area which hosts a large seating area, plunge pool and loungers.  This area is very private and we spent most of our days here. The sun leaves this area around 3pm but you can then use the pool where the sun stays till sunset. The infinity pool looks out over the Indian ocean and is a lovely place to relax. We were on half board and the food although not as high quality as we had expected it was still enjoyable. The staff are very friendly yet at times we felt the restaurant staff weren't particularly well trained and there was often confusion when ordering meals.  All in all this was a great place to spend our honeymoon and if you're looking for relaxation and tranquility this is the place for you. 

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My fiance & I stayed at Kasha for 7 nights, and without doubt it was one of the best experiences we've had. Emilie & her staff really do make your stay a pleasure... warm, friendly service. As mentioned in other reviews, even when it was full it still felt really private and chilled out. I did provide a lower rating for the location (just a minor gripe), the final stretch to reach Kasha is really quite rough which makes leaving the resort a bit of a challenge, so be prepared if you would like to spend quite a bit of time exploring the island. We chose to spend most of our time at the resort, so this didn't spoil anything for us. Another small issue to be aware of, is that the resort doesn't have one of those pristine beaches on its doorstep... its on the edge of a ridge, and when the tides are in the beach access is limited. Recommended activity is the beach bbq & snorkeling, it was really awesome... and the private dinner in your room.

I would not hesitate to recommend Kasha or make another trip back....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Anybody booking a 11 night honeymoon stay in Africa, after a safari, is going to be a bit nervous.... but we shouldn't have worried. Kasha is the most amazing place to stay and just "stop". It's very intimate, and although it was nearly full, we felt like we had it to ourselves most of the time.
The staff were lovely; charming, funny, smiling and ever so keen to please - even those nearly-invisible who provide security, turn down beds, and clean rooms, and set wonderful flower arrangements not just on the bed but all over the bungalow..

The food is amazing - we had one night in which the food wouldn't have done a London restaurant proud, and a couple of nights when it was truly sumptuous. With amazing attention to detail.

The setting is gorgeous - okay so the beach isn't "fluffy sand" - but it really doesn't matter.

Just off the coast, near Mnemba island, we swam not just with an amazing array of fish it felt like we were in an acquarium, but also dolphins and even a turtle.

The rooms. Huge. Wonderfully thought out. Huge baths. Private splash pool. Cool terrace. Stylish yet very effective mossie net.

The best bit? The gloriously romantic dinner we had on our last night, on our "deck", overlooking the rippling and roaring Indian ocean.

Thank you!!

Room Tip: It's worth being sea front - then your splash pool and deck is even more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at Kasha Boutique Hotel while traveling in Zanzibar after a week long safari. What a perfect way to end the trip! I only wish we had more time at Kasha. My husband and I were traveling with our 14 yr. old twins and we each had our own rooms. Emilie (the manager) and Charles were most welcoming as were the rest of the staff. The rooms are huge and beautiful, we arrived to hibiscus petals dotted all around. The private outdoor plunge pools and spacious seating area are luxurious. We loved the infinity pool and bar area so also spent a lot of time there taking in the beautiful view. We spent one afternoon scuba diving and snorkeling with One Ocean tours and it was so great to get dropped off at the beach stairs to our hotel at high tide and not have to do the bus ride back to the hotel. There is a nice sitting area off the bar in the main lobby which has a library where you can share books, a large screen TV and some nice coffee table books on the history of Zanzibar. The food and service were excellent. One morning our children didn't want to leave the room for breakfast and when the wait staff noticed they offered to bring something to their room so they delivered a tray of fruit and croissants, very accommodating. I only wish we could have stayed longer and hopefully we can get back again some day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
8.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#2 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 170 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
8.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Property: Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
Address: Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique Boutique Hotel in Zanzibar An island that holds a legendary status among travelers as an exotic island paradise blessed with palm fringed shores, timeless fishing villages and lush plantations. Kasha is a boutique hotel situated on the northeast coast of the island surrounded by clear aqua water, access to excursions, and beaches, yet it is very private. It is an intimate hotel for friends, couples and honeymooners that guarantees a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing