We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kena Beach Hotel & Villas (Formerly Azanzi Resort)
Nearby Hotels
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunshine Marine Lodge(Matemwe)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$347
$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea View Hotel(Zanzibar City)
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Zanzibar Ocean View(Zanzibar Island)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
230
96
19
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
96
19
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerall inclusive packageour honeymoonstone townsea urchinscatfishsunset cruisecool pooldive centreseafood bbqthe managersscuba fishspice tourrooms are spaciousstaff went out of their wayevery mealfood was great
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 372 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Compliments to everyone for arranging our engagement and making it the most memorable event of our lives! Super romantic! Cara, compliments to your staff, service was excellent, food was fantastic!!!! Zanzibar is that one piece of heaven anyone can experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy01_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After a week long safari through Kenya, we arrived at Azanzi on Monday January 14th to a beautful island, a stunning resort and extreme heat! We were well received by the manager. She had upgraded our room (we were allowed to choose between 2 different rooms) and treated us to a lovely beach dinner with bubbly. The resort is absolutely beautiful, the beach has beautiful white sand, warm calm water, the food is delicous and the rooms are spectacular!

This was by far the best was to complete our honeymoon before our long trek home back to Toronto, Canada.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaandTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 5 days here over New Year and had a great time.

The check in process was smooth and the staff were helpful and took our luggage to our room. The room was clean and tidy and furnished in typical Zanzibar style. The bathroom had a bath, walk in shower and double sink, so plenty of space.

This hotel offers an all-inclusive package between set times, similar to AI packages the world over; soft drinks, beer, wine and local spirits. Food was good and is a self-service buffet. There was always a good variety and something to cater for all tastes including vegetarian options.

There is a dive school on site (not run through the hotel), which diving and snorkelling trips available daily. In addition, the hotel reception staff are very helpful in arranging excursions from a guided spice tour to a quad bike safari.

The hotel also has a spa which offers massage and other treatments. This is well worth a visit as the staff have magical hands to sooth away any holiday tension.

The hotel is family friendly, so might be a little noisy for couples looking for a more exclusive environment. However, because it is family friendly it also means it would be accessible for anyone with mobility issues or using a wheelchair (although be away breakfast and dinner are served on the first floor, up a ramp).

Whilst we had bought extras during our stay, there were no issues on check out and we were charged the correct amount.

There is a double hammock near the bar area which overlooks the sea. We spent a few relaxing hours laying in there reading. Writing this on a wet and cold January day in the UK it brings back happy memories of our holiday. Thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L4dy_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I've travelled extensively and all over the world, and stayed at many hotels, but rarely have I stayed somewhere like Azanzi.

The service was the best I've experienced! Cara, the manager, was friendly, helpful and went the extra mile! My husband and myself were welcomed like family into Azanzi.
The rooms were clean and spacious and every kind of relaxing one would want for a holiday.
Another highlight was the food. Normally I don't expect much from hotel food but clearly the access to fresh seafood has allowed Azanzi to be able to put out amazing meals. Lastly, I would particularly like to mention the drivers we were provided, Anwar and Mussa, they were always smiling, always friendly and they really made our travelling around the island a fun and authentic experience, if going to Azanzi I would highly recommend asking for them :)

So overall I can honestly only say good things about this amazing hotel and the excellent staff and management that keep it going. We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaCaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

6 of us have recently returned from a magical trip to Zanzibar. We stayed at the fabulous Azanzi resort, what a treat, we could not have asked for better. The staff were warm and friendly; nothing was too much effort, from Dominic at reception, Lucky Luke in the restaurant and the management team.
The food was great, the room was spacious and the whole holiday was just fantastic.
We can HIGHLY recommend the dive centre attached to Azanzi, we didn’t dive but snorkeled… WOW what an experience. It was the best snorkeling we have ever done and we were lucky enough to swim with Dolphins. The staff at the dive centre were exceptional and we can’t wait to return and hopefully dive next time!
Thank you for all for making our holiday so memorable!!!!

Julia and Robin Schofield

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzScho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews