We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Azanzi Adventure - Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Azanzi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Azanzi Adventure - Amazing!”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at Azanzi - what a magical and special holiday it was! The accomadation was superb and the rooms were immaculate. Azanzi cannot be described as your "standard beach hotel" as it is small in comparison to other hotels and therefore not overcrowded and noisy (a real piece of paradise!) The pool is beautifully shaded and perfect for the hot Zanzibar days and as the ocean water is very warm, the cooler water is very welcome (especially after long walks on the beach's exquisite white sands). We were blown away by the service we received - from welcoming cocktails to the friendliest hotel staff we had ever encountered. Every day we were greeted with enthusiastic "Jambos!" and were asked with a genuine interest how we were and how our holiday was going. On one occasion we accidentally left the safe in our room open with all our money and valuables lying in the open and on the table in our room. On return we realised our error and to our relief all our valuables and money were exactly where we left them and our room spotlessly clean and tidy, bed made and new towels in the bathroom - what trustworthy staff! All our transfers and excursions were all very well organised by Azanzi. The snorkelling through One Ocean (located at Azanzi) was superb and highly recommended. The food was amazing and we were treated with three course meals which included crayfish, prawns, as well as a selection of local dishes. We would recommend Azanzi to anyone going to Zanzibar and we really hope to be going back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaineSutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    15
    11
    11
See reviews for
44
213
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The location is remote and beautiful, the beaches are long, power white with crystal clear water. Sunrises are sublime. The sea urchins however do prevent you from actually swimming in the ocean and although stomping around in the reef shoes once is an adventure it’s no way to really swim. The pool is nice, but unless it’s scorching hot it is in the shade and can be a bit chilly.

We got an all-inclusive deal, and really should’ve bumped ourselves up to a better room – the standard rooms are not worth it. Our room was the most disappointing of all. It was above the reception area, with no view to speak of. At night you could hear the generator kicking into gear. The bathrooms are in need of some TLC. The hotel doesn’t stretch out along the beach and therefore compromises on views from the rooms.

The food was tasty, but after day 4 we were looking forward to something more different. The service was a bit up and down. At times there was outstanding service and other times average. The dive centre was helpful and we had a wonderful trip out to Mnemba Atholl – highly recommended!

To be honest, I wouldn’t go back and think there are other places that offer ‘more’ in Zanzibar – in terms of the rooms and the location (and even the price – if you’re willing to go a bit more rustic that is!).

Room Tip: The standard rooms are certainly not worth the trip. The jacuzzi rooms also don't seem worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyTaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just back from Zanzibar this weekend, we stayed at Azanzi. From the moment we arrived the staff were so helpful and welcoming, our room was beautiful and spacious. The unusual cocktails were delicious. The dinner and breakfast were yummy! Our snorkelling trip was fantastic, we saw so much but swimming with the dolphins was breathtaking. Next time we would take our children along with us as the pool and beach were great for families, what a little piece of heaven!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We went to Azanzi for our honeymoon and found it was perfect place to relax and have fun together. The hotel is small, so it doesn't feel like one of those canned massive hotels further down the beach. In fact it often felt like we were alone on the beach. The food was incredible, prawns, crayfish, sail fish, tuna. The staff was amazing, and we got to know them which made the experience feel very personal. The rooms were stunning. Highly recommend this hotel for honeymooners!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

'Wow' is a great descriptor. To qualify - this is our 5th visit to good hotels on the East Coast of Zanzibar, and by far our best. The reviews explain all the positive physical and service aspects (especially the one about the food not being typical ''conveyor belt'' resort fair.... it was really good), but our clear winner was being able to ''make relax'' ...... and relax we did.....
For us 5 (girl of 13, & 2 boys of 5 and 10) the best part was NOT feeling like ''5 in 5 million'', like one feels in some of the other bigger hotels with hoards.
If you enjoy being co-erced into volleyball and beach games all day by over zealous entertainment staff, when all you want is a 'good book', then this is not the place for you.... Having said that, there are sufficient distractions for 3 busy kids not to get bored either.
The 'on premesis' dive shop was also excellent, and the older 2 tried the 'introduction to Scuba' course which was professionally executed and their 2 dives have been a talking point since.
The beach infront of the hotel is beautiful and white (not all on Zanzibar are like that so watch out), and again, unlike infront of the bigger hotels, one isnt accosted continuously by hoards of beach boys touting their wares. However that was controlled, and by whom, deserves a commendation.
The staff were always able to assist with ANY request (even our freshly caught fish was whisked away, and the boys were invited to the kitchen to watch it get scaled and cleaned for our lunch, to their delight.... which we werent charged for either), so, our experience of service was really very good. Perhaps we are more tolerant of the language barrier having visited the island before, and it seems the new management have resolved any of the other bad review points mentioned as we really did have a fabulous time in what is clearly a well run hotel.
One also see alot of thought was put into the hotel, and the partially shaded pool giving one relief from the heat was a winner for me (the last Zani resorts pool, in Dec, was close to warm bath temperature.
We had a truly wonderful holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GebFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

What a beautiful place to finish after a long safari. This place was like heaven! We had a beautiful suite that overlooked the ocean. We didnt want to leave the beautiful view from our suite but the whole hotel had views! Just dont know where to start with the lovely place, the staff were so helpful, letting us use their own computers, downloading music for me as we loved the music they played, they had a great library, we could go canooing every day, wish we didnt live on the other side of the world or we would be back in a flash. Our only regret was our short stay in Zanzibar and this hotel, we would have loved a week here and a week in Stone Town.

Room Tip: Go for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince-tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Where to begin? Words fail, you need to visit to experience the truly amazing hospitality this resort has to offer. From the management ( Greg & Cara) right down to service personel. The friendliness & willingness to go the extra mile to accomodate requests far exceeded our expectations. The rapport that Greg & Cara have with their staff is that of mutual respect and this is clearly evident as their staff follow their lead closely and with genuine pride. We also enjoyed a private, beach, candlelit dinner for our 24th wedding anniversary and were served a scrumptious Seafood platter Barbeque. Cara's advice and guidance as far as planning excursions and trips during our stay was remarkable, we went we saw we conquered the island and also had sufficient rest and relaxation. We MOST CERTAINLY will be going back, not even entertaining another venue!!! Thanks for truly amazing Holiday, Greg, Cara & staff. Ali (best tour guide on the island) & Anwaar's Shuttle Service for transporting us safely during our stay.

Wishing you ALL a sucessfull Festive season
Ken & Sylvia Fulton

Room Tip: Garden Villa with outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
10.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.1 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
419 reviews
6.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,439 reviews
5.5 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Kiva Resort and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azanzi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azanzi Beach Hotel

Property: Azanzi Beach Hotel
Address: Matemwe 0000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azanzi Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the North Eastern coast of Zanzibar, and approximately 45 minutes from the airport in Stone Town. Azanzi is a boutique beach hotel which boasts 35 rooms comprising of 8 Standard rooms, 12 Superior rooms, 9 deluxe rooms and 6 deluxe suites The central guest entertainment areas offer guests multi level viewing decks, well stocked curio shop, azure swimming pool, bar and dining area - maximising the sublime view of the majestic and tranquil Indian Ocean, and powder-white beach's scattered with palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azanzi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azanzi Beach Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing