We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet, realxed place just by the ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quiet, realxed place just by the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had realy nice stay here for a few nights. Food is great (portions are quit big, but that is the only complaint I have) rooms have all you need, its quiet you only hear the ocean and the personal are very friendly. You couldnt ask for more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    59
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
85
172
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wow! We stayed here for 6 nights in September 2012 and it was simply superb. We were upgraded to the main suite which overlooked the beautiful Indian Ocean. There was no TV or music blaring out in the bar, and was everything you could wish for on a honeymoon. When we arrived we were treated to a lovely bottle of bubbly and fresh fruit to enjoy on our balcony and in our massive room! The owner Jan was so accommodating, always around for a chat if anything was wrong (which it never was) and even throwing in a free massage for my wife. The food was freshly prepared and presented beautifully. I could go on but all i will say is thank you to Jan and highly recommend this beautiful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanTheManUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Zanzibar retreat. Great food, great staff, terrific location and great pool ! We loved the decoration of the room upon arrival. It was really peaceful, relaxing and they got the perfect staff (from the waiters to amazing cook!)

I snorkelled for the first time there and swam with dolphins ! It was an amazing experience (despite the sea sickness). My partner took a refresher course for diving and dived there. Unfortunately he didn't react very well with the anti malaria medication so we would advice not taking it if you want to dive and are only going to Zanzibar !

Small point:
- frequent power cut but nothing unmanageable and we did understand why !
- slow service -> they will usually ask you a couple of hours beforehand what would like to order for lunch or dinner: take the opportunity and constantly do it ! It is very worth it tho !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olynessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my family (children 17 and 23) had a pleasant stay at the hotel for a week in july 2012.
The hotel is located right on the beautiful beach.
The rooms were very good, clean and everything worked alright.
The staff is great and very helpful with booking activities outside the hotel..We tried, snorkeling, swimming with turtles, diving and deep sea fishing.
The food at the hotell was amazing and enjoyable.
As the hotel is really a retreat hotell you will not find any night life in it or in the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This a small, 12 room, hotel. It's in a great location. Right on the beach. Miles of beautiful beach for walking or beach combing. Lazing by the pool is also peaceful, pleasant and in great surroundings. The room was great although I would have prefered a blanket rather than simply a top sheet. Air conditioning and fan worked great. Bathroom and water pressure good.

However, it is fairly isolated with few hotels in its vicinity. We were lookin for R&R and it suited us perfectly. But, if you are looking for lots of activity and night life best to stay elsewhere. We opted for full board and were not disappointed. The food was amazing. Coincidentally, there was a seafood barbeque on our last night which was a wonderful ending to our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdn_Wmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

My family and I ( 'children' 18, 20, 23) stayed for just over a week with very varied expectations. It was probably the most enjoyable and successful family holiday we have had! It is not an activities hotel but almost anything available to do on the island can be arranged with enough notice and planning. Nothing is too much trouble for the owner and staff. It is important to read up about the location because although it is on a glorious beach, it is well known that at low tide swimming is not really practical especially if you don't appreciate sea urchins. It is called a retreat hotel for obvious reasons, it is calm and quiet there is no loud evening entertainment thank goodness if you don't appreciate it and disappointing if that's what you like on holiday. Please make sure that you understand as much as possible about this fantastic hotel so that you will avoid being disappointed and it will not be necessary to review it unfavourably.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, NJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Zanzibar Retreat Hotel in Matemwe (North East Coast of Zanzibar- 1 hour from Stone Town) for three nights in July 2012. In all honesty, two nights is more than enough.

It is truly a retreat, in the sense that there is nothing to do on the property but relax. There is a pool restaurtant, and bar. There is no vollebally net, communal television, or even music playing on the property. The hotel does have Wi-Fi. If you are looking for something to do during the day other than reading and sitting by the pool, you can go to one of the beach stands to book excursions- Stone Town tour (NOTE: stay in Stone Town, don't do an excursion), Jozani Forest (NOTE: Skip it- $130 for ride out to forest and tour- if you are going on safari, you will be disappointed), snorkeling, or Vespa rental.

My husband and I are runners- so, you can take great runs on the beach. The sand is firm closer to the water. It's nice to run or walk down the long beach.

On to the room...we stayed in Room 7 (I think?- no one could get our room # right). It was recently completed. It has a view of the "garden". Not really- more like the garage where they keep things for the hotel. The room felt cramped. There is one window that has very heavy curtains on them (poorly suited to a beach resort). The bathroom was very adobe like- red clay with one very small window. The room was clean, but even for two people- it was small. RECOMMENDATION: Make sure you have a room on the first floor (preferably facing the pool), they have more light and a little table on the patio outside your room to sit. Don't get one of the upstairs room like we had.

The staff was nice, but not overly attentive or prompt. If you ordered a drink at the pool, there is no rush to get it to you. We went to breakfast one morning and it took 10 minutes for someone to walk over and even take our coffee request- the staff saw us sitting there (true story). Now, I am an East Coaster and am used to a fast pace, but this was the only place in Tanzania that we experienced this.

Being that the room was new, the outlets both failed in the room. One stopped working one day and then the next day the other side of the room stopped working. We did tell one of the owners and he had it immediately fixed.

We had half board there- breakfast and dinner. The food was good and plentiful. No complaints there.

If you are a big water drinker (you'll need it to brush your teeth), save money and don't buy it from the hotel. There is a little store in the village of Matemwe that sells it to you for cheap.

Room Tip: First floor a must- pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirlSeesWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
15.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
5.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
11.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 19 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Property: Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and ETB so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing