We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in the garden rooms on the top level, which was nice for reading a book or relaxing in the evening. The rooms were basic, but clean. My partner found the beds uncomfortable as he has a sensitive back. So, that may be something to consider if someone in the party has back problems.

The interior garden and pool area give this place a relaxed tropical atmosphere.

The restaurant is one of the favourites in the area. They serve a nice breakfast with lots of options, but finding staff staff to order cooked eggs or banana pancakes can be tricky. The carrot cake was amazing! It is probably not worth paying $25 for half board as it doesn't cover lunch and you would have to order a lot of food to spend $25 pp for dinner.

The reservation process is a bit odd, you cannot book it directly online and need to send an email or phone call. The hotel is locally run, but if you do pay in advance, you have to send money to a Dubai address. The owner and some of the staff were quite friendly and pleasant.

The hotels are connected by a passageway, which is ideal for safely walking at night and for getting to the beach without coming into contact with too many touts or ''beach boys"

Nice option in Zanzibar for spending a few days on the beach or going scuba diving.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 605 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Langi Langi for four nights. It is a very nice resort in a beautiful surrounding. We enjoyed breakfast as well as dinner. The rooms were nice and always clean. The friendliness of the staff offers room for improvement - everything seems to be a bit laid back. Other than that, I can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wordtraveler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Langi Langi is a very good value for the price. The room was simple, but they take good care of it and the A/C worked to keep the humidity low and the room easy to sleep in. The cleaners put flowers on the bed every day which is a nice touch and they let some incense burn while they clean too. Pool is clean. The deck is a nice location to sit and watch the water and is mostly a safe haven from the 'beach boy' touts that run Nungwi. One down side to the large deck is that's where the beach boys hang out, so it's impossible to avoid them coming and going. Large menu and you often guess about the dish cause the names of the dishes don't tell you much, but the pizzas are fine to miss. Brink your own hard alcohol, but buy beer and wine. Friendly staff, all know good english. Low tide, the beach is huge and the water is a wonderful tidal pool of starfish. High tide and the beach is gone with water up under the deck.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

As soon as we entered in our hotel after long road from Stone town, the secluded garden, the warm smiles of the staff, well come cold drinks with respect. The quiet breezes in the lush palms, and vibrant colour of the tropical garden was a perfect place for the our last week in Africa. I am so glad that we did our homework and chose Zanzibar and langilangi as the last stop of our travel in Africa.

The pool area was the absolute best way to relax after a month of safari. The quietness of sleeping all day on the pool lounge was the absolute best way to relax after a month of safari. Our Garden room had a balcony in front of the big garden . We sit and chat to many happy guests became our friends as we shared each other’s our travel ideas.
Food. We were so happy to discover this place and to know that for each meal we tried literally were served a freshly picked coconut or mango, fresh spices or freshly caught fish to order (catch of the day).

Langilangi was the perfect for us' we both wanted in this trip. I can see why many people we met keep returning here year after year.

Room Tip: Many clients told us sea view are bigger but we are happy with our garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We knew we had made the right choice of a place we need as soon as we arrived on the island, paradise found. Fast check in at reception with an introduction to the services and facilities available at the resort from Langilangi the truly excellent . The our Roof top room we had booked exceeded our expectations, quiet with fantastic views from the beach just a few meters away. shower, room was huge, very comfortable large bed and plenty of hanging storage space, the air con was really good as well. .
Restaurants and bars arround the area+ were all excellent, first class service, excellent choice and variety of menus all freshly cooked that was never repeated during our two week stay. Special mention and thanks to our waiter and chefs who made the most amazing meals, not forgetting our cool driver old funny man,

We'd highly recommend this island and langilangi to anyone.

Room Tip: be careful of beach boys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A really wonderful trip made special by the friendly and attentive staff. The peacefull and a great escape! The Zanzibar are an incredible part of the world and worth a visit - an absoloute must if you are into snorkelling!

The atmosphere in the evening is very special, you get a warm smile from every staff member and take a sett for dinner right on the terrace, candle light... so romantic, simply perfect for us.

The Food is exceptional, every day we try different meal. all were prefect, well sometime slow service but hey these is Africa, and we do not need to rush.

Me and my partner we wanted a place own by local and run by local, and Langilangi is one of them, some staff can not speak good english but they try their best. sometime just a smile is a good language.

Thank you very much for this amazing experience

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have just returned from Zanzibar and stayed at Langilangi Resort. This is a truly beautiful resort in a beautiful location with an amazing beach. The staff were so warm and friendly, nothing was too much for them. From the minute we arrived to our departure we felt special. We have travelled a lot and this is the only holiday where we have not had any complaints. The resort, staff and ambiance was way beyond our expectations. The food was excellent. We had a beach front room which was just amazing .

It was trip to our friend wedding . All the staff helped to make our day truly amazing and special and we have to say a special thank you to Rasta chef who was so helpful and treat us free cooking class. It was very hard for us to leave Zanzibar and Langilangi Resort. A beautiful island with warm friendly people. We shall definitely visit Zanzibar again and Langilangi Resort will be the only place we will stay. Thank you to all the staff at Langilangi
Lucas

Room Tip: Ask Rasta chef for anyhelp
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nungwi
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,177 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#11 of 19 in Nungwi
345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langi Langi Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langi Langi Beach Bungalows

Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langi Langi Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LangiLangi Beach Bunaglows is located in Nungwi, Zanzibar. The hotel has got a total of 34 rooms which are Standard Garden Room, Pool Room, Seaview Suite, Marhaba Suite and Royal Zanzibari Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Langi Langi Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langilangi Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Langilangi Beach Hotel
Langilangi Beach Resort All Inclusive
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing