We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to be!”
Review of Amaan Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amaan Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I traveled from Nigeria and stayed 3 nights at Amaan Beach Bungalows, Nungwi Beach, Zanzibar. I had a great experience. The staff are very nice, warm and welcoming. The environment, rooms and services rendered are perfect! Also, the General Manager Mr. Gilbert, is a great host! I will definitely visit Amaan Beach Bungalows again.

Bola, Nigeria.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adebola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Adebola, thank you very much for your compliment about your holiday experience with us. i can't wait to tell you that within the shortest time you stayed with us, you earned a very big reputation of how you easily became a darling of each and every staff. The entire staff say you are very friendly and they always ask me when is your next visit to Amaan Beach Bungalows. everyone one of them misses your infectious smile.
We as a company wish you the best of luck in all you do and hoping to see you soon. Give our warm greetings to your family and friends. God Bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Amaan Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 554 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We ended our 2 week holiday with 5 days in Nungwi and stayed here. The room was clean, simple and stylish, but closer inspection shows that some of the workmanship is a bit bodged! Breakfast buffet was okay but not brilliant, it would have been great to actually have fresh coffee at breakfast rather than instant.

The pool was very good with easy access to the beautiful beach with its perfect white sands.

We would be happy to stay here again next time we visit Nungwi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

It is my sincere hope that you reached home well. thank you very much for kindly taking your precious time in writing this good response about Amaan Beach Bungalows. many humble greetings from the entire staff of Amaan Beach Bungalows. we all wish you a very best time back at home and wishing to see you again the soonest possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 4 nights, and found the location to be amazing, lots of little restaurants to explore as well as plenty. Places to take trips for snorkelling. We were however not very pleased with our room, we stayed in a deluxe room as the garden rooms were all full and so had to pay in for a *better* room. We arrived all excited for our 'Deluxe` but what we found was a dark and dingy room with a musty smell, there was one tiny window that provided no light, no bedside tables and a very very basic bathroom. The room was clean and functional, but a little extra effort would have gone a long way!. Breakfast was not very organised , with there often being empty dishes. However the staff were pleasant and the food was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We value all guest responses and this is why we are improving each and every day. We are working on changing the lighting system to be more bright. we opted to fixing dim lighting bulbs because most of our clients deemed fit to have bulbs that are not very bright. Because we value every client we are coming up with lighting in the deluxe rooms that will be favorable to meet both clients needs.
Thank you very much and welcome again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We did not book this place ourself but it was included in a safari + Zanzibar trip. We stayed for two nights and had one of the garden rooms in section G. It was kind of the backyard of the whole area, not close to beach or pool. Good thing was that it was really quiet. The room was clean and basic.

Pool area was really nice, also the restaurant is well situated with beautiful sea view. And the beach is really good at this part of Zanzibar!

Because of the surroundings this would have been a perfect place but the service was quite poor. The first lunch at the restaurant was the worst - waiting a long time, them changing our orders without asking, one totally lost order, waiting again...We tried also massage and henna tattoos with not so good experiencies. It seems that some of the ladies are just random local people with no experience of giving massage / doing henna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna_tre2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

During this time of the year we experience heavy bookings and many tourist flocking in our restaurants for the very delicious food that our chef and his kitchen crew prepares. this is the time that at times errors at rare occasions occurs. however the guest is always a KING and you will never be disappointed again in your next visit. we have put in place another beautiful kitchen and an open spacious restaurant named the grill kitchen and a sports bar beside it. We care for you all and we do not want you to line up in one area as waiting a little bit longer at times really frustrates most customers. In your next visit you will enjoy the varsity of using both restaurants and will never again experience this scenario.
Come again and you will be glad to have 100% quality service delivery. thank you for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

With a great hospitality they are welcoming you.You never feel as a foreigner in the hotel,All of the staff is very nice and kind .Rooms are very clean,bathrooms/washrooms are very wide and clean. Prices are resonable especially for fresh sea food.
Sea and beach is wonderful.During low tide you walk on the beach and see and collect fascinating sea stars.High tide is very exciting,sea is coming near by you right under the restaurant/ cafe.
I recomend to everyone who wants to stay in Zanzibar to have good and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your family,they have interconnecting rooms both having sea and pool viev...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FATIH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Fatih B,
Thank you very much for your positive response about us. we shall always be there for you at all times. kindly give our regards to your family and friends back at home. Tell them not to miss the best chance of visiting us in future. May God bless you in all you do back home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Best value for money in Zanzibar. First class. We were treated like royalty. The management and staff definitely know how to look after you. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We had the most amazing lobster/seafood that was barbequed for us only 3 meters from our table which was overlooking the cristal clear water. We ate regularly in the restaurant as the food was delicious. Do yourself a favour and have the spring rolls. We had them every day we were there. If you like spicy food ask for "pili pili ho ho" (not sure if its spelled correctly), its their extremely delicious and very spicy chillies (served seperate) we had it with everything. Yum....

The rooms were superb. Very clean. We had a sea view room which was well worth the extra money. Literally right on the beach.

Its not my first trip to Zanzibar nor the last. It is, however the last time i need to look for different hotels. Will stay here every time.
(Beautiful bar overlooking the sea with 2 big screen telly's to watch any super important sports matches)
Thank you to staff and management, good job guys. Keep it up.

Room Tip: Pool view or sea view. Its worth paying more, especially for the beach room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j88j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

"POLE POLE"!!!! slowly slowly correct meaning of the swahili words. You were to spice it with the words HAKUNA MATATA!!. I will leave you to get the meaning our quick learning Guest.

Thank you very much for being so open and express how well you were treated by each one of us and welcome once more to experience even more than before.

"KARIBU TENA" (welcome again).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just returned from the most amazing holiday at Amaan Bungalows in Zanzibar... The sea view rooms are incredible with the most phenomenal views and the ocean lapping UNDER your balcony at hight tide!!! The views from the balcony is awe inspiring with the most beautiful sunsets and dhows slowly cruising past.
The beach is (quite literally) 20 steps away - with crystal clear waters that begs one to swim and swim and swim.... Which we did all day!!
The facilities is modern yet retains the essence of Zanzibar. Lovely Sunset Bar and Grill on the deck with the same breathtaking views as from the Sea View Rooms. The bar is well stocked and the service was truly excellent. Combined with with live cooking at the Sunset Grill and one cannot ask for more.
It was not difficult to fall into the easygoing lifestyle that the locals call "Pole Pole", which means slowly slowly.
This is a must do and I will highly recommend this.

Room Tip: DEFINITELY pay the extra bit and get a Sea View Room - you will not regret it!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hare G, General Manager at Amaan Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

This wonderful response won the hearts of the entire staff of Amaan Beach Bungalows. Thank you very much and as always, i share all the guest responses with my staff. you were such an mazing guests and we wanted you to stay longer. You stayed for a couple of nights but every staff really enjoyed your company.

This is your second home and do not hesitate to book agaon and stay with us we are now a team. Many "JAMBO" from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langi Langi Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaan Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaan Bungalows

Address: | Nungwi Beach, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: $83 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaan Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amaan Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaan Beach Bungalows Hotel Nungwi
Amaan Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing