We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach but rooms need an upgrade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice beach but rooms need an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Lovely beach location, totally away from the backpacker crowds in Nunguwi, although it could be too quiet for some people.

The rates advertised on the website do no reflect value for money. The rooms are clean but could do with an upgrade. For example our bathroom had a broken toilet seat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAngelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    47
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
27
67
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

This little hotel is divine and offers incredible value. The property sits on the best stretch of pristine beachfront in Nungwi with sand like white sugar. I am impressed with the staff's attention to detail and everyone's desire to overservice and satisfy each and every guest. I am a vegetarian and the chef has gone out of his way to make special dishes just for me. The rooms all face the sea; although basic they are fine. Reading some of the earlier reviews I was concerned about staying here, but think the negativity was due to a former manager.

Martin, the current manager - a Welshman has made my stay perfect and by luck the hotel owner Kathy who is here now has added to the enjoyment. Both are experts on the island and culture and dedicate their days to perfecting each guest's stay. I could not ask for a more perfect island escape - this is a real slice of paradise!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maumauJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2010

A quite little place on a beautiful beach, very relaxing. Martin, the manager, made my stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

That hotel has been a phantastic relaxing and very enjoyable place. No busy tourism, a stunning view, long beach walks, almost no moscitos, very good food and attentive staff! It felt like home - but a lot more beautiful. I loved to live at that place and would get back everytime again! If you ever go: Don´t forget to watch the sunrise over the sea!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

The service was Amazing! We went in December 2009.
The staff, especially Martin, really goes out of their ways to help you : We were able to use internet for free, borrowed a beach towel for our diving/snorkeling trip, Martin helped us set up our diving/snorkeling trip with the Spanish Dancer Dive Center on the other side of the island, the rooms were simple but very clean… and what a view!!! The view was simply mesmerizing. The food was also very good, we had a bbq one evening, a choice for lunch, eggs and fruits in the morning, and tea and coffee is always available. If you want some time to relax, do nothing, enjoy some peace and quiet time you are at the right place. This side of the island and Sazani Beach Hotel in particular is very very quiet. You pretty much have the beach to yourself. At Sazani Beach Hotel, they also have hammocks and long chairs that you can enjoy without a charge, but there is no swimming pool there. The rooms don’t have air conditioning, which would not be a problem normally because each room as a ceiling fan. However, when we went, Zanzibar had been without electricity for a month… so everyone was running on generators, which meant that in an effort to save on power, the ceiling fans were turned off between 11.00 pm and 7.00 am, which meant that it got pretty hot in December. At times there was little water pressure for showering, but that is not uncommon for Africa. Overall, we had a great time at Sazani Beach Hotel. We recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slinky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

read the reviews, had doubts but these all faded away as we walked to our room. What a location, hidden away at the end of a track, a tropical paradise. Rooms were clean, food was great, if you like fish fresh from the ocean, not so good for the meat eaters. Heard stories about the old manager in the village, sounded a character who liked his drink a bit too much the new one Mousin was very attentive, couldnt ask for more, had a fantastic dive trip with Spanish Dancer arranged through the hotel. What ever went wrong for the last two reviewers didnt happen to us, totally fab and hope to go back one day, had

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mapledorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Sazani Beach hotel was clearly a great place back in the day (if you look at the older reviews, it sounds like the management made this place very special). Sadly, it has become a shadow of its former self: it is very run down, the beach is dirty, it has an abandoned and disheveled feel, and it desperately needs major renovation.

Why didn't we just run a mile when we checked in (we were the only people staying there)? Because we were tired from a big trip, the location is amazing (the stretch of beach south and north of the hotel is fantastic), and because we kind of liked having the entire place to ourselves. We also vaguely enjoyed the challenge of making sure we still enjoyed ourselves despite the lodgings!

OK, so here is what we did not find appealing: the mosquito nets were old, musty, and full of holes (solution: we put tape over the holes), the room was really damp smelling (solution: burn incense), and there was trash littered around the hotel and the beach (solution: we tried to clean it up ourselves).

The whole place reminded us a little of a dirtier and unkempt version of Derek Jarman's famous garden (http://www.flickr.com/photos/angusf/sets/656542/).

There were, however, a few nice touches: flowers on our bed when we arrived and more flowers when the room was made up in the morning; good breakfasts.

All in all, however, we recommend that you stay elsewhere.

In fact, you should spend just $40 more per night and stay next door at the lovely Ras Nungwe, a gorgeously designed luxury boutique hotel that is impeccable (you feel as if you're in a Travel and Leisure magazine as you wander round the grounds). One of the reasons we enjoyed our stay at Sazani is that we basically hung out at Ras Nungwe: we had lunch there one day, and dinner another, which gave us permission to hang out by the pool and take advantage of all the freebies (cookies in the afternoon, cocktails and appetizers by the pool in the evening).

We also had a terrific day of snorkeling, arranged by Sazani (they have some really lovely and helpful staff; it really is a terrible shame that the hotel has gone to ruin).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMY68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#13 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Property: Sazani Beach Lodge
Address: Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahilli style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing