We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation at Sazani Beach”
Review of Sazani Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sazani Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2007

Sazani Beach is a wonderful, casual, laid-back place.
Simple but nice rooms and bathrooms - we esp. loved the large Swahili beds - best hotel bed I have ever slept in.
Beautiful garden leading down to the most wonderful beach - a very relaxed place.
We ended up having all our meals at Sazani - they serve great fish and seafood at excellent prices - and they make super cocktails :-)
If you want to be social this is a great place to meet other travellers - there's a very pleasant atmosphere - esp. because of Mike, the manager, who's a very nice person, who makes everybody feel welcome.
It's a place I'd feel save to travel to on my own.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DotDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 169 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2006

Great place if you don't mind a lot of rough around the edges while getting something authentic, scenically wonderful, a little quirky. It's for those who know a good thing and are willing to put up with minor creature discomforts. Cold water showers (who couldn't love them in the hot tropics?). Simple rooms with unnecessary mosquito netting over the beds (there are not mosquitoes to speak of). Concrete floors. Basic beauty, privacy, great character of a manager. If you love Maho Bay on St. John USVI, you'll love this place. Not for people who want room service.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2006

This is a very fun alternative to Ras Nungwi hotel right next door.
The beach is wonderful, and it is very laid back indeed. You get your own drinks from the bar but the atmosphere is great and it is jolly good value. The guy who runs it, Mike, is very charning though a bit eccentric, the more so as the evening goes on. But a great place if you like a feel yourself at home kind of place.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Taycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: the closest to the beach the better , if you don't mind the sound of the waves :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurizio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WienHelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Siggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.3 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Nungwi
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warere Beach Hotel
Warere Beach Hotel
#11 of 19 in Nungwi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#4 of 19 in Nungwi
655 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 19 in Nungwi
1,143 reviews
1.5 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 19 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sazani Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sazani Beach Lodge

Address: Sazani Rd., Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Nungwi
Price Range: $82 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sazani Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like a castaway at our 10 room beach lodge, a perfect paradise for beach lovers, kite surfers and divers. An oasis of calm just five minute taxi ride from Nungwi's busy strip of music bars and hotels. Our bungalows are designed in a traditional Swahili style with coconut thatch roofs in a tropical garden setting, each with a sea view and sandy path down to our secluded pristine beach and the turquoise ocean. Stay with us and help us to develop our sustainability ethos to be an environmentally and socially responsible lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sazani Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sazani Beach Lodge Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing