We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
96
50
12
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
50
12
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 171 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spend 10 days (too short!) at Sazani during February 2013. Perfect location! Beautiful, tranquil, private and only 20 minutes' walk away from the hustle and bustle of Nungwi village. My room was basic, clean, authentically decorated, spaciously comfortable with a seaview. The tides create a constant change of scenery and determine the activities for the day. Food, although basic, was always fresh and deliciously prepared. And according to my own personal survey – Sazani makes the best Pina Coladas in the area!
Nikki (the manager) and her very friendly staff are the heart and soul of Sazani. Thank you Nikki, for making me feel so welcome and creating this very homely atmosphere, connecting people, leaving us with beautiful memories!

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms inside, but mine(no. 9)was perfect!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights and completely chilled out, the hotel was just outside the local village about 15mins drive which suited us great as you didn't get anyone harnessing you on beach. Also they had security patrolling, which being two girls made us feel very secure. Our breakfast every morning was fab we got fresh juices made to our tastes and fresh pancakes if we wanted which were amazing! They had great menu for lunch and dinner which we took advantage of most nights. Rooms were basic but had everything you needed and were cleaned everyday, very little bugs too. The view from this hotel blew us away, its really something to have sipping over your beverage at sundown!! The manager Nikki was very friendly and helped us do some tours and advise us on local restaurants etc her yoga was very popular too. If I was coming back I'd be staying here again, it was brilliant value for money and the staff were lovely which just makes ur holiday so much better!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is the perfect place to disconnect en to rest in quietness.
We stayed at this hotel the second week of January 2013.
The hotel is well placed with a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean.
Its build in a nice traditional style architecture.
The actual manager, Nikki is very nice and relax. The staff is really friendly.
The daily maintenance is mainly good. Room, paths , beach are daily more or less cleaned.
It's a pity that the infrastructure is old and not maintained.
Beds are to short (about 185 cm). Rugs, mosquito nets, bathrooms, cousins, are old and not really clean and looks like not replaced in years. What cost a rug in Zanzibar? Maybe 10 dollar? This is not a big investment and it would make such a difference!!!
Breakfast is nice, with nice omelet and coffee.( The best we drunk in Zanzibar) but again sugar pot is not really clean and not well maintained etc, etc.
One only evening we had dinner there. The food was cold, de spinach where full of sand. No good for the price!!!
And nevertheless if we go back to Zanzibar I would probably go back to Sazani beach to stay.
We only missed what the name Sazani means (Swahili for "a bit extra"), but we enjoy sun, rest and beach, without shouting Italians or Polish people around. Note that I have nothing against italians and polish people, yes against shouting people in nature. It's a pity but you find those in other places in Zanzibar.
One last thing: go now to Zanzibar, because I think that in a few years its going to become the new Ibiza. I hope not!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I was very disappointed by Sazani beach hotel. Not because I had high expectations because at the rate charged you don't expect the Ritz. The disappointing thing for me was that the basics weren't attended to. The bathroom in our room was absolutely filthy. They come in and tidy the room every day but Idon't think they heard of bleach or other cleaning products. The restaurant served a decent breakfast but was overrun by flys which further indicates the lack of cleaning products. As other reviewers have noted the lunch and dinner is not worth having as it takes so long to be served and you are a decent taxi ride to find something else to eat. Probably the worst bit of all was seeing how nice Ras Nungwi (next door) was in comparison. Power outages are common (i.e. every night) and this hotel does not have a generator which means rooms can resemble dark saunas. The beach itself is beautiful and this place could be great but just isn't.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPdP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sazanibeach, Owner at Sazani Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Im really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sazani Beach.

We are a small family run beach lodge and yours is the first review since 2007 that has complained about cleanliness or the quality of our food. Our website provides an honest portrayal of our hotel and our drive towards sustainability.

We do not claim to be a 4 star resort and Im not sure why you compare us to Ras Nungwi, which one would hope have a different standard of facilities, as their rooms and meals are 4x the price of ours.

Everything we serve and prepare is fresh and sourced locally . The cuisine is a fusion of spice island and european flavours. We do not have an a la carte menu, instead a changing menu of daily specials. While we cannot please all tastes, we cater as best we can for dietary requirements and specialise in seafood.

With regard to power fluctuations, the hotel is in the process of relying on solar power rather than the mains that as you have witnessed is unreliable. There are two generators as back up but at 3am in the morning, on an outgoing tide when the sea breeze it at its stillest, we will have made a judgement call as to whether or not to start them and wake everyone as noise is so much louder at night or not. Obviously the wrong choice was made from your perspective.


That said, if you were so unhappy with everything, why was nothing said to the General Manager, who as an amazing chef in her own right as well as running as tight a ship as possible in Zanzibar, would have done her utmost to make your stay a more pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at Sazani for a week in december and had the best time. The rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. Small things like when we arrived and the staff had placed beatiful flowers on the bed and elsewhere around the room, just made the difference. The included breakfast was great and had everything you could wish for.

The location of Sazani is superb and the beach right outside the hotel is probably the best around nungwi - we didnt see any stretch of beach next to the other resorts or in nungwi that came even close!

The manager Nikki was very sweet and attentive and a great yoga teacher as well. She helped us plan visits to Stone Town, arranged diving trips and together with the rest of the stafff, who were also fantastic, made sure that we had great week at the hotel.

Go there and experience it for yourself - we only have the highest recommendations for this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madsjespersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews