We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best resort in Zanzibar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent our honeymoon there in Nov-2012. Fantastic hotel, super-friendly staff and brilliant facilities. Although buffet style food in the restaurant, we never felt we were charter tourists - quality of food was excellent and fresh, and the variety huge.

Best beach I have ever been on. Like a giant hot tub. Correct that, that would be the pool. Ocean is just magical. We would go back in a heartbeat! Be sure to take the all-inclusive option!!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the views
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RasmusKJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
There are newer reviews for Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Let me first point out the positives of this hotel: it's clean and has a nice beach. The bartender Masoud (at the pool) is wonderful and attentive and makes the best cappuccinos. That's it. Now, let me gather my thoughts for the negatives: first of all, the food is horrible. Every meal is served buffet style and there is lots of food but nothing actually edible. We spent New Years here and were terribly disappointed. Under cooked calamari and langoustines, stale desserts, and beef and chicken dishes that were way too salty. This is everyday ...not just NYE. About the only thing they do well is Indian food and there is little of that prepared. We ordered 4 different bottles of wine only to discover they were out of ALL. This took about 45 minutes for the waiter to relay this information to us. The seafood restaurant that is supposed to be the best on the island was €900 for 7 people ( including wine) and every dish was overlooked and it took 45 minutes to receive the food. We paid for the wine and the manager removed all food from our bill. Service is very slow throughout the hotel. There is no wifi in the rooms, at the pool or jetty bar. Wifi is only at the reception way at the top of the hill. Very inconvenient. The music/ dj is horrible!! He plays nothing fun or current and it's a sure bet that it will cause you to leave the jetty bar or fall asleep as he plays ballads and 80's theme music from movies. We actually asked him to hook up our iPod and play that instead. He played 1 song and went back to his St Elmo's Fire soundtrack music. The manager, Morkle, is polite but seems indifferent to any suggestions, questions or advice about the resort or island. Pool is full of kids and this resort is pretty much all families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent 6 days in this resort after 6 days of safari in Tanzania. The venue is beautiful, gardens are extremely well maintained, pool is beautiful and with salt water, and the beach is not affected by tides which is great and not the case everywhere else in Zanzibar. Food is really excellent and various in the main restaurant. However, the restaurant at the pool for lunch time is not great, but it is great for dinner with excellent pizzas.
Rooms are bit too small for the new standards and furniture is a bit outdated but still very clean and well maintained.
The 2 main concerns for me: old and outdates equipment for watersports, especially windsurfing but it seems this is going to be solved soon with brand new equipment, and the wifi is not stable and not strong enough is the rooms.
Overall we have had a great experience and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms for the view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spend good money to enjoy our holidays with kids, and that is how we land up in resorts like ' la Gemma but it also to tell the owners and the responsible authorities that during our three night stay in all inclusive package and the food during all the breakfasts were identical...for lunches identical stuff ......and for dinners also same every day.

Your administrative staff eats before the guests at very meal and many a time the food was insufficient for the guests, so see what is happening over here.

For Indians and Asians there is almost nothing different to eat the second day.

The staff winds up fifteen minutes prior to the schedule time at the restaurants.

The house keeping staff is reluctant to clean the rooms.

Wi-fi doesn't work in rooms.

Gym is pathetic.

We tried to manage with kid-sport and the dances to pass time.

Due to location everything could be managed, otherwise except a few all the staff is rude.

Please do something about it....

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms ground floor are airy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Abhisheknupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We arrived att his hotel after being in other part of the island, and this is the place to be, absolutely perfect. Here the tides don't affect you, you can swim and do watersports all day. Also, very important, locals don't bother you while being in the beach. Really it's the place where to be. Other beaches in the island are very disappointing. The food excellent, the rooms very nice..

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

From the time you arrived to the tie you left all the staff made it their mission to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Food drink and entertainment were all good but it was the service level that made the holiday.

Room Tip: Security within the resort is great but just be aware when in public areas.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. Every thing is just perfect. It was my second time in la gemma d'el Est. I have visited also Dream of Zanzibar but la gemma is super nice.
Food is good. Junior Suite is ok.
I recommend this hotel to all especially families and couples.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Fliss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
15.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,599 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamonds Star of the East
14.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,645 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $344 - $768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing