We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect, paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Espagne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect, paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived att his hotel after being in other part of the island, and this is the place to be, absolutely perfect. Here the tides don't affect you, you can swim and do watersports all day. Also, very important, locals don't bother you while being in the beach. Really it's the place where to be. Other beaches in the island are very disappointing. The food excellent, the rooms very nice..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    266
    76
    30
    18
See reviews for
261
617
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

From the time you arrived to the tie you left all the staff made it their mission to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. Food drink and entertainment were all good but it was the service level that made the holiday.

Room Tip: Security within the resort is great but just be aware when in public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This place is awesome. Every thing is just perfect. It was my second time in la gemma d'el Est. I have visited also Dream of Zanzibar but la gemma is super nice.
Food is good. Junior Suite is ok.
I recommend this hotel to all especially families and couples.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliss L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Resort with my family and I must say what a disappointing week it was. The Hotel itself is very well done though a bit modern looking and out of place in the island of Zanzibar and the beach/sea is amazing. However this us where it ends as when it comes to service levels the hotel is in one word - Pathetic.

Having stayed at the other Diamond Resort (Dream of Africa) in Malindi (Kenya) our expectations may have been sky high but were swiftly brought down crashing from day one of our stay. The hotel staff do not seem to understand service. You will have to ask for a cup of coffee 3 times before it is brought to your table. There is no flexibility in the staff and their training leaves a lot to be desired. I was there at the resort with my family and had my child who was 5 years old and we requested if the pool side bar would make us a plate of chips as the child was hungry and we had to catch a flight with our next potential meal about 5 hours away but we were swiftly told by the manager - Christopher that they could not do this for us even for a child. Surely a child's demand should have been met. Every step of the way we got the feeling that the staff did not really care about the guests and I did not see management overly concerned about this.

For a hotel the service makes or breaks the hotel so when you get such poor service it leaves a sour taste in your mouth and I would highly ask families to reconsider before booking this resort as the staff and management are highly inefficient and least concerned about making your stay a good one.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jinit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Group vacation in Zanzibar, great place, not quite sure if in comparison with other all inclusives its a 5 start but its minimum a 4. The friendly staff most defiinitely get A+ for effort, they went way out of their way to make us feel at home and accomodate our every need.

While personal service (Butler for our 4 room villa) was OUTSTANDING the maintenance of said rooms specially the A/C units was less than desireable. To be 4 stars attention to detail, quality and maintenance of villa's and rooms need to be stepped up.

As for the rest.... the grounds impeccable! The food OUTSTANDING (and I really dont like buffet's). Note if you want to eat out be prepared for long... long rides.

Recommend you kick back with or without your kiddies, plan a sailing trip on the kat "Julia" and just enjoy doing absolutely nothing... or dive, snorkle, swim, run, etc etc etc...

Room Tip: If you can get 5 couples... take the presidential villa. It has its own pool and hopefully its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Had a great Holiday at Diamonds la Gemma back in 2010. The Beach and pool area are awesome. Staff service was always friendly and helpful. Food was very good - lots of choices and loads of fresh fish. Our only complaint was the Air Conditioning in the rooms would go off during the night (the island had regular power cuts at night) and then not re-start. So I would wake up sweating and have to turn the A/C back on as it did not have an auto-restart function. This was 3 years ago so maybe they have upgraded the A/C units since then.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I share a passion for travelling, and when we got married last year we both agreed that a fantastic honeymoon was required. We had had some pretty incredible beach holidays (Bali, Cuba, Sri Lanka...) and knew our standards would be demanding for a suitably outstanding place to spend our first weeks as newlyweds. Diamonds La Gemma did the trick perfectly.

The room included direct access to a garden and patio with views of the ocean (great at sunset). The hotel had a private beach, and you could also walk miles in each direction along the main beach strip - there were touts as you walked but they were friendly if persistent.

The food was incredible -- we've been to plenty of lovely resorts where the food gets very tiresome but (unfortunately for our waistlines) there was a great selection and ever so delicious. We could have done without the cringeworthy touristy "theme nights" but fortunately they were only once a week. We enjoyed the different bars (pool, especially the one out on the water, up by the restaurant) and the food was amazing (though could have done without the birds who were especially aggressive at breakfast).

The one flaw was the "gym" - a single hut (open to the elements and not air conditioned) which had a couple of pieces of old workout equipment (which didn't actually work). I would have loved an air conditioned gym with even a few pieces of working cardio equipment. The lack of exercise facilities coupled with the amazing food left me with an extra 10 pounds! Admittedly, I may have needed some of that weight after a long pre-wedding exercise regimen, but I could have done without that particular souvenir and missed my daily exercise (though we did enjoy some great walks on the beach).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplover82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
15.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
14.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
22.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Property: Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing