We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time staying at la gemma for two nights from the 16th of October 2013, love the food , the only downside was the rooms were too small and cleaness was not as expected overal it was alright , wouldnt want to go back though.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saira o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    260
    76
    30
    18
See reviews for
255
612
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just had 3 nights as La Gemma at the end of two weeks touring Tanzania and Zanzibar. We don't normally do the all inclusive thing but it was quite welcome given that we had overspent on much of the previous trip!

The resort is beautiful - a lovely pier, beach, pool and gardens. The buffet was first class but after three days we were starting to get itchy feet and would have probably tried the pizza or a-la carte (extra cost) options if we stayed longer. The 'included' wine was very drinkable! The spa had some great treatments but the prices were on par with European spas.

Our deluxe room was first rate - I think it had just been refurbished. If you want to be picky the bathroom wasn't quite up to the standard of the room. There was a lot of refurbishment work being completed when we stayed - so noisy drilling and hammering close to our room which lasted most of the day. But no big deal as we spent most of the day by the pool or on the (man made) beach.

The staff were very friendly and you can learn a little Swahili on the beach each day - Jambo!

On our last evening we booked a sunset dow sail - which was the perfect end to a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights at the end of a two week safari, looking for some relaxation at the end of a busy trip. We were very pleasantly surprised by almost all aspects of this resort. The grounds are simply spectacular and well maintained. The rooms (especially bathrooms) have obviously been recently updated. New AC units are being installed. Everywhere we went, staff was quietly making repairs and upgrades. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was great, despite comments I have seen elsewhere to the contrary.

An oasis of calm and tranquility on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramble5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is set in beautifully manicured gardens with lots of exotic plants and some growing in Zanzibar’s natural rock /fossil formation. Bourganvilla’s in hues of pink and orange stream over the roofs making it picture perfect. Suites are at the far end of the hotel and quite a long walk to the dining area. Golf carts to take you to the dining area are seldom available. A variety of salads, soups, meat and fish dishes, and desserts were available. A fish station and a pasta station offered freshly made servings. Dining attendants however, seem in an awful hurry to clear up, while meals are still in progress. Plates and food are cleared away while you are fetching an additional serving. The female waffle maker disappears or yawns unprofessionally while making waffles; or expects you to take chewy waffles made an hour ago. Definitely not five star quality!!

The turquoise blue clear water is ideal for swimming in at low tide or between tides. A restaurant, bar and a Moroccan style hookah smoking lounge are based on stilts in the sea; ideal area for watching amazing sunsets and dhows passing by. Sunset walk is a lovely wooden slatted pathway to the swimming pool area. Some of the planks however, seem dangerously loose.

Rooms are comfortably large but with old style furnishings and uncomfortable screeching mattresses doubled into one king size bed. The shower cubicle in the suite is 2 star standard, for a 5 star hotel. Used hand and foot towels are not replaced in the evening. Tatty thin towels are definitely 2 star standard!! Towel service at the reception area is very poor, and we kept a tour bus waiting twenty minutes although two reminders were called through the night before.

Cell phone coverage in suites was not available.Electricity tripped regularly requiring airconditioning to be reset continuously - frustrating!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are closer to the dining area. Suites are very distant and electric carts are seldom av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and had an amazing time. The views are simply stunning - your own paradise, with a beautiful beach and pool. The inclusive buffet and beach bar are fantastic also, with fresh fish every day, cooked to order. We were so relaxed here and cannot recommend it enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vaderag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

An absolutely stunning resort. Quite big but well spread out so it never felt busy. The grounds were simply amazing. Colour everwhere and maintained to a really high level. Beach area raised above the high water mark so you feel as though you are on a beach but without any of the beach vendors. The service by all staff was first rate. If you take plenty of single dollar bills for small tips, it will be appreciated, the 'all inclusive' nature means that guests tend not to give tips for service. Some of the room staff are supporting whole extended families. Huge choice of food in main restaurant and the other restaurants although not all part of the 'all inclusive' package. The seafood restaurant on the pier was particularly good but quite expensive. As a 'one off' treat it was well worth the cost.
Would suggest the deluxe rooms on level 3 (we had 322) as it is best for sunsets and sea view. They are disguised into the hill by bougainvillea, frangipani and oleander. However the 'price' is the walk up the slope and steps from the beach. For the less mobile there are beach buggies that can be called to take you around.
The resort was originally built by the Italians and European 2 pin plug sockets are everywhere. Visitors from England should bring adaptors as there is only one 3 pin UK plug socket in a room.
Overall a superb resort well away from the slum areas that you will probbaly see on the way from the airport. On northern tip of island which makes a good choice when southerly winds blowing (say july/August).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
365 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night escape here prior to a visit to the safaris on mainland Africa. You could completely spoil yourself here, with pool, beach, water sports like diving and snorkelling, bar, massages and gym and buffet food-which had a great selection and was different every day. We opted to use the user pays restaurants for 2 nights for a more intimate experience and enjoyed the quieter surrounds and attentive staff. The drive there is quite a long way from Stone Town, but our drive was broken up by a visit to the Jozani Forest and a spice farm, both of which were interesting. The resort is a beautiful place and we enjoyed relaxing there with beautiful sunset views every night, with plenty of staff and security guards, feeling very safe and pampered. It was an oasis for us to relax away from the demands of our busy world and the world outside. However, we elected one day on an adventurous outing to the closest village, Nungwi and turtle conservation area. Now, you can happily close your eyes when you stay in a resort in any 3rd world country and be oblivious to the people who live outside the fenced boundary, or you can get out and actually see how they live. You can take a taxi there and back organised through reception. Instead, we chose to walk up the beach. We were intercepted and harassed many times by hawkers and people offering to be our guide at the turtle sanctuary. You can just learn to shake them off politely or you can actually engage with them for a while. We talked with a guy who was over here from mainland Kenya and after he talked with us for a while we gave him a small tip. He was a mine of great information. We visited the turtle conservation area, which was trying to do its bit to protect 2 species of endangered sea turtles. We got to hold one and feed some, but the surroundings were very 3rd world. There is a small fee to enter and listen to a short guided talk. (It was not Seaworld, with multimedia and shows!) We ate lunch at a gorgeous little tent cafe right outside the turtle area. We had local fresh-caught fish and thoroughly enjoyed the beauty and remoteness of our location. A local guy befriended us and organised a walking tour of Nungwi village. It was great to see the local boat builder, fish auction and a woman grinding grain and making rope from coconut husk the traditional way. We were only allowed to take photos of specific things and had to respect the people. This is where real people live- in dirt and dust and poverty and they must get upset when we gawk and take photos. We knew some people who just walked unguided through the village and their experience was completely different to ours. We paid for our guide and really learned something about their way of life. It was not a welcoming place, though and not for everyone. I can say the locals tolerated our visit and we did not feel overtly threatened- but there were surly scowls from most people we passed, especially if you took a photo and they were accidentally in it. We walked though the school and though we couldn't take photos, this is the place we felt least threatened, as the kids were just as curious about us as we were about them- and some of them smiled at us. If you don't want to know or don't care...stay in the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beetrootears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
22.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#5 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est

Property: Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Address: Nungwi Road, Nungwi 2019, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nungwi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within exotic tropical gardens and water features inviting guests to enjoy the pristine view over the Indian Ocean, Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est is located on the north-western shores of the magical spice island of Zanzibar. This enchanting, luxurious and environmentally friendly resort is famous for its magnificent beach and large wharf built onto the open waters of the Indian Ocean and stretches out towards the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds La Gemma Dell` Est Hotel Zanzibar
La Gemma Dell Est Zanzibar
Gemma Del Est
Diamonds La Gemma Dell' Est Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing