We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$267
$239
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$668
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$344
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,368)
Filter reviews
1,368 results
Traveler rating
904
320
94
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
904
320
94
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican villagevilla clubsunset loungebeach grillcoral covestone towndeluxe roomafrican nightall inclusive packagesea breezeour honeymoonwater aerobicslunch and dinnerall inclusive hotelprivate beachpasta stationevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 1,368 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is a very good African 5 star resort. If people want US or European 5 star then expect to pay £1000 a night and not all inclusive.
Yes the rooms are a little basic however were very clean and a good size. I don't understand why people want to visit different cultures and stunning beach resorts but still require a 50'' flat screen in the room.
The food was excellent and plenty of choice. I had something different at every meal, every day.
What really makes the resort is the staff. All were very friendly and willing to help.
Steve 1509 hits the mark with his review.

Room Tip: Had 214 which gave good access to the bech but was posirioned high enough to give lovely views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BerkshireAwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Chose this hotel after using tripadvisor extensively to find a quality value for money hotel in Zanzibar and boy were we not disappointed!
After experiencing a week in paradise I look back at some of the negative reviews of this hotel and have a good chuckle to myself!!
The place is fantastic, the food fantastic, the rooms fantastic and all the staff too!!
People wrote about how the buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner is repetative..... well you have about 20 different meals to choose from at each sitting so I really don't see how they can say that!!
This is not a European 5 star hotel so don't come expecting a Waldorf Austoria... but it sure is an African 5+ star hotel and having travelled extensively in Africa... not much beats this place!
The pool area is stunning and don't forget to go snorkelling underneath the Thatch bar/restaurant that is in the ocean as we saw Lionfish, Batfish, Ghost pipe fish and huge schools of anchovies there!!
For diver like ourselves, Scuba Do is right there and they run a very professional operation... a trip to Mnemba Island is a must for a special diving or a snorkelling experience.
If I was to be REALLY picky... the only thing that was a little below par was the speed of the pool bar service... but then again... you just have to get off your @ss and go and get your drink yourself.
Myself and my wife had a fantastic time and have already suggested this hotel to many friends.. form honeymooners the families you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in 222 and were very happy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steve1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at La Gemma for the second week of our honeymoon in Tanzania. It was perfect for chilling out after a week of safari.

The beach was beautiful, and the grounds and pool areas were absolutely immaculate.

We stayed in a normal 'deluxe' room, which was a little ordinary for such a highly rated hotel. The normal food from the main dining area (covered under your all inclusive price) was pretty much the same every day, and so became a little boring after a few days. Paying extra to eat at either Sea Breeze or The Beach Grill was worth it though.

The watersport facilities available were fantastic, as was special 'African Village Buffet' laid on one evening... the staff really got into the spirit of things! Our maid also placed fresh flowers on our bed every day, with a little message, which was a nice touch!

Overall La Gemma is a great place. It's just a shame that the rooms are a little basic and dated, and the normal food isn't quite up to scratch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnutsfordBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed the first time with the Planhotel group. La Gemma dell' Est is be a beautiful Hotel; Lovely garden, very friendly staff and a good beach.

The Check- In was quick and they told us everything about the resort (opening hours of the restaurants etc.) unfortunately we haven't received any refreshment. Which would be nice for a Beach Resort. The rooms are ok but not on a 5 star basis at all. The TV is very old (but we actually never watched TV during our stay), the furniture is average and the bath, especially the shower is not 5 Star. In the night you could hear the air-cons of in the pathway which wasn't very enjoyable.

The Food is good. Very Italian but ok. The Restaurants are beautiful located. Especially the Beach Grill is a must.

The Beach was nice. But they have a serious problem with their ..... There was a very strong smell. Not nice. Water sport center is bad as well. The only thing which is included is the kayaking = boring.

The Gym was closed for 4 days without any notice. On our day of departure we went for some workout. No chance. The Machines were so old. They were not even plugged in.

Why do I give the Hotel a 3 Star-Rating: There was no supervisor or a manager around. I must correct myself, we have seen the general manager who was very rude. When he came in the restaurant all the staff was jumping around for him. He never came to the guests and asked them how they are or how they enjoy. NOTHING. He was just commanding the staff around to set his table so that he could drink his wine and eat the food with friends and family. And this shouldn't be at all!!! Not in a "5 Star resort". During check-out there was a supervisor at the desk. She was standing there not interested in us, looking out the window. She should of asked us about our stay or should of wished us a good journey. But she just ignored us.

So to summ up: The Staff is very friendly and helpful . But the Management is very arrogant and is not really interested in the guests. So if you like a hotel which has a high quality of service. Staff and Management who would go "the extra mile" for you, or which just make you feel special, then this hotel is the WRONG CHOICE.

PS Before I commented this on trip advisor I wrote an email to the General Manager. I received a very poor answer which approves the unqualified appearance of the management team.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macadamia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We arrived in Zanzibar following a week on safari in Tanzania. Having driven for one hour from the airport it is quite amazing to arrive at a place of such beauty and perfection!

We had booked a deluxe room. We were allocated room 321. We had a great sea view and it felt as thought the room had not long been re-decorated, as it was all very clean and fresh. The room was perfectly sized with a good size bed, a small seat, a desk chair and adequate storage. The bathroom was fine. The balcony area had two chairs and a small table before opening on to the garden area which was the roof of the room below. The deluxe rooms are on 3 levels but are tiered in way that means the roof of the one below is actually the balcony of the one above. Our sea view was excellent! A great way to start each day by looking out to sea.

The room was kept nice and clean and serviced well. We had a flower arrangement each day on the bed. The mosquito net was pulled around the bed each night as part of the turn down service.

The beach area is nice. Lovely soft sand, well kept and a great turquoise sea! The beds are all on an artificial beach above the natural beach. There is quite a tide, and at various points of the day you are not able to get on to the natural beach to walk either way from the hotel. When you can the walk is very nice and the next hotels are a good couple of minutes away. Although they are in the process of building a new hotel just south of Gemma.

The Pavillion restaurant is where you will take most of the meals unless you opt for a la carte. This has the usual all inclusive buffet setup with a couple of 'live' cooking stations. Of an evening there was always a fresh fish options which was one of our favourites. Food was always good, and plentiful with a reasonable level of variety.

The service in the bars and restaurants is maybe a little slower than what we have experienced elsewhere and particularly when compared to the Maldives - but that is a bit picky, as the service was always with a smile and at times with great enthusiasm. One thing for certain you won't tire of hearing karibu (you are welcome) and hakuna matata (no worries)!

There is a small activities programme for those not wanting to just sit /lie all day. Although they are not pushed that hard which is good. The pool is a salt water pool and tended to have a few kids in there. We used to get our sun beds further around the corner where it was a little quieter.

We were a little surprised at how many families were there. There were a number of big groups, and even groups of twentysometings.

All in all a great place to chill out with a good book, a bottle of sun cream and a couple of fresh
cocktails. We would go again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelBudz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews