We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely place with great staff”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived unanounced at Mnarani Beach Cottages after being totally dissapointed at the resort we initially booked. The lady at reception was very friendly and accommodating. She arranged for us for 2 nights stay at a special rate in a seaview cottage including breakfast and dinner. She also arranged for a taxi to take us back to the other resort to collect our luggage. The rooms were small but very comfortable with a sea view. The swimming pool is really nice and having a drink on the deck and watching the dhows at sunset was an amazing experience. We arranged to go kayaking, to see the dhow building and a dhow sunset cruise, which were all amazing. We kayaked all the way to the next resort to "Gerry's Bar" to have a drink. We also went for a massage / pedicure at the spa and it was really relaxing. We spent 2 wonderful nights at this resort and will definitely recommend it to other travellers. It is easy to arrange any trip from the resort.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms the best!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roecha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Roecha123,

Thank you for your great feedback, it is both incentive and inspiration for us if our guests enjoy their time at Mnarani and appreciate our services.
It was a pleasure to have you here, and we hope to welcome you again!

Best wishes,

Nassor and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    178
    47
    29
    23
See reviews for
91
214
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you want lovely R&R on the Indian Ocean, this is it. A very quiet resort (at least at the end of March), very good for relaxing. The rooms are large with big balconies overlooking the ocean and have a huge hammock to lie on. The ladies who clean the rooms are lovely, and leave gorgeous flower arrangements on the bed every day. Service is friendly, and the staff mostly speak some English. The meals are nicely prepared and served, though a little bland. There is a small lending library, with books in several languages. The pool is very nice and clean. Of especially good value are the spa services, with massages, manicures, pedicures and facials, all provided in a small hut right beside the water. There is no beach to speak of, but many loungers and hammocks along the deck. The sunset view from the roof deck is gorgeous.

Room Tip: "Chumbe" is the end room, on the top floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyTBC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Not a bad place to stay, its clean, food is good, service is not bad they are quick to resolve any issues. I reccommend availing of their spa services, very well priced and lovely way to relax. The beach at this time of year was not walkable due to coral and seaweed but it was nice to sit back and hear it. I especially liked the hammocks. We stayed in the Bawe room and that was lovely, ocean view and well maintained.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent 14 nights at this hotel. It started a little bad since we didn't get the same room number that we booked, but the receptionist says the new room is better. Getting to our new room, it's located further away from the pool, restaurant and bar, and the hot water was not working. Telling this right away to the receptionist it took three days for them to fix it! But the room in general and the gorgeous view and wonderful hotel made this holiday very good. A downside is that the location of the hotel is a little off, away from the town and other tourists, which felt super exclusive but also very far away from all the fun. We had to walk 30 min along side the beach to get to the shops and eat at cheaper restaurants which had more to choose from the menu. The bartenders at the hotel seemed newly hired because every drink they mixed (smoothie, juice and cocktail) took at least 10 minutes before we got it. The cleaning ladies looked like they hated their jobs since they wouldn't budge from their grumpy faces even when saying "Hi" to the guests. The food at the hotel was so-and-so. Some part of the plate tasted okay, other parts tasted less than okay. If we wanted a glass of water with our wine we had to buy a 2-litre water bottle. The cooks could sometimes mix our breakfast orders and we wouldn't get everything we asked for. I would like to have been served more local food (not to be confused with national food) like grilled octopus or crab instead of the Western food that tastes better at home. Also, the food and beverage prices didn't feel vacation because it was as expensive as back home. The overall feeling from the environment felt so stiff and none of the guests seemed to fully relax, it was too quiet and felt odd to walk around in swimwear.Perhaps it's because it's not a big hotel that can contain mane tourists. I guess this place is more for relaxing and reading books. The beach was not that sandy, but very shallow and full of rocks and corals. Never saw anyone swim in those waters but locals always walked there in low-tide. The service from this hotel was really good, they did their best for the guests to have a good stay. But if I had the chance to visit Zanzibar again, I would probably stay at a hotel that's near the shops and restaurants to meet people and have more things to do and visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KF_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed three nights/4 days at the Mnarani Beach Cottages. In general this is a nice facility, located just outside a village and right on the ocean. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained, with a main reception area and then several cottage buildings and a newer condo like building all situated within steps of the water. The bar was undergoing renovations when we were there, but that too is well located near the view and water.

Margaret at the front desk was always a happy face who helped us tremendously while we were there. Our group consisted of 5 well traveled people from the US who just finished a summit on Mt Kilimanjaro, so we were looking forward to rest and relaxation.

What we received instead was hassles and poor service from the restaurant staff. Basic requests like splitting the bill by room were met with not only resistance but outright attitude and disdain. We are pretty easy to please and thought it was just a one time occurrence, until the next day when overall poor service continued and eventually ruined our stay.

My suggestions would be this:
Train your team to be sincere and to actually karibou guests.
Empower your team to make decisions on their own and to help guests.
Be proactive with guests - if they don't understand then help them or provide guidelines that are consistent.
Don't let your guests leave unhappy, and more important make sure they are happy each day by fixing the problem right away. Don't ignore or not follow through.

The owner was there, and supposedly knew we were having "issues", but he did nothing other than stop by and ask how we are without listening for an answer at breakfast our last day. I have to say that the Manager did speak with my husband the last day to try and fix things, but it was too late. Had he been there throughout our stay, perhaps it would have been better, but in the end I can't recommend this facility based on the ongoing and persistent poor service and attitude.

Room Tip: The cottages are nice, but a little on the small side. They do provide a nice front porch and #6 &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tri_Girl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we take all comments seriously to assist us improve our service to our clients.

I am sorry that you you felt our staff did not furnish you with the courtesy and service you expected.We are constantly training our staff members with regards to their attitude to dealing with requests efficiently and quickly. I have forwarded your concerns to the staff.

I did speak to you and was under the impression that all your issues had been rectified. I am sorry that this impacted on your stay at Mnarani Beach Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eslov, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have a nice and good holiday on Zanzibar. The stuff on the hotel where really kindly and there was a good athmosfere.Our room was good in Zanzibar house.Some small things as an stink trap for the dirtwater where not ok.Also the bed where to hard for us.
But anyway we have many wonderful moments on this Island.

Room Tip: The Zanzibar House is definty better to live in than the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Krister2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your positive remarks about your stay with us. We appreciate that you stayed for 13 nights and therefore your comments are important to us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The place is not worth the money that you pay.The mosquito net was full of dead bodies of different animals, I calculated at least 30 and added them 10 more in two nights.The breakfast that they give is very poor and the dinner average. The waitress are not friendly nor helpful.and the service was so slow so that I felt the food came from Stone Town. You can stay there just for the location...

Room Tip: Non of the rooms I can recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Canbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nungwi hotels
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
My Blue Hotel
My Blue Hotel
#9 of 17 in Nungwi
1,008 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Nungwi
620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Property: Mnarani Beach Cottages
Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing