We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zanzibar holiday 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We are a family with 2 adults and 2 children (13,16). We think the resort had a nice atmosphere and very nice staff. We enjoy nice beaches and a relaxing holiday. The location of the hotel was not the best because of the tide. You could only swim in the ocean a couple of hours a day.
The food was not so good and as you had no possibilites to visit other restaurants in the area this was a great disadvantage for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking your time and writing a review for us. With regards to the sea and the tides, there is not a lot the hotel itself can do about that. At this time of the year the winds do take a lot of sand off the beach, However there is a good portion of sand at the front of the hotel that doesn't disappear. I am not quit sure what you mean when you say you could not go to other places to eat as there are many hotels and restaurants a few minutes walk down the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Mnarani Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 510 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great Hotel to relax in and to enjoy Zanzibar north coast! Wonderful staff and their motto "come as a guest, leave as a friend" is so true! Great pool, food, staff and management. We are leaving this beautiful place with sad hearts. Hoping to return very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your gracious review and we do hope that you will return next time and enjoy your stay as much as you did before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights HB in one of the sea view cottages. We have been in the same place 10 years ago and found the changes very impressing. First of all they have build a very beautiful pool, and a lot more houses and rooms have been added.
The staff was friendly and very service minded. We walked along the beach to each side, and had a drink in one of the places we passed.
It was very interesting to watch the local people going for seafood. It is also interesting to walk out from the beach at low tide and study the corals etc. when you comes far from the beach (rember sandals).
We found it a little strange that the hotel didn't provide drinking Water as a courtesey. In other places we stayed they did. We can recomendate to take the entrance exit and make a walk in the village. It is more autentic and you are not occupied by locals WHO want to sell something.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 24Brandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Very happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much and everything was like heaven for you. It would be great to see you back here one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

we stay by 2 families for 3 bedroom apartment. Bedroom was small and simple but we like it. Bathroom also simple but clean enough to be happy for our needs. Living room was big enough for 7 of us. It will be better if we had more chairs for all of us. We asked staff to add one more but didn't covered. Dissapointed point was there were no cooking space even we stayed the room with kitchen. we had sink but nothing we could cook. Fridge was big enough and clean. I am not sure whether the water problem is always or only during our stay. we had almost "dropping water for wash ourselves" but not "shower" for all 4 days stay. Keep asking for the reception but nothing changed. luckily all of us knew how to survive with small amount of water but otherwise it will be big issue for some people.
Swimming pool was nice and clean. Beach also nice. Staff were friendly and helpful. we liked food, too. Wish a bit more selection because some of us couldn't eat something and here was no choice.
over all, we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank yuko y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it is always a pleasure to read that we help make your visit here a memorable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amaizing place.....
Beautifull...quiet.....really friendly and happy staff...great diving....
Great manager Paul.....
I loved falling asleep with the soud of the waves..... The color of the Water is absolutly magnifiecent ....just like in a dream.....
Very hard to leave a paradise.....
Thank you so much for this marvelloeus moment in Life :)
Shantal

Room Tip: See view bungalow
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will return one day soon. Thank you for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

we had the honeymoonsuite because we thought we deserved it! Before our stay we had been volunteering in Illula for 3 months. It was heaven here! nice stay, luxe but not too, staff very friendly, very good food and a very nice snorkeling excursion with such nice people who paid such a nice attention to us! We love this place very much and although we had staid a long time in Tanzania we didn't want to go home because of the nice atmospere! Also the attention paid to make our bed and room clean was warm and nice!!

Room Tip: when you really want a different stay, take the honeymoonsuite!! You have your own bed outside and i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

It is always nice to read that we managed to make not just your stay at Mnarani a pleasant one but hopefully we gave you a honeymoon experience you won't forget. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a greatful relaxing time. It was very quiet, so we enjoyed to read a book or only looking to the sea and having a wonderful time. we stay at Mahaba Cottage. This house was not a normal room. We like to sleep above and the view from the bed in the morning to the sea was great.
Also our sunbed, a really bed, was very nice and we enjoyed it also. The area only for Mahaba Cottages, where the sunbeds are standing was also very nice.

Room Tip: if you like to have a big place for your own, it`s your choice. Also it is quiet, good for relaxing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

I am so happy that we managed to make your honeymoon one to remember and thank you for your kind response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
630 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#12 of 17 in Nungwi
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $122 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing