We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mnarani Beach Cottages
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Nungwi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Amaizing place.....
Beautifull...quiet.....really friendly and happy staff...great diving....
Great manager Paul.....
I loved falling asleep with the soud of the waves..... The color of the Water is absolutly magnifiecent ....just like in a dream.....
Very hard to leave a paradise.....
Thank you so much for this marvelloeus moment in Life :)
Shantal

Room Tip: See view bungalow
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that you will return one day soon. Thank you for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Mnarani Beach Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013

we had the honeymoonsuite because we thought we deserved it! Before our stay we had been volunteering in Illula for 3 months. It was heaven here! nice stay, luxe but not too, staff very friendly, very good food and a very nice snorkeling excursion with such nice people who paid such a nice attention to us! We love this place very much and although we had staid a long time in Tanzania we didn't want to go home because of the nice atmospere! Also the attention paid to make our bed and room clean was warm and nice!!

Room Tip: when you really want a different stay, take the honeymoonsuite!! You have your own bed outside and i...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joke57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

It is always nice to read that we managed to make not just your stay at Mnarani a pleasant one but hopefully we gave you a honeymoon experience you won't forget. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a greatful relaxing time. It was very quiet, so we enjoyed to read a book or only looking to the sea and having a wonderful time. we stay at Mahaba Cottage. This house was not a normal room. We like to sleep above and the view from the bed in the morning to the sea was great.
Also our sunbed, a really bed, was very nice and we enjoyed it also. The area only for Mahaba Cottages, where the sunbeds are standing was also very nice.

Room Tip: if you like to have a big place for your own, it`s your choice. Also it is quiet, good for relaxing...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

I am so happy that we managed to make your honeymoon one to remember and thank you for your kind response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The staff was very friendly and welcoming, beautiful cottages, rooms and compound very clean,ambience close to nature,superb ocean view. My wife and children loved the swimming pool too ! A beautiful place to relax and unwind away from the hustle and bustle of the city (no noise!)... we recommend Mnarani to all who need time to unwind after a long year of hard work!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind review, it is so nice to read that you all had such a great time at the Cottages and especially as the children enjoyed it so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were booked by a travel agent into this location. We did not do much investigation ourselves. The service was great, the staff was friendly, the food was good, the view fantastic. The only down side was the beach. When the tide went out there was a large expanse of shallow water to get to the ocean. It was unstable sand and not fun to walk in. When the tide was up there was no beach at all. You could walk about 5 minutes to another location and get to a more permanent beach, but you would have to time them properly so as not to come back when the tide was high. All in all a good place, but the beach was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: The rooms along the water were much larger and nicer then the garden view rooms. Not sure of the ext...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good experience with the hotel services and staff. With regards to the beach there is not a lot we can do about the tides, but due to the fact the tide is only in and out once a day it does go out about a mile to the reef edge. When the tide is in you cannot walk along the beach I agree but for swimming it is warm, calm and only reaches about 1-2 meters in depth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very idyllic place (in stark contrast with the surroundings just outside the resort), with a fantastic ocean view. Good service. Breakfast was basic and food not always as exciting as may seem from description. However, an excellent place to spend a few relaxing days away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulseph-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

EVERYTHING YOU COULD WISH FOR IN AN AFRICAN HOLIDAY BY THE SEA.

Great beach ! Comfortable, well serviced rooms! Local colour, and hardly and beach touts! Easy access to the sea! Great service from the staff!

Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNNY712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Mnarani Beach Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased you had such a pleasant stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to see you return to Mnarani Beach Cottages in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nungwi
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.1 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
631 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,599 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 17 in Nungwi
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Zanzibari
The Zanzibari
#11 of 17 in Nungwi
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Beach Cottages

Address: North Coast, Nungwi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Nungwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nungwi
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nungwi
#10 Family Hotel in Nungwi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nungwi
Price Range: $121 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mnarani Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mnarani Beach Cottages is a beach resort hotel, located on the northernmost tip of Zanzibar Island in the village of Nungwi, next to the old lighthouse.Mnarani has been independently recommended by The Lonely Planet Guide, The Bradt Guide to Zanzibar and many other East African travel guidebooks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mnarani Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Beach Cottages Hotel Nungwi
Mnarani Beach Hotel
Mnarani Beach Resort
Mnarani Beach Cottages Zanzibar Island/Nungwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing